View Poll Results: What do you think?

Voters
6. You may not vote on this poll
  • I am a TPer, we should vote against the bill, increasing the debt

    0 0%
  • I am a TPer, we should vote for the bill, increasing taxes

    0 0%
  • I am not a TPer, but I think they would increase taxes

    2 33.33%
  • I am not a TPer, but I think they would increase the debt

    4 66.67%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

    Suppose that in a few elections the Tea Party becomes a prominent part of Congress, either as a wing of the Republican Party or as a totally separate party. Now in this hypothetical the TP is not the majority party, but again is prominent. And assume the debt level is at or near where it is today.

    A bill is passed through Congress, by the other members, which creates or increasing spending to a program unpopular and generally the antithesis of TP philosophy. However a separate bill is presented which would increase taxes in general to every American to pay for the spending without increasing the deficit, but if the bill is not passed than the funding will come from borrowing which will increase the debt.

    Of course this isn't a very detailed question however the idea is to see which option TPers would see as the lesser evil, increasing taxes or increasing the debt.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    11-18-12 @ 01:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    520
    Blog Entries
    18

    Re: Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

    I am ateapartier and BUL^&*%$! loaded thread .. damn...... Give me taxes or deficeit? Not one enough to cause us ills we must have either or ? If a bill comes thru congress I expect my fellow tea party patriots to STOP government and obstruct the bill and Pass no legislation. We have had the best and the brightest for far to long diligently keeping us less free. On both the left and the right our deaft representive's have maintained the statuus quo growing government on the left and the right in your name -Including Reagan and Newt . No; but thank you I want my liberty with a lot less weighty two- partymongering. We are here because- We said no! Now we are about to make no the national passion of choice for the electorate. No- Selling us out to foreign governments. No-Going back on your word. No-making our treasurie your own partisan piggy bank for your benefit at election time. No-telling us we are a melting pot while you use us for a crapping pot. One nation one people one word- NATIONALITY. America Rising.
    Last edited by b.larset; 10-22-10 at 09:43 PM.

  3. #3
    Guru
    repeter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    California
    Last Seen
    07-15-14 @ 12:06 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    3,445

    Re: Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

    Quote Originally Posted by b.larset View Post
    I am ateapartier and BUL^&*%$! loaded thread .. damn...... Give me taxes or deficeit? Not one enough to cause us ills we muct have either or? If a bill comes thru congress I expect my fellow tea party patriots to STOP government and obstruct the bill and Pass no legislation. We have had the best and the brightest for far to long diligently keeping us less free. On both the left and the right our deaft representive's have maintained the statuus quo growing government on the left and the right in your name -Including Reagan and Newt . No; but thank you I want my liberty with a lot less weighty two- partymongering. We are here because- We said no! Now we are about to make no the national passion of choice for the electorate. No- Selling us out to foreign governments. No-Going back on your word. No-making our treasurie your own partisan piggy bank for your benefit at election time. No-telling us we are a melting pot while you use us for a crapping pot. One nation one people one word- NATIONALITY. America Rising.
    Yeah, because it makes perfect sense to decrease the deficit while maintaining taxes, and pet projects, and oh yeah, don't forget the defense budget.

    One or the other has got to give, and I'd say both are going to happen.
    Veni. Vidi. Vici.
    -Gaius Julius Caesar
    The Only Thing to Fear is Fear Itself.
    -Franklin Delano Roosevelt

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    Re: Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

    For clarity I'm not a TPer but I think they would increase the debt.

    AND this is a reasonable hypothetical scenario even if ONE TPer is elected to Congress, which certainly happen. What will that individual do if this vote is introduced? In hindsight I should have added a 3rd option for TPers and non-Tpers which would be that the TP congressman would NOT vote at all, which is a perfectly valid option for any congressmen.

  5. #5
    Guru

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Last Seen
    09-24-17 @ 04:35 PM
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    2,942

    Re: Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    Suppose that in a few elections the Tea Party becomes a prominent part of Congress, either as a wing of the Republican Party or as a totally separate party. Now in this hypothetical the TP is not the majority party, but again is prominent. And assume the debt level is at or near where it is today.

    A bill is passed through Congress, by the other members, which creates or increasing spending to a program unpopular and generally the antithesis of TP philosophy. However a separate bill is presented which would increase taxes in general to every American to pay for the spending without increasing the deficit, but if the bill is not passed than the funding will come from borrowing which will increase the debt.

    Of course this isn't a very detailed question however the idea is to see which option TPers would see as the lesser evil, increasing taxes or increasing the debt.
    Not a chance in hell I would vote for either bill in your example. When someone asked me why I voted for increasing the debt (as you put it), I raise my hand and say "NOT IT". I wouldn't be the one who wrote the check, so my conscience would be clear.

  6. #6
    Sage
    jamesrage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A place where common sense exists
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 09:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    31,067

    Re: Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

    I am not a tea partier. At the same time I am not for higher taxes nor am I for increasing the debt. So the obvious answer is to vote against both bills, that is what politicians can do. Politicians do not have to vote yes for every bill or every other bill.
    Last edited by jamesrage; 10-24-10 at 10:26 AM.
    "A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murder is less to fear"

    Cicero Marcus Tullius

  7. #7
    Sage
    The Giant Noodle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Northern Illinois
    Last Seen
    11-03-14 @ 05:39 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    7,333

    Re: Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

    I am NOT a TP. But I feel they would increase stupidity in our Nation.
    CORPORATE GREED AND UNION GREED
    DEMOCRATS AND REPUBLICANS
    DESTROYING THE BEST OF AMERICA ONE DAY AT A TIME

    This is the worst kind of discrimination. The kind against ME! ~ Bender

  8. #8
    Sage
    apdst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bagdad, La.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    76,399

    Re: Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    Suppose that in a few elections the Tea Party becomes a prominent part of Congress, either as a wing of the Republican Party or as a totally separate party. Now in this hypothetical the TP is not the majority party, but again is prominent. And assume the debt level is at or near where it is today.

    A bill is passed through Congress, by the other members, which creates or increasing spending to a program unpopular and generally the antithesis of TP philosophy. However a separate bill is presented which would increase taxes in general to every American to pay for the spending without increasing the deficit, but if the bill is not passed than the funding will come from borrowing which will increase the debt.

    Of course this isn't a very detailed question however the idea is to see which option TPers would see as the lesser evil, increasing taxes or increasing the debt.
    We'll vote their stupid asses out, just we're fixin' to do to the Democrats.
    Quote Originally Posted by Top Cat View Post
    At least Bill saved his transgressions for grown women. Not suggesting what he did was OK. But he didn't chase 14 year olds.

  9. #9
    Clown Prince of Politics
    Psychoclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hiding from the voices in my head.
    Last Seen
    11-25-17 @ 12:37 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    1,738

    Re: Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

    I would expect and want the Tea Party candidates to vote against the tax increase. They should also start making the rounds in media and on the campaign trail to explain that this is why they opposed the new spending program. And they could easily campaign on promising to repeal said program in order to remove the need for a tax increase.
    Slipping into madness is good for the sake of comparison - Unknown.

  10. #10
    Sage
    The Giant Noodle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Northern Illinois
    Last Seen
    11-03-14 @ 05:39 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    7,333

    Re: Question for Tea Partiers and those who have an opinion on the TP

    Since the Tea Party is really the Republican Party in disguise I expect more of the same.
    CORPORATE GREED AND UNION GREED
    DEMOCRATS AND REPUBLICANS
    DESTROYING THE BEST OF AMERICA ONE DAY AT A TIME

    This is the worst kind of discrimination. The kind against ME! ~ Bender

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •