• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

Pronunciation

Rexedgar

Yo-Semite!
Supporting Member
DP Veteran
Monthly Donator
Reaction score
Political Leaning
Independent
When i was a student there were two words that have now changed their pronunciation. Appalachian and Caribbean.

Appalachian is now spoken as though the second ‘a’ is spoken as ‘ahh.’ I was taught that the second ‘a’ was a ‘sharp’ a ( I can’t think of an example.)

Appilaechian?

Caribbean is the other one that comes to mind.

I was taught hat it was Caribian, and now it seems that the proper pronunciation is Caribeean, anyone old enough to help me ?

I don't know what the other pronunciation of Appalachian is. I say app-el-A-tion. Caribbean has always been pronounced two different ways. More people probably say it care-ah-BEE-en nowadays because that's how it's pronounced in Pirates of the Caribbean.

Caribbeean is totally this guy's fault.

Weird. I've never heard it pronounced like this with the short a in the 3rd syllable.

I've always been of the opinion that it's apple, as in apple and and achian and in nation.

Caribbean has always been carib be in.

Weird. I've never heard it pronounced like this with the short a in the 3rd syllable.

Josie, just because the people that live there say it that way doesn't mean they're right!

When i was a student there were two words that have now changed their pronunciation. Appalachian and Caribbean.