Page 14 of 21 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 206

Thread: [W:90]Whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG.Why is it being withheld from Congress?

  1. #131
    Sage
    JasperL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Tennessee
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:22 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    37,076

    Re: A whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG. Why is it being withheld from Congress

    Quote Originally Posted by bubbabgone View Post
    then the fear of leaker Schiff really could be the reason - is that what you're getting at?
    No. But I get it. You've got nothing but ad hominem attacks and feigned ignorance as arguments.

    What I don't quite understand is the precedents set in this case won't end with Trump. If the WH can just tell the Democratic Congress - **** YOU! - and that's the end of it, that will be the rule of law going forward. An unchecked executive branch and a toothless, worthless Congress, where the wrongdoers investigate and clear themselves, and they'll just point to the precedents set by Trump. I don't know why people who respect the constitution and the separation of powers and checks and balances are cheering this on just to own the libs. It's the dumbest ****ing **** I've ever seen.

    I deleted the rest - no point addressing those points.

  2. #132
    Guru

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Last Seen
    @
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    4,766

    Re: A whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG. Why is it being withheld from Congress

    Quote Originally Posted by JasperL View Post
    No. But I get it. You've got nothing but ad hominem attacks and feigned ignorance as arguments.

    What I don't quite understand is the precedents set in this case won't end with Trump. If the WH can just tell the Democratic Congress - **** YOU! - and that's the end of it, that will be the rule of law going forward. An unchecked executive branch and a toothless, worthless Congress, where the wrongdoers investigate and clear themselves, and they'll just point to the precedents set by Trump. I don't know why people who respect the constitution and the separation of powers and checks and balances are cheering this on just to own the libs. It's the dumbest ****ing **** I've ever seen.

    I deleted the rest - no point addressing those points.
    I agree with you. We often hear we are a country of laws, but if the GOP and Trumps followers allow this, then we will no longer be so. We will no longer be even a representative democracy. The president, if his party controls at either the House or the Senate, will be a virtual dictator. That is what we are seeing right now with trump and the GOP in the Senate. And it seems no matter how bad what he has done or continues to do changes how they allow him to do what he wants.

  3. #133
    long standing member
    justabubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    43,515

    Re: A whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG. Why is it being withheld from Congress

    Quote Originally Posted by bubbabgone View Post
    Whoever the DNI decides would investigate - but it wouldn't be a House Committee chaired by Adam Schiff.
    then you have no idea which organization should be responsible for the investigation
    we are negotiating about dividing a pizza and in the meantime israel is eating it
    Quote Originally Posted by bearpoker View Post
    ... Reality is a bitch, but not Trump's bitch.
    ​45<44

  4. #134
    Sage


    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    San Diego
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:13 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    9,705

    Re: A whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG. Why is it being withheld from Congress

    Quote Originally Posted by Condor060 View Post
    THey didn't cover these fake news stories up. Why should they start now.

    Trump is a planted Russia Agent working for Moscow

    We have pictures of Trump being peed on by hookers

    Kavanaugh is an alcoholic high school rape train conductor

    All of Trumps commercial loans are cosigned by Russian oligarchs

    Trump has billions on loan from Russia

    If Trumps elected the stock market will crash

    NYT forced to correct the Manafort Russia collusion bombshell

    NYT spreads fake story about Nikki Haleys curtains

    NYT and CNN Fake story about Cohen going on secret Prague trip

    3 CNN staffers fired over fake Scaramucci Russia story

    Washington Post retracting story about Russian hacked US Utility company

    Bloomberg forced to retract the fake story about the Trump- Deutsche bank subpoena story

    Time magazine caught with fake picture of crying migrant girl


    Say, you should submit your comment to Ripley's Believe It Or Not for the highest number of strawman comments in one post in the history of the internet!

    Congrats!
    Guns do not kill people, people kill people.

    Atomic weapons do not kill people, people kill people.

  5. #135
    Sage

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:02 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    11,625

    Re: [W:90]Whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG.Why is it being withheld from Congr

    Quote Originally Posted by OscarLevant View Post
    Whaddaya wanna bet Trump is behind this, that the whistleblower's whistleblowing implicates the White House?

    Yet, every accusation of "Trump is a tyrant" falls on deaf ears by the right.
    Come on, how can he run a good con if he's forced to show people how his con works?
    President Lyndon B. Johnson: "If you can convince the lowest white man he's better than the best colored man, he won't notice you're picking his pocket. Hell, give him somebody to look down on, and he'll empty his pockets for you."

  6. #136
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 03:59 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    24,731

    Re: A whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG. Why is it being withheld from Congress

    Quote Originally Posted by JasperL View Post
    No. But I get it. You've got nothing but ad hominem attacks and feigned ignorance as arguments.

    What I don't quite understand is the precedents set in this case won't end with Trump. If the WH can just tell the Democratic Congress - **** YOU! - and that's the end of it, that will be the rule of law going forward. An unchecked executive branch and a toothless, worthless Congress, where the wrongdoers investigate and clear themselves, and they'll just point to the precedents set by Trump. I don't know why people who respect the constitution and the separation of powers and checks and balances are cheering this on just to own the libs. It's the dumbest ****ing **** I've ever seen.

    I deleted the rest - no point addressing those points.
    Right. Just like sanctuary cities telling the Feds **** YOU!
    I don't know why people who respect the constitution and Law are cheering this on just to own the pubs.
    See how that works?

    Regarding what you decided not to address ...

    DNI Maguire told Schiff ...

    "The complaint forwarded to the ICIG does not meet the definition of "urgent concern," Jason Klitenic, Office of the Director of National Intelligence, counsel wrote to Schiff. "This complaint ... concerned conduct by someone outside the Intelligence Community and did not relate to any 'intelligence activity' under the DNI's supervision ... the law did not require that the DNI forward the complaint to the Intelligence Committees."

    Since the IG only did a preliminary investigation and he's the one who called it "urgent", why are you so sure Maguire is lying?

    IF EVERYTHING IS IMPORTANT THEN NOTHING IS

  7. #137
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 03:59 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    24,731

    Re: A whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG. Why is it being withheld from Congress

    Quote Originally Posted by justabubba View Post
    then you have no idea which organization should be responsible for the investigation
    ... or which organization the whistleblower complaint involves ... it could be any one of 17 under the DNI ... or none of them.

    IF EVERYTHING IS IMPORTANT THEN NOTHING IS

  8. #138
    Sage
    JasperL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Tennessee
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:22 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    37,076

    Re: A whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG. Why is it being withheld from Congress

    Quote Originally Posted by bubbabgone View Post
    DNI Maguire told Schiff ...

    "The complaint forwarded to the ICIG does not meet the definition of "urgent concern," Jason Klitenic, Office of the Director of National Intelligence, counsel wrote to Schiff. "This complaint ... concerned conduct by someone outside the Intelligence Community and did not relate to any 'intelligence activity' under the DNI's supervision ... the law did not require that the DNI forward the complaint to the Intelligence Committees."

    Since the IG only did a preliminary investigation and he's the one who called it "urgent", why are you so sure Maguire is lying?
    If you want to point me to where in the law the DNI gets to make that call, and not the IG, feel free. The whistleblower and the IG appear to think it's reportable under that statute. And I don't see why it should really matter. If it's not a concern of the DNI, fine, refer it over to the Pentagon or someone else, and they can forward it to the proper committee in Congress. There is just no excuse for burying it and withholding it, unless the idea is that whistleblower complaints are like the hen house and it's proper that the fox is in charge of investigating and resolving any problems.

    Bottom line is right wingers just don't give a damn about anything anymore if it owns the libs. We're watching checks and balances and Congressional oversight just get obliterated in plain sight. The working theory of the WH is that if it involves Trump in any way at all, Congress is not permitted to investigate. They ignore document requests, witnesses don't show up, they flout the clear language of the law, and the lemmings and cultists cheer this on because DEMOCRATS!!!!

  9. #139
    Sage
    JasperL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Tennessee
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:22 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    37,076

    Re: A whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG. Why is it being withheld from Congress

    Quote Originally Posted by bubbabgone View Post
    Whoever the DNI decides would investigate - but it wouldn't be a House Committee chaired by Adam Schiff.
    It's clear in this case that the INTENDED recipient is Congress. So if not a House committee chaired by Schiff it will be a committee in the house chaired by someone else.

  10. #140
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 03:59 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    24,731

    Re: A whistleblower filed a complaint to the intelligence IG. Why is it being withheld from Congress

    Quote Originally Posted by JasperL View Post
    If you want to point me to where in the law the DNI gets to make that call, and not the IG, feel free. The whistleblower and the IG appear to think it's reportable under that statute. And I don't see why it should really matter. If it's not a concern of the DNI, fine, refer it over to the Pentagon or someone else, and they can forward it to the proper committee in Congress. There is just no excuse for burying it and withholding it, unless the idea is that whistleblower complaints are like the hen house and it's proper that the fox is in charge of investigating and resolving any problems.

    Bottom line is right wingers just don't give a damn about anything anymore if it owns the libs. We're watching checks and balances and Congressional oversight just get obliterated in plain sight. The working theory of the WH is that if it involves Trump in any way at all, Congress is not permitted to investigate. They ignore document requests, witnesses don't show up, they flout the clear language of the law, and the lemmings and cultists cheer this on because DEMOCRATS!!!!
    "Bottom line" appears to be that you/we don't have enough information to draw any conclusions.
    Yet you have.
    Were you aware of what the office of DNI said that I quoted?
    No?
    It never occurred to you that it may not be as straightforward as you thought?
    You thought if Adam Schiff said so it must be true?

    Did you also believe the latest story about Kavanaugh?
    It only survived a day.
    At least the D's managed to squeeze almost 3 years out of their big one before it pancaked.
    There's a lesson to be learned but I'm thinking you might have learned the wrong one.
    Ya know that expression “Act In Haste, Repent At Leisure”.

    I don't know how this DNI story will be resolved but I know from experience that the seriousness of a story usually isn't commensurate with the number of Adam Schiff media appearances.

    IF EVERYTHING IS IMPORTANT THEN NOTHING IS

Page 14 of 21 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •