• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

Portrait of Melania Trump

Cardinal

Respected On All Sides
DP Veteran
Reaction score
Political Leaning
Independent
I do this for a living, and my personal feeling is that the portrait "needed more time to cook." What Melania is giving off here is a very familiar kind of stiffness and discomfort that comes with having just started the photography process. A really good photo shoot goes on for at least three hours, and only is it near the end that the subject starts to relax around the photographer and come across as more natural. It feels to me like the photographer maybe had a half hour with her.
On a more personal aesthetic level, I'm not a big fan of the "body growing out of the middle of the canvas" compositional method.

Thoughts?

First Lady Melania Trump Gets Her First Official Portrait : NPR

melania-04032017_custom-8721bf5d4df20f23dc78d1d5f920fc37bceebed7-s400-c85.jpg

I do this for a living, and my personal feeling is that the portrait "needed more time to cook." What Melania is giving off here is a very familiar kind of stiffness and discomfort that comes with having just started the photography process. A really good photo shoot goes on for at least three hours, and only is it near the end that the subject starts to relax around the photographer and come across as more natural. It feels to me like the photographer maybe had a half hour with her.