Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 112

Thread: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

  1. #51
    Guru

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:31 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    3,488

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Beaudreaux View Post
    She's a very nice and congenial person that comes across to me as a naive and idealistic young person that has no actual cognitive skills related to the understanding of macro-economics, forms of government, or our Constitutionally protected rights or freedom.
    AOC on her worst day is an order of magnitude more rational and cogent than Trump on his best.
    "The amount of energy necessary to refute bull**** is an order of magnitude bigger than to produce it." -Alberto Brandolini

  2. #52
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:06 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    10,854

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gaius46 View Post
    She’s unrealistically idealist. And using the term “tippy-tip” struck me as a might childish.
    Considering the childish insults that have come from Trump, I can forgive her for that.
    And when you’re a star, they let you do it. You can do anything. Grab them by the p**sy. You can do anything." –Donald Trump

  3. #53
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 09:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    19,129

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rexedgar View Post
    .......as opposed to the present occupant of 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue?
    She reads. That alone puts her miles ahead of our current president.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  4. #54
    Sometimes wrong
    ttwtt78640's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Uhland, Texas
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:24 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    45,826

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by The Mark View Post
    What the hell are you talking about.
    It seems that the less you know about what she has said then the more convinced you are that she is making sense. What I am talking about are things that she actually said. Having admitted to not knowing what she has said - why do you question others who have heard what she has said? It is quite easy to find out what she has said by using *gasp* the internet.
    “The reasonable man adapts himself to the world: the unreasonable one persists to adapt the world to himself.
    Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.” ― George Bernard Shaw, Man and Superman

  5. #55

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by JustHanging View Post
    I agree. Personally I would like to see a tax on non-essential goods. Please let me know if you start a thread, I would like to join.
    To be honest I most likely wont just cause my threads sorta fizzle out and it depresses me nobody else shares my passion.

    I'm an advocate of consumption based tax table.

    If a thread shows up I will participate

    I am very opposed to not allowing different ideas competing in a free thinking arena. Nobody should ever avoid being exposed as being wrong or heaven forbid right.

    We should all share the common goal of improving. It just a little complicated cause the definition of improvement is subjective.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  6. #56
    Sometimes wrong
    ttwtt78640's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Uhland, Texas
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:24 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    45,826

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Checkerboard Strangler View Post
    How is it you're spreading such misinformation, is it deliberate?
    Marginal tax rates with a high number, such as 70% or more, do not apply until you hit the very "tippy top" dollar.
    In other words, a 70% marginal rate with a cap of four million dollars means that only the very last thousand bucks or so (depending on how the rate was set up) would be taxed at that 70% rate.

    The girl even went to great lengths to explain it in the interview, which of course you probably didn't watch.
    I completely understand what tax rate brackets are and how they work. That being said, an increase of the "tippy top" bracket rate from 35% to 70% is, in fact, a 100% tax increase on all income in that "tippy top" bracket. This post contains absolutely no misinformation.
    “The reasonable man adapts himself to the world: the unreasonable one persists to adapt the world to himself.
    Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.” ― George Bernard Shaw, Man and Superman

  7. #57
    Guru

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:31 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    3,488

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    Name one newly elected Senator or Congressman that started off by doing every interview they could, even prior to being sworn in, that ever went anywhere.

    These are all people that wanted to become media darlings before they put their head down and actually accomplished some real changes. In the cases of Ron Paul and Bernie Sanders, they are some of the most ineffective people ever to sit in congress in terms of actual legislation they authored being passed.
    Which is why Bernie was called the amendment king? Because he accomplished little to nothing? Also Bernie didn't seek out attention nor did AOC; the media came to them, and of course they're going to use the platform to advance an agenda they obviously feel passionately about, as well they should.

    My point is, going out in front of every camera in the country, campaigning for unelectable candidates (which AOC did throughout 2018. Her and Bernie had a terrible tract record endorsing candidates in what was otherwise a very good year for the Dems), and throwing out politically impossible ideas in interviews, is not something that leads to being an effective legislator.
    Sadly, the advantage overwhelmingly lies with establishment candidates who at present have commanding leads in terms of their resources, party contacts, and the like and moreover typically enjoy leads in terms of incumbency, name recognition (particularly since most progressive candidates are completely new) and media exposure/favourability (anyone who thinks the MSM is enamoured of progs over 'centrist' Dems clearly hasn't been paying attention). I don't think one mid term is at all meaningful with respect to judging the trajectory and health of a movement that only really came into existence 2 years ago vs a faction that has existed for dozens of years now and still holds the majority of the power and purse strings; as a basis of comparison, it took the New Dems about 15 years more or less, to convincingly take over the party, and that was with the backing of big donors unchained by Buckley v Valeo. In light of that, progressives had a great year, particularly when you consider, due to their tireless work, the broad-based, even overwhelming majoritarian support for their keystone policies that are now very much indeed beginning to enter the realm of political possibility, contrary to your increasingly baseless opinion.

    As to how overrated her primary win is, I explained that here:
    I don't see an explanation so much as a self-serving gloss over of Crowley's substantial funding advantage, name recognition, incumbency, party connections, media coverage and so on. Her win was considered an upset for good reason, even if you would like to engage in revisionism to marginalize it as so many centrist Democrats tried to after they finished collecting their jaws from the floor; Pelosi's flailing, ridiculous attempt at minimization was especially hilarious.
    Last edited by Surrealistik; 01-09-19 at 10:58 PM.
    "The amount of energy necessary to refute bull**** is an order of magnitude bigger than to produce it." -Alberto Brandolini

  8. #58
    Pissant for Years
    Checkerboard Strangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:50 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by trouble13 View Post
    exclusive. Dont scare me but I have a fundamental disagreement with taxing people on their income.
    Scare you?? I don't think it is possible to debate on the notion that people should not have their income taxed.
    We're not living in Little House on the Prairie days...this is a modern diverse industrialized democratically elected constitutional republic with the power to lay and collect taxes. And taxes are the price one pays for civilization.

    If all the tax protesters decide to go Galt, there is nothing we can do to stop them but I have my doubts about that ever happening, too.

    The American economy roared in the New Deal days like it never had before, and nothing we have tried since the 1980's has ever approached that level since for the middle class. Absolutely nothing.

    Don't mess with success.
    Quote Originally Posted by SDET View Post
    I really like the 75% approval rating. It's so impressive when the left is defeated decisively. Brazil has several right wing parties, so there is no danger of a one party state.

  9. #59
    Educator
    Middle_Ground's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:50 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    1,160

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    For those of you fatally against any taxation increase on anyone. Can I ask what the difference was in the 50,60,70's?
    The tax rates then were high then the government created a middle class with all that money...right?
    The middle class is going away and the income disparity in the country is getting worse and worse shouldn't we be at least be trying to do something about it?
    And what would your suggestion be if you believe something should be done?

  10. #60
    Sage
    Gaius46's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New York
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:40 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    10,248

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by yankintx View Post
    Considering the childish insults that have come from Trump, I can forgive her for that.
    There’s no excuse for Trump. That said she’s a kid and using clueless kid-speak isn’t going to work to her advantage.
    Don't be a grammar nazi - Marcus Aurelius, Meditations, Book 1 #7

Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •