View Poll Results: Do you agree with the law?

Voters
51. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    8 15.69%
  • No

    43 84.31%
Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 90

Thread: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

  1. #31
    John Schnatter 2012 Phantom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Seen
    03-20-12 @ 12:48 AM
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    638

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    The law is a waste of paper. The average kid could download the game he/she wants P2P. Games are not properly rated anyway.
    Vote John Schnatter (Papa John) 2012!

  2. #32
    Educator Jucon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Last Seen
    04-22-14 @ 07:52 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    787

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
    The law is a waste of paper. The average kid could download the game he/she wants P2P. Games are not properly rated anyway.
    What do you see as an example of a mis-rated game?
    "There is nothing which I dread so much as a division of the republic into two great parties, each arranged under its leader, and concerting measures in opposition to each other. This, in my humble apprehension, it to be dreaded as the greatest political evil under our Constitution." óJohn Adams

  3. #33
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,362

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
    The law is a waste of paper. The average kid could download the game he/she wants P2P. Games are not properly rated anyway.
    Actually the ESRB does a really good job in rating games, and I think they have the best, and easiest to understand rating system out there.
    Eat me, drink me, love me;
    Laura make much of me

  4. #34
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,362

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    The MPAA is not a private organization?

    \My kneejerk reaction is to not like this, but on thinking about it, children can still get these games, they just need the help of an adult, hopefully their parents. This law as I understand it does not stop children from playing these games, it just forces parents to be involved in the process of questionable games. I am really split on this, both as it is going to be a less than effective law(can you say online sales?) and that I dislike the thought of censorship, however I think getting bent out of shape about a law saying kids need to have an adult to buy certain games is not inappropriate either.
    The MPAA, and it's rating system is enforced voluntarily, just like the ESRB, and their ratings are done now.
    Eat me, drink me, love me;
    Laura make much of me

  5. #35
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Last Seen
    09-17-10 @ 07:33 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    30

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
    The law is a waste of paper. .
    Correct. I hope they have fun monitoring who actually plays the game, rather than who buys it.

  6. #36
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,864
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    I'm sick and tired of this Nanny State that we have been moving towards for the past several decades. BOOT THE LAW!!!!
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  7. #37
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Last Seen
    09-17-10 @ 07:33 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    30

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    BOOT THE LAW!!!!
    Help us, anarchy,

    you are our only hope.

  8. #38
    Frankernaut peepnklown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Last Seen
    10-16-15 @ 04:01 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    607

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Post#3 pretty much captured the libertarian point of view.

    I say, this law isn’t good enough; we need government to regulate all aspects of our lives.
    I want government food centers.
    I want government entertainment centers.
    I want government thought centers.
    I want them to not only treat me like a child; I want them to enslave me.
    I don’t want to make choices.
    I don’t want to think for myself.
    I want tyranny.
    'The whole universe is going to die!'

  9. #39
    Sage
    samsmart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    10,316
    Blog Entries
    37

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Now, if there was a way to segregate minors from adults in Xbox live and other gaming servers, I would be a happy guy. Kids ruin the gaming experience.

    old man voice Back in my day, if we wanted to play video games, we did so without bothering the grownups! Now with the internet, it has all been downhill!
    Video games back in the day weren't as prolific with graphic violence and sex. Most of this was due to 1) the low resolution of graphics of platforms at that time, and 2) self-regulation of the video game industry, such as Nintendo's Seal of Approval.

    I think the only extremely violent game there was back in the day was "Mortal Kombat." But that game is quite tame in comparison to the "Grand Theft Auto" series.

  10. #40
    Sage
    samsmart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    10,316
    Blog Entries
    37

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Your Star View Post
    On November 2 the Supreme Court will hear EMA v Schwarzenegger, in which they will judge the constitutionality of a California law that bans the sale of violent, and sexually explicit(games rated M, and AO) video games to minors. If the law is upheld by the court it will be an unprecedented ruling, marking the first time the government would give a privately owned, and run entity, the ESRB the power to restrict the sale of a product. While it may have popular support(72% of recently polled Californians agree with the law) many legal analyst suspect the law to shot down as unconstitutional, and thus giving video games the same protection under the law as other forms of speech.

    So I wanted to know what you guys opinion on the law is? Do you agree with, do you think it's constitutional?

    Personally I think it's unconstitutional, and will be shot down. The thing to remember is that the movie, and music industry's are not subjected to the same kind of laws, or restrictions. So why should video games be subject to a different standard than other forms of speech?

    Here is some more info on the case
    Schwarzenegger v. EMA -- Media Coalition
    I have no problem with the state of California restricting the sales of video games to those under the age of 18. In fact, I'd prefer it if we started restricting things of a violent nature more and restricting things of a sexual nature less.

    And there's already precedence to this - we restrict the sales of pornography magazines to those under the age of 18 still, despite the fact that any kid can go to a porno site and get it that way.

    I also think that such restrictions on selling games with adult themes to children will help the video game industry more than it will hurt. Let games written for kids be sold to kids. Let games written for adults be sold to adults.

    Considering the number of adults who play video games now, the industry will still cater to adults. In fact, this could be a big boost to video game stores. Most likely, big mart stores such as Wal-Mart and Target won't bother to sell such restricted video games. That will leave it to specialty video game stores such as GameStop to sell them instead. That gives video game stores a niche market on which they can capitalize.

    This ruling doesn't worry me in the least, and I can think it can actually be helpful to the video game industry.

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •