View Poll Results: Do you agree with the law?

Voters
51. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    8 15.69%
  • No

    43 84.31%
Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 90

Thread: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

  1. #61
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Last Seen
    03-31-11 @ 07:14 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by samsmart View Post
    Nobody's censoring anything. Nobody's saying violent video games can't be sold in stores. Nobody's preventing the production of violent video games.

    All this game does is restrict selling video games with extreme violence to minors. Those who are over 18 are free to buy those games. Parents aren't prevented from buying those games and allowing their kids to play them. This is hardly censorship.
    Sorry. I should have made my post clear instead of the dribble that I did.

    What I meant by censoring is when they show a movie on a cable channel the movie is normally censored and violence and sex and bad words are edited out. Think FX when I mean by cable. Is that ok? Most do it because they fear backlash from the federal government because moralists who are radicals-and any extremist is a dangerous thing-would take up to arms on tv companies showing "bad" things that would harm the public.

    And the thing about restricting. It is just as bad as censoring because when you restrict you have more people just doing it. Look at the illegal drugs, americans consume those drugs like crazy because they are illegal to a degree. Take the danger out of it and watch drug use go down. Same with videogames make a note of it that it is just entertainment and watch controversy go down. But then again, most americans cannot live without conflict. So that in it is a problem in itself and a very big problem.

  2. #62
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:38 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,792

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by "Gray_Fox_86
    What I meant by censoring is when they show a movie on a cable channel the movie is normally censored and violence and sex and bad words are edited out. Think FX when I mean by cable. Is that ok? Most do it because they fear backlash from the federal government because moralists who are radicals-and any extremist is a dangerous thing-would take up to arms on tv companies showing "bad" things that would harm the public.
    Absolutely it's okay. It's their network, they can do whatever they want. Are they being forced to do so? No. Cable channels can do whatever they want because they are not using the public airwaves. It's their choice to censor if they want, it's your choice whether or not you want to watch their network based on their choices. Networks can choose, based on their perceived audience, to show whatever they want to. You can choose whether or not to change the channel.
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! YouTube me! VidMe me!

  3. #63
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Last Seen
    03-31-11 @ 07:14 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cephus View Post
    Absolutely it's okay. It's their network, they can do whatever they want. Are they being forced to do so? No. Cable channels can do whatever they want because they are not using the public airwaves. It's their choice to censor if they want, it's your choice whether or not you want to watch their network based on their choices. Networks can choose, based on their perceived audience, to show whatever they want to. You can choose whether or not to change the channel.
    Not too long ago they use to show movies unedited. But now things have changed. Why? Is it really because most people who have cable television do not want to be watching gory things? I think not. I think most companies have caved to the demand of adults who want to be babysitters to other adults.

  4. #64
    Devourer of Poor Children
    DrunkenAsparagus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    DC
    Last Seen
    01-20-16 @ 04:07 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    4,496

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by samsmart View Post
    Video games back in the day weren't as prolific with graphic violence and sex. Most of this was due to 1) the low resolution of graphics of platforms at that time, and 2) self-regulation of the video game industry, such as Nintendo's Seal of Approval.

    I think the only extremely violent game there was back in the day was "Mortal Kombat." But that game is quite tame in comparison to the "Grand Theft Auto" series.
    The industry already does self-regulate. The ESRB is completely voluntary, but retailers generally refuse to sell unrated games. Also, retailers virtually never sell M games to people under 17 without a parent. If you don't want your kids buying violent video games, don't let them.
    "Doubleplusungood"

    George Orwell

  5. #65
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:38 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,792

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gray_Fox_86 View Post
    Not too long ago they use to show movies unedited. But now things have changed. Why? Is it really because most people who have cable television do not want to be watching gory things? I think not. I think most companies have caved to the demand of adults who want to be babysitters to other adults.
    A lot of them are trying to be family friendly so they do censor. If you don't want censorship, go for HBO or Showtime, neither one censors anything. Many cable networks are owned by over-the-air broadcasters who already have that mindset. Like I said before, don't like what the network does, don't watch it, or you could start your own and show anything you damn well please.
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! YouTube me! VidMe me!

  6. #66
    Sage
    samsmart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    10,316
    Blog Entries
    37

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gray_Fox_86 View Post
    Not too long ago they use to show movies unedited. But now things have changed. Why? Is it really because most people who have cable television do not want to be watching gory things? I think not. I think most companies have caved to the demand of adults who want to be babysitters to other adults.
    There's also another factor to edited content: it's done by the tv stations themselves. The reason why is because those stations get paid for by advertisers. If tv stations air offensive content that does not violate any obscenity laws, viewers can complain to the advertisers. So a lot of content is self-regulated, especially cable television.

    Take, for example, when Comedy Central aired that episode of "South Park" when they had the word sh*t uttered a couple of hundred times. It wasn't censored by the government because the law clearly states that cable stations can air obscene content after 10:00pm. The reason why most don't even though they have the power to do so is because viewers may not like that offensive material, which means they won't be watching the ads for that content, which means advertisers won't pay for ads, which means the station loses out on money.

  7. #67
    Educator Gabriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Last Seen
    10-07-10 @ 08:38 PM
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    1,019

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    I dislike censorship. I am biased for the idea if a violent video game produces violence .. then there is something wrong before the game came along. Violence = uncool and stupid. Separating reality from fantasy is a normal process with people who are mentally sound.

  8. #68
    Sporadic insanity normal.


    The Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:43 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    19,736

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gabriel View Post
    I dislike censorship. I am biased for the idea if a violent video game produces violence .. then there is something wrong before the game came along. Violence = uncool and stupid. Separating reality from fantasy is a normal process with people who are mentally sound.
    Methinks it's more of a parent problem than a video game problem - If they didn't teach their kids to seperate fantasy from reality, it's not the game's fault.
    Education.

    Sometimes I think we're alone. Sometimes I think we're not. In either case, the thought is staggering. ~ R. Buckminster Fuller

  9. #69
    Educator Gabriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Last Seen
    10-07-10 @ 08:38 PM
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    1,019

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by The Mark View Post
    Methinks it's more of a parent problem than a video game problem - If they didn't teach their kids to seperate fantasy from reality, it's not the game's fault.
    Sure but I think the thing is separating reality and fantasy is something that most normal people do automatically without the presence of brainwashing etc. I think most enjoy gaming because it isn't reality.. that's why they do it. If it was reality.. the enjoyment of being able to do something you already can do would decrease reason to play the said game.

  10. #70
    Sage
    samsmart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    10,316
    Blog Entries
    37

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gabriel View Post
    I dislike censorship. I am biased for the idea if a violent video game produces violence .. then there is something wrong before the game came along. Violence = uncool and stupid. Separating reality from fantasy is a normal process with people who are mentally sound.
    That's not even the issue.

    Now, proponents may want to make it the issue to support this measure. And opponents may want to make it the issue to refute this measure. But that's not the issue.

    The issue is "Should underage children be allowed to purchase video games found to have extreme violence on their own without any parental oversight, and if not should the California state government have the legal authority to prevent it?"

    I say No, underage children shouldn't have the innate right to purchase overly violent video games without parents' permission. I also think the California state government should have the legal authority to regulate this.

    And, should a parent decide their children can handle an overly violent video game, then that parent can just purchase the video game for their child and let their child have at it. Which, I think, is more preferable than the child making that decision for himself or herself.

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •