Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 112

Thread: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

  1. #41
    Sage

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:58 AM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    11,028

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Checkerboard Strangler View Post
    In the late Eisenhower and early Kennedy days the top marginal rate was 91%.

    So in 1955, for example, when the top marginal tax rate was 91 percent, that was the tax rate owed on a person's income over $300,000. That's $2,769,932.58 in 2018 dollars.

    That person would, however, pay 20 percent on the first $2,000 of income; 21 percent on the next $2,000 in income; 24 percent on the next $2,000 and graduated on up to the highest rate.

    There were PLENTY of filthy rich people walking around in the 50's and 60's.
    I'll never forget meeting Jessie York when I was a little four year old, a friend of my Uncle Oscar.
    Jessie York owned a 180 foot yacht, a Rolls, a Caddy limo, a Ferrari, a sumptuous mansion right on the beach in Long Island, a palatial 18 bedroom home in New York City and a couple of lovely eight seater airplanes.

    That was 1961, so he was probably paying some kind of high progressive tax rate. He wasn't hurting for money, I guarantee you, and he had all kinds of loopholes, too.
    And incentives. He saved a lot on his taxes by reinvesting in his company.

    Progressive tax rates only sound scary to people who don't understand how they work.

    PS: The Yorks are still around, Jessie's an old old man but he's still filthy rich.
    Has anyone voted in a progressive tax rate increase that affected them?
    If I don't answer your response to me, it's because you're in my ignore file.

    The only way to win at pig wrestling is not to play.

  2. #42
    Guru

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:43 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    3,505

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    I think she is highly overrated. She defeated a Democrat in a primary in one of the most liberal congressional districts in the country. If a super conservative Republican defeated a conservative Republican in a rural southern district, would anyone find that particularly impressive?

    All this adoration AOC is getting is kind of a slap in the face to all the women that won in November in really competitive districts.
    Quote Originally Posted by Deuce View Post
    She unseated a very high-ranking, long-serving Democrat. It's not that easy to do.
    Basically this.

    Let's not forget that she was utterly written off by the media until she won and absolutely crushed Crowley in a victory that was considered to be a complete upset; that is no minor thing.

    As to AOC, love her, genuine person with great, sorely needed policies even if she's a bit rough around the edges due to her new stature, and she'll make a fine female president someday (much unlike Hillary) after she gets the requisite needed years of experience under her belt.
    Last edited by Surrealistik; 01-09-19 at 10:28 PM.
    "The amount of energy necessary to refute bull**** is an order of magnitude bigger than to produce it." -Alberto Brandolini

  3. #43
    Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 06:46 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    4,236

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Beaudreaux View Post
    She's a very nice and congenial person that comes across to me as a naive and idealistic young person that has no actual cognitive skills related to the understanding of macro-economics, forms of government, or our Constitutionally protected rights or freedom.
    So you're saying she already knows twice as much as Trump.
    Jeez, did you do really do something that stupid? You were as Dumb As Donald!

  4. #44
    Guru

    JMR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Not over the edge yet
    Last Seen
    01-18-19 @ 01:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    4,423

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Beaudreaux View Post
    She's a very nice and congenial person that comes across to me as a naive and idealistic young person that has no actual cognitive skills related to the understanding of macro-economics, forms of government, or our Constitutionally protected rights or freedom.
    Just wondering if you believe Trump has any actual cognitive skills related to the understanding of macro-economics, forms or government, or our Constitutionally protected rights or freedom? JMO, but his lack of understanding is of much greater importance than hers. She's one little vote in the Congress, and seems to have got everyone's attention. She's like the shiny thing that keeps Trump safe.

  5. #45
    Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 06:46 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    4,236

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by ttwtt78640 View Post
    It is important when talking about raising tax rates close to 100% that you make sure most folks understand that you are not talking about ever raising their taxes only giving them a "fair share" of other folks money. What she will not say, of course, is how much revenue that tax plan would allegedly generate or how much more she wants to spend. Those pesky facts just might get in the way of her plans.
    She could just claim Mexico is going to pay for it. That seems to work.

    Sorry, couldn't resist.

    I agree, any plan needs a (real) payment strategy.
    Jeez, did you do really do something that stupid? You were as Dumb As Donald!

  6. #46
    Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 06:46 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    4,236

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rucker61 View Post
    Has anyone voted in a progressive tax rate increase that affected them?
    I have, as far as I can. I voted for a candidate who said they were going to raise taxes...including mine.
    Jeez, did you do really do something that stupid? You were as Dumb As Donald!

  7. #47

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Checkerboard Strangler View Post
    In the late Eisenhower and early Kennedy days the top marginal rate was 91%.

    So in 1955, for example, when the top marginal tax rate was 91 percent, that was the tax rate owed on a person's income over $300,000. That's $2,769,932.58 in 2018 dollars.

    That person would, however, pay 20 percent on the first $2,000 of income; 21 percent on the next $2,000 in income; 24 percent on the next $2,000 and graduated on up to the highest rate.

    There were PLENTY of filthy rich people walking around in the 50's and 60's.
    I'll never forget meeting Jessie York when I was a little four year old, a friend of my Uncle Oscar.
    Jessie York owned a 180 foot yacht, a Rolls, a Caddy limo, a Ferrari, a sumptuous mansion right on the beach in Long Island, a palatial 18 bedroom home in New York City and a couple of lovely eight seater airplanes.

    That was 1961, so he was probably paying some kind of high progressive tax rate. He wasn't hurting for money, I guarantee you, and he had all kinds of loopholes, too.
    And incentives. He saved a lot on his taxes by reinvesting in his company.

    Progressive tax rates only sound scary to people who don't understand how they work.

    PS: The Yorks are still around, Jessie's an old old man but he's still filthy rich.
    exclusive. Dont scare me but I have a fundamental disagreement with taxing people on their income. It's a debate I'm happy to have but I dont want to hijack this thread to have it.

    My point in this discussion is that AOC was not out of line. She has every right to her very wrong opinion as you do or I do.

    Honest arguments are an essential element to a healthy culture. You and I are very apart in our opinions but I would never try to silence your thoughts.

    In a sense we are involved in a very high stakes game. Our ideas are competing for survival. I reject the accusations that I'm s racist because I dont agree with you and I reject that your cancer because your not aligned with me. There may be a tinge of truth in each of those positions but we evolve.

    At the end of the day most people are good inside. These arguments are over how we define goodness. Spoiler alert we disagree on the fundamental definition.

    I disagree with AOC too but her voice is as important as ours

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  8. #48
    Sage

    Rexedgar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Private
    Posts
    13,655

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Beaudreaux View Post
    She's a very nice and congenial person that comes across to me as a naive and idealistic young person that has no actual cognitive skills related to the understanding of macro-economics, forms of government, or our Constitutionally protected rights or freedom.

    .......as opposed to the present occupant of 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue?
    Everyone appreciates your honesty, until you are honest with them. Then you are an asshole. George Carlin
    I know, everybody funny, now you funny,too. -George Thorogood

  9. #49
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:21 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    19,134

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by Surrealistik View Post
    Basically this.

    Let's not forget that she was utterly written off by the media until she won and absolutely crushed Crowley in a victory that was considered to be a complete upset; that is no minor thing.

    As to AOC, love her, genuine person with great, sorely needed policies even if she's a bit rough around the edges due to her new stature, and she'll make a fine female president someday (much unlike Hillary) after she gets the requisite needed years of experience under her belt.
    Name one newly elected Senator or Congressman that started off by doing every interview they could, even prior to being sworn in, that ever went anywhere.

    Let's list some out that started with the AOC model:

    Alan Grayson
    Anthony Weiner
    Marsha Blackburn
    Bernie Sanders
    Ron Paul
    Ted Cruz

    These are all people that wanted to become media darlings before they put their head down and actually accomplished some real changes. In the cases of Ron Paul and Bernie Sanders, they are some of the most ineffective people ever to sit in congress in terms of actual legislation they authored being passed. All Ted Cruz has ever been effective at is being a train wreck to any progress out of either party. My point is, going out in front of every camera in the country, campaigning for unelectable candidates (which AOC did throughout 2018. Her and Bernie had a terrible tract record endorsing candidates in what was otherwise a very good year for the Dems), and throwing out politically impossible ideas in interviews, is not something that leads to being an effective legislator.

    The effective legislators go in and keep their head down at first working hard for the constituents and the American people and don't start hitting the interview circuit until they have some actual significant legislative accomplishments behind them.

    As to how overrated her primary win is, I explained that here: https://www.debatepolitics.com/gener...post1069522594 (What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?)
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  10. #50
    Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 06:46 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    4,236

    Re: What is your opinion the 60 minutes interview with Anderson copper and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez?

    Quote Originally Posted by trouble13 View Post
    exclusive. Dont scare me but I have a fundamental disagreement with taxing people on their income. It's a debate I'm happy to have but I dont want to hijack this thread to have it.
    I agree. Personally I would like to see a tax on non-essential goods. Please let me know if you start a thread, I would like to join.
    Jeez, did you do really do something that stupid? You were as Dumb As Donald!

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •