View Poll Results: Do you agree with the law?

Voters
51. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    8 15.69%
  • No

    43 84.31%
Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 90

Thread: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

  1. #21
    Farts in Elevators
    OscarB63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Last Seen
    09-06-14 @ 07:26 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    26,526

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    I highly enjoy the MPAA rating system (except for it being used by the industry to push certain films away from box office success) in comparison to it being enforced by the law. Nevertheless, anyone who has worked in the movie theater industry knows the number of times a parent complains about a rated-R film being shown to they and their children....despite the fact that it is rated R.

    It's a lose-lose situation.
    I just got a mental image of some 14-15 year old kid strolling up to the counter and telling the clerk. "the rating system is voluntary and I ain't volunteering. Now sell me the ****ing ticket"
    The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.

    An appeaser is one who feeds a crocodile, hoping it will eat him last.

  2. #22
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:38 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,647

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Lol. Plus, parents taking their kids in to seeing a movie with them that is probably inappropriate...and then being absolutely shocked that it was inappropriate...and then complain about it. That's especially what I meant. I didn't word that correctly at all. I woke from a nap. My mistake.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  3. #23
    Farts in Elevators
    OscarB63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Last Seen
    09-06-14 @ 07:26 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    26,526

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Lol. Plus, parents taking their kids in to seeing a movie with them that is probably inappropriate...and then being absolutely shocked that it was inappropriate...and then complain about it. That's especially what I meant. I didn't word that correctly at all. I woke from a nap. My mistake.
    yeah, dumbass parents that take their kids to an R-rated movie and then freak out when little Timmy sees a big pair of bouncing bettys or hears someone curse.

    that's like jumping in the pool and then complaining that you got wet.
    The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.

    An appeaser is one who feeds a crocodile, hoping it will eat him last.

  4. #24
    Sporadic insanity normal.


    The Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:51 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    19,736

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by digsbe View Post
    I agree with chevy.

    Leave it to California to pass crappy laws
    You have to give it to em', though - they're usually spearheading the attempts to pass laws no one else would touch without someone else trying it first.
    Education.

    Sometimes I think we're alone. Sometimes I think we're not. In either case, the thought is staggering. ~ R. Buckminster Fuller

  5. #25
    Cheese
    Aunt Spiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Sasnakra
    Last Seen
    09-10-16 @ 06:10 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,433

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Now, if there was a way to segregate minors from adults in Xbox live and other gaming servers, I would be a happy guy. Kids ruin the gaming experience.

    old man voice Back in my day, if we wanted to play video games, we did so without bothering the grownups! Now with the internet, it has all been downhill!
    But now you're a grownup.
    Aren't you, then, actually bothering the kids?
    A screaming comes across the sky.
    It has happened before, but there is nothing to compare it to now.
    Pynchon - Gravity's Rainbow

  6. #26
    Educator Jucon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Last Seen
    04-22-14 @ 07:52 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    787

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    I always thought minors were already restricted by law from buying M rated games, R or above rated movies, or Explicit Content music? Hmm... learn something new every day.
    "There is nothing which I dread so much as a division of the republic into two great parties, each arranged under its leader, and concerting measures in opposition to each other. This, in my humble apprehension, it to be dreaded as the greatest political evil under our Constitution." óJohn Adams

  7. #27
    Liberal Fascist For Life!


    Redress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 05:37 AM
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    93,290
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Your Star View Post
    No, it would give the ESRB(Entertainment Software Rating Board), a privately owned, and run organization the ability to restrict the sale of certain titles from a portion of the populous under law. They are the organization that rates games, and it would be the first time in this country that a privately owned organization has that kind of power.
    The MPAA is not a private organization?

    \My kneejerk reaction is to not like this, but on thinking about it, children can still get these games, they just need the help of an adult, hopefully their parents. This law as I understand it does not stop children from playing these games, it just forces parents to be involved in the process of questionable games. I am really split on this, both as it is going to be a less than effective law(can you say online sales?) and that I dislike the thought of censorship, however I think getting bent out of shape about a law saying kids need to have an adult to buy certain games is not inappropriate either.
    We became a great nation not because we are a nation of cynics. We became a great nation because we are a nation of believers - Lindsey Graham

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Uh oh Megyn...your vagina witchcraft is about ready to be exposed.

  8. #28
    Sporadic insanity normal.


    The Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:51 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    19,736

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    The MPAA is not a private organization?

    \My kneejerk reaction is to not like this, but on thinking about it, children can still get these games, they just need the help of an adult, hopefully their parents. This law as I understand it does not stop children from playing these games, it just forces parents to be involved in the process of questionable games. I am really split on this, both as it is going to be a less than effective law(can you say online sales?) and that I dislike the thought of censorship, however I think getting bent out of shape about a law saying kids need to have an adult to buy certain games is not inappropriate either.
    Not just online sales - any even vaguely PC competent kid these days could probably find all the games (not to mention porn) they could ever desire on the internetz - for free, to download.
    Education.

    Sometimes I think we're alone. Sometimes I think we're not. In either case, the thought is staggering. ~ R. Buckminster Fuller

  9. #29
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:38 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,647

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Quote Originally Posted by Aunt Spiker View Post
    But now you're a grownup.
    Aren't you, then, actually bothering the kids?
    Nope

    Microphones bust easy. Instead I get only listen to high pitch boys gloat.....brag....trash others.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  10. #30
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    11-18-12 @ 01:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    520
    Blog Entries
    18

    Re: Your opinion on California's Violent Video Game Law?

    Exactly it is only one piece of the larger issue," if not here then they cant there either". If ya cant ban everything that isnt age appropriate then forget about it. Its like beating a dead horse.Then asking us to shew flies off of it for you because you dont like them flyin around the HORSE. Every time there is a problem about the poor kids on some issue we are asked to protect their poor innocent psyches and help protect them. BS- Who protected my kids? I did and now that they are grown I expect them to protect theirs- Not the NANNY STATE! Go figure. We are talkin about Commiefornia though. Enough- My arms are getting tired from waving Flys off of the latest Poor horse( personal cause) to have fallen dead from being beaten by a bunch of misguided knee jerk reactionaries. Who boldly insist that it (Their personal cause) has not been rendered dead its tired and needs more attention and with my help, it will get up on all fours; and be the grandest of all the personal causes yet championed by any and everyone. Ugh....

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •