View Poll Results: Do you agree with the law?

Voters
51. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    8 15.69%
  • No

    43 84.31%
Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789
Results 81 to 90 of 90

Thread: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

  1. #81
    Baby Eating Monster
    Korimyr the Rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Laramie, WY
    Last Seen
    11-23-17 @ 02:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    18,709
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    How is prohibiting the sale of M and AO games, as rated by the private organization ESRB, any different than prohibiting access to R and NC-17 movies, as rated by the private organization the MPAA?

    We limit childrens' access to smut in every other media. There is no reason to exclude software.

  2. #82
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,362
    Sessler's Soapbox: Gaming is Not a Crime! - G4tv.com

    This is a nice video on the subject.
    Eat me, drink me, love me;
    Laura make much of me

  3. #83
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,362

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Korimyr the Rat View Post
    How is prohibiting the sale of M and AO games, as rated by the private organization ESRB, any different than prohibiting access to R and NC-17 movies, as rated by the private organization the MPAA?

    We limit childrens' access to smut in every other media. There is no reason to exclude software.
    The MPAA is a voluntary restriction that most companies abide by. You can't serve jail time for selling an R rated movie to a minor.
    Eat me, drink me, love me;
    Laura make much of me

  4. #84
    Cheese
    Aunt Spiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Sasnakra
    Last Seen
    09-10-16 @ 06:10 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,433

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Today I read about the "Bad Frog Beer" case - in which they were denied a permit for their label because it was an image of a frog giving the middle finger. . . rather interesting.
    http://www.publichealthlaw.net/Reader/docs/BadFrog.pdf
    The court basically said that "if you want to protect kids from this type of visual-influence then you need to limit it in EVERY area - not just one or the other" . . . and "removing this one thing will not actually keep kids from *ever* seeing the middle-finger . . . "
    So they overturned the permit-denial.

    Reading about that made me think of this issue with CA's law and this thread - thought I'd post it.
    Last edited by Aunt Spiker; 09-22-10 at 10:32 PM.
    A screaming comes across the sky.
    It has happened before, but there is nothing to compare it to now.
    Pynchon - Gravity's Rainbow

  5. #85
    
    TheGirlNextDoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Seen
    09-24-14 @ 02:31 AM
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    20,033
    Blog Entries
    21

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by samsmart View Post
    That's not even the issue.

    Now, proponents may want to make it the issue to support this measure. And opponents may want to make it the issue to refute this measure. But that's not the issue.

    The issue is "Should underage children be allowed to purchase video games found to have extreme violence on their own without any parental oversight, and if not should the California state government have the legal authority to prevent it?"

    I say No, underage children shouldn't have the innate right to purchase overly violent video games without parents' permission. I also think the California state government should have the legal authority to regulate this.

    And, should a parent decide their children can handle an overly violent video game, then that parent can just purchase the video game for their child and let their child have at it. Which, I think, is more preferable than the child making that decision for himself or herself.
    In the state where I live, this is the way it is. I'm pretty easy going as far as games go, but I do draw lines for certain games for my son. He's 14 and like I said.. I'm not really anal, but there are some games I would not, will not buy for him and I'm glad that he can't just walk into a store and buy it for himself.

    As a parent, I have a responsibility to make choices for my underage children who cannot fully understand some of the ramifications of bad choices they may make.

    I'm not a fan of censorship for adults, but I believe there is a causefor certain forms of censorship for persons who are not fully yet capable to make such decisions.

    I do agree with Gabriel insofar as playing violent video games does not mean that the game itself will 'turn' a person violent.. there has to be some other unseen issue that would contribute to a person's mental stability who may already have some violent tendancies and/or thoughts.
    Fool me once, shame on you.
    Fool me twice....shame on me.

  6. #86
    Baby Eating Monster
    Korimyr the Rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Laramie, WY
    Last Seen
    11-23-17 @ 02:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    18,709
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Your Star View Post
    The MPAA is a voluntary restriction that most companies abide by. You can't serve jail time for selling an R rated movie to a minor.
    Hmm. I wasn't aware of this-- largely because I've never run into a theater that doesn't follow it to the letter. Until I started looking about 35 in my late teens, I was carded for R-rated movies more often than I was for liquor.

  7. #87
    Noblesse oblige
    Ockham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Last Seen
    01-27-17 @ 07:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    23,909
    Blog Entries
    4

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGirlNextDoor View Post
    In the state where I live, this is the way it is. I'm pretty easy going as far as games go, but I do draw lines for certain games for my son. He's 14 and like I said.. I'm not really anal, but there are some games I would not, will not buy for him and I'm glad that he can't just walk into a store and buy it for himself.

    As a parent, I have a responsibility to make choices for my underage children who cannot fully understand some of the ramifications of bad choices they may make.

    I'm not a fan of censorship for adults, but I believe there is a causefor certain forms of censorship for persons who are not fully yet capable to make such decisions.

    I do agree with Gabriel insofar as playing violent video games does not mean that the game itself will 'turn' a person violent.. there has to be some other unseen issue that would contribute to a person's mental stability who may already have some violent tendancies and/or thoughts.



    Such common sense... amazing!
    I think if Thomas Jefferson were looking down, the author of the Bill of Rights, on whats being proposed here, hed agree with it. He would agree that the First Amendment cannot be absolute. - Chuck Schumer (D). Yet, Madison and Mason wrote the Bill of Rights, according to Sheila Jackson Lee, 400 years ago. Yup, it's a fact.


  8. #88
    Count Smackula
    rathi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    California
    Last Seen
    10-31-15 @ 10:29 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    7,890

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    1) There is no solid evidence that violent video games are harmful to children. Thus, the state has no reason to get involved as there is no actual danger to minors. Certain parents may consider certain video games bad, but the same could be said with dancing or rock music.

    2) Parents already have the ability to control exactly what kind of video games their children play. Even if the kid can buy the game, Playing a game requires access to a TV or computer, which lets the parent see what their kid is playing and decide if it is appropriate. It is even possible for the parent to lock down the device so installing any new game requires a password.

    3) This won't stop kids from downloading games, which is already common because they can't afford them.

    So essentially we have a law that doesn't protect kids from harm, doesn't give parents any more control over their kids than they have now, and won't even prevent kids from obtaining objectionable games.

  9. #89
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,362

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    The SCOTUS began hearing opening oral arguments today. Here is a synopsis
    Supreme Court Hears Opening Arguments In Video Game Case - G4tv.com

  10. #90
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,362

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?


Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •