View Poll Results: Do you agree with the law?

Voters
51. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    8 15.69%
  • No

    43 84.31%
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 90

Thread: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

  1. #1
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,361

    Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    On November 2 the Supreme Court will hear EMA v Schwarzenegger, in which they will judge the constitutionality of a California law that bans the sale of violent, and sexually explicit(games rated M, and AO) video games to minors. If the law is upheld by the court it will be an unprecedented ruling, marking the first time the government would give a privately owned, and run entity, the ESRB the power to restrict the sale of a product. While it may have popular support(72% of recently polled Californians agree with the law) many legal analyst suspect the law to shot down as unconstitutional, and thus giving video games the same protection under the law as other forms of speech.

    So I wanted to know what you guys opinion on the law is? Do you agree with, do you think it's constitutional?

    Personally I think it's unconstitutional, and will be shot down. The thing to remember is that the movie, and music industry's are not subjected to the same kind of laws, or restrictions. So why should video games be subject to a different standard than other forms of speech?

    Here is some more info on the case
    Schwarzenegger v. EMA -- Media Coalition
    Last edited by Your Star; 09-16-10 at 09:22 AM.
    Eat me, drink me, love me;
    Laura make much of me

  2. #2
    Cheese
    Aunt Spiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Sasnakra
    Last Seen
    09-10-16 @ 06:10 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,433

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    I support banning minors permission into R rated movies and buying mature games and so forth.
    But ONLY if it's a balanced and equal ban - like you're pointing out - this isn't.

    Now, if the court says "you can't ban based on AGE" then I'll agree with that, too.

    I guess I'm neutral - I don't believe that playing games or watching movies is why kids turn out all screwed up. I let my kids play Unreal Tournament which is quite a nasty and profoundly unrealistic game - it's many other factors that play into delinquency.
    A screaming comes across the sky.
    It has happened before, but there is nothing to compare it to now.
    Pynchon - Gravity's Rainbow

  3. #3
    Dispenser of Negativity
    Cold Highway's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Newburgh, New York and World 8: Dark Land
    Last Seen
    12-24-12 @ 11:21 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    9,596
    Blog Entries
    7

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Absolutely not, its nothing but busy body parents wanting the government to do there damm jobs. The entertainment industry for years gets assaulted by pissant social/religious cons and douchebag nanny state liberals because these groups of scum think gaming are the causes violence in kids, school shootings, etc.
    Jackboots always come in matched pairs, a left boot and a right boot.

  4. #4
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:51 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,775

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    I don't have a problem with the law. Let's be honest, if parents want their kids to play these games or watch movies or listen to music that has advisories, they can buy it for them. This isn't a law about possession, but about purchase. There's nothing in the law to stop parents from giving these games to their kids if they choose, only about having kids go around their parent's backs and buy them without permission.
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! YouTube me! VidMe me!

  5. #5
    Educator
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Last Seen
    10-15-10 @ 08:55 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    718

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    I'm sorry, but I just don't see a problem with a limitation on the availability of violent content to purchase to adults, after all, we do exactly the same when it comes to sexual content. Quite frankly, I think violence is a far worse thing than loving human interaction, but that's just me.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Theoretical Physics Lab
    Last Seen
    01-06-15 @ 11:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,120

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Against it. CD pretty much said what he, I, and any other libertarian worth a damn would say on the subject. Thank you and have a good day.

  7. #7
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:07 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,690

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Now, if there was a way to segregate minors from adults in Xbox live and other gaming servers, I would be a happy guy. Kids ruin the gaming experience.

    old man voice Back in my day, if we wanted to play video games, we did so without bothering the grownups! Now with the internet, it has all been downhill!
    Last edited by Fiddytree; 09-16-10 at 12:25 PM.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  8. #8
    Global Moderator
    Truth will set you free
    digsbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Metro Washington DC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:03 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,983

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    I agree with chevy.

    Leave it to California to pass crappy laws
    When the debate is lost, slander becomes the tool of the loser. -Socrates
    Tired of elections being between the lesser of two evils.

  9. #9
    Sage
    jamesrage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A place where common sense exists
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 09:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    31,067

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Video games cost between $20-$60 dollars. So how in the **** is little Timmy supposed to buy Grand Theft Auto,Mortal Kombat, Call of Duty or some other violent games if little Timmy does not have a job to have money to buy stuff with or transportation to take his ass to the store? If the parents do not want their kids to have violent video games then they should not give their kids money to go buy violent video games. Parents shouldn't not let their kids run amok in stores so that they can not buy things their parents may not want them having. If Walmart,Best Buy or any other store wishes to impose to some age restriction on certian products then that is their business.
    Last edited by jamesrage; 09-16-10 at 01:01 PM.
    "A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murder is less to fear"

    Cicero Marcus Tullius

  10. #10
    Sage
    Harry Guerrilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Not affiliated with other libertarians.
    Last Seen
    09-01-17 @ 02:38 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    28,955

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Around here, many children learn to hunt at very young ages.
    Around 6 and up.
    That is real violence, blood, gore etc.

    There is no restriction on that.
    I don't think it's right to ban that kind of stuff.
    I was discovering that life just simply isn't fair and bask in the unsung glory of knowing that each obstacle overcome along the way only adds to the satisfaction in the end. Nothing great, after all, was ever accomplished by anyone sulking in his or her misery.
    —Adam Shepard

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •