View Poll Results: Do you agree with the pullout as done?

Voters
19. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, trump is a genius and we owe our allies nothing.

    1 5.26%
  • A pullout was needed but not done at this time and method

    10 52.63%
  • No, we should remain there forever as the world's police.

    0 0%
  • Other, please explain your stand.

    8 42.11%
Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 131

Thread: Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

  1. #1
    Sage
    Casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    16,498

    Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

    Noticed that there is much talk about how many Vets, past and present disagree with how we pulled out of Syria, so l thought it might be interesting to see what the Vets here think.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Sage
    Rexedgar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:42 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    20,220

    Re: Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

    Quote Originally Posted by Casper View Post
    Noticed that there is much talk about how many Vets, past and present disagree with how we pulled out of Syria, so l thought it might be interesting to see what the Vets here think.
    Thanks
    Ham handed and without any thought to what was going to happen next.....
    Everyone appreciates your honesty, until you are honest with them. Then you are an asshole. ” - George Carlin
    ”I know, everybody funny, now you funny too.” -George Thorogood

  3. #3
    Advisor dave8383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Boston Massachusetts
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:09 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    496

    Re: Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rexedgar View Post
    Ham handed and without any thought to what was going to happen next.....
    Exactly.

  4. #4
    MSG Benavides TAB
    VanceMack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    67,461

    Re: Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

    Quote Originally Posted by Casper View Post
    Noticed that there is much talk about how many Vets, past and present disagree with how we pulled out of Syria, so l thought it might be interesting to see what the Vets here think.
    Thanks
    When our A-10 unit was deployed to Turkey providing close air support for Kurds in Northern Iraq. We met with several of the community leaders but werent boots on the ground in those areas. About midway through our tour we got a call in the middle of the night to reconfig the jets and fly CAS missions for the Turkish F4s...the targets...the Kurds...on the wrong side of the border. When word got out, people were pissed, upset, confused, betrayed...how the **** do we defend them here and kill them there?

    Do your job. Your job was to make sure the pilots were safe coming and going. Make sure the jets were well maintained. Do your job. Dont argue global politics. Thats not your job. Dont question the motives of the Commander in Chief...thats not your job. Dont like your job? Next time you have the opportunity to raise your hand and say "I do"...dont. If you do...then do. Because the moment you say i do your world becomes about the guy standing next to you. Not momma and the kids back home. Bot God, baseball, the flag, or apple pie. The guy standing next to you and going home safe.

    I let people bitch a bit then about the ****ty end of the stick and Clinton...and then told them to shut up and color, reminded them that he was our boss, and we went to work and did our job. I reckon if I was in Syria today I'd feel the same way.

    Id love to say if I was in charge I would have told Erdogan to kiss my ass and stood against any aggression there. Id love to say that its worth any price to save lives of innocent men women and children including putting our military base and assets as well as the lives of 6000+ men women and children currently living in Turkey at risk. Id love to believe that if I was president I would have the full backing and support of the people and congress of my decisions and not 50% of the country that would **** themselves over any and everything I do. But thats the beauty of being an idealist in an armchair world. As someone that has served under 4 commanders in Chief in 7 combat tours and seen some of the worst **** people can do to each other and sometimes knowing there wasnt **** we werent going to do in response, I have learned to see the world more pragmatically. If you struggle with that concept read "Shake Hands with the Devil" and ask yourself why you are only now finding your voice.

  5. #5
    Why so serious?
    Moon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Washington State
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:04 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    7,444

    Re: Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

    The military always gets pissed when they aren’t allowed to do the job they think they are there to do. The simple fact is that 50 Americans weren’t going to do much when Turkey decided to move into Syria, unless you think they should be used as human shields.

    We’ve pulled out of ugly places before. Vietnam, Beirut, Mogadishu for example.

    Even in peacetime it happens. When I was in the Philippines during the earthquake in 1990, we had the capability and the manpower to get to some of the places with severe damage and where Americans were involved. Because of politics, we weren’t allowed to go help until a few days later. I don’t know if we could have saved anyone, but it was a bit frustrating flying some of the bodies back to our base for transport to the US.
    "I believe in a Spinoza's God who reveals himself in the harmony of all that exists, but not in a God who concerns himself with the fate and actions of human beings."

    --Albert Einstein, 1929

  6. #6
    Sage
    Oozlefinch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    State of Jefferson
    Last Seen
    10-31-19 @ 04:18 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    12,847

    Re: Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

    Wow, talk about a biased poll. As usual in these things, I just voted "Other".

    First and foremost, our purpose of being in Syria was primarily in response to the Chemical Weapon attacks that both ISIS and Syria were doing. It was not to try and stop the war, or to pick one side over another. It was primarily to stop the use of chemical weapons, and secondly to try and protect civilians caught in the crossfire.

    Well, the main part has been accomplished. Neither Syria nor the other combatants are using chemical weapons anymore. Therefore, mission done.

    We are not there to pick one side or another in the civil war. One that is one of the most confusing messes I had ever seen, with at least 8 major factions, both fighting for and against Syria, and some even wanting to expand the conflict into Turkey, Iraq, and the rest of the region.

    So yea, I say it is time to move out. However, in saying that I also believe we should keep a strong force nearby, prepared on short notice to return if needed. But a continual presence? Not anymore.

    If people think we should still be there, and permanently try to put an end to this conflict, then I have an answer for you. Bring it up with the UN. Petition them to demand a cease fire, and put UN Peacekeepers in place to separate the sides and find some kind of solution. After all, is this not why we have the UN in the first place?

    But funny, I have not heard many of those screaming that the US should stay asking for that. Is almost like they simply want yet another reason to lash out at the President, and really could not give a damn about those killed or the fighting in reality. To them it is just another excuse. And I am positive if he had instead ordered 10,000 troops in to try and end it they would have condemned that as well. And if he had done nothing and let things continue as they were, they would have condemned that also.
    War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. - John Stuart Mill

  7. #7
    Sage
    RetiredUSN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Norfolk Virginia area.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 05:21 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    16,538

    Re: Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

    Quote Originally Posted by Casper View Post
    Noticed that there is much talk about how many Vets, past and present disagree with how we pulled out of Syria, so l thought it might be interesting to see what the Vets here think.
    Thanks
    I love how you immediately went off the rails by using the term genius.
    “It’s easier to run for office than to run the office.”
    Tip O'Niell

  8. #8
    ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
    Rogue Valley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:51 AM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    39,235

    Re: Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

    Fox News | Trump 'went off script' during call with Erdogan, senior military source reveals

    Quote Originally Posted by Trump phone call with Erdogan on October 6
    During the phone call, Trump had talking points, according to the source: “Tell Erdogan to stay north of the border." “He went off script," the source said.
    Pretty much says it all. Trump conferred with no one and simply pulled this disastrous move out of his ass to appease his dictator friend Erdogan.

    Now our Kurdish allies in Syria are paying a high price for Trumps impulsive betrayal.


    GOP = Gushing Over Putin

  9. #9
    Sage

    Moot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Utah
    Last Seen
    @
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    33,535

    Re: Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

    Quote Originally Posted by Oozlefinch View Post
    Wow, talk about a biased poll. As usual in these things, I just voted "Other".

    First and foremost, our purpose of being in Syria was primarily in response to the Chemical Weapon attacks that both ISIS and Syria were doing. It was not to try and stop the war, or to pick one side over another. It was primarily to stop the use of chemical weapons, and secondly to try and protect civilians caught in the crossfire.

    Well, the main part has been accomplished. Neither Syria nor the other combatants are using chemical weapons anymore. Therefore, mission done.

    We are not there to pick one side or another in the civil war. One that is one of the most confusing messes I had ever seen, with at least 8 major factions, both fighting for and against Syria, and some even wanting to expand the conflict into Turkey, Iraq, and the rest of the region.

    So yea, I say it is time to move out. However, in saying that I also believe we should keep a strong force nearby, prepared on short notice to return if needed. But a continual presence? Not anymore.

    If people think we should still be there, and permanently try to put an end to this conflict, then I have an answer for you. Bring it up with the UN. Petition them to demand a cease fire, and put UN Peacekeepers in place to separate the sides and find some kind of solution. After all, is this not why we have the UN in the first place?

    But funny, I have not heard many of those screaming that the US should stay asking for that. Is almost like they simply want yet another reason to lash out at the President, and really could not give a damn about those killed or the fighting in reality. To them it is just another excuse. And I am positive if he had instead ordered 10,000 troops in to try and end it they would have condemned that as well. And if he had done nothing and let things continue as they were, they would have condemned that also.
    Unfortunately, I think they're still using chemical weapons...only this time it's Turkey using them on Kurd civilians.

    Turkey may have used chemical weapons on Kurdish civilians - Business Insider
    DEMOCRAT 2020

  10. #10
    Sage

    Moot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Utah
    Last Seen
    @
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    33,535

    Re: Vets, what is your opinion on the Syrian pullout?

    The wife of a US soldier that served in the ME wrote an open letter to the Kurds....

    A letter to Kurdish soldiers from a US military wife (opinion) - CNN
    DEMOCRAT 2020

Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •