View Poll Results: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

Voters
34. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, definitely

    4 11.76%
  • It seems that way, haven't seen the statistics

    10 29.41%
  • Maybe

    5 14.71%
  • No, it's just more media coverage makes it seem that way

    14 41.18%
  • Al Gore is causing this

    0 0%
  • Other

    1 2.94%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Last Seen
    11-23-11 @ 10:06 PM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    3,827

    In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

    More extreme weather in the news. It got me thinking. In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days? If so, what to what do you attribute that?

  2. #2
    Sage
    lizzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    between two worlds
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    28,581

    Re: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

    I don't know the actual statistics, but my guess is that we have better information technology, so we are made aware of things that we would have had no interest in in the past.
    "God is the name by which I designate all things which cross my path violently and recklessly, all things which alter my plans and intentions, and change the course of my life, for better or for worse."
    -C G Jung

  3. #3
    Banned Goobieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Last Seen
    03-22-15 @ 02:36 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    17,343

    Re: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

    No, there's simply more sensationalism in the coverage.

    Remember how the 2006 and 2007 hurricane seasons were predicted to be at least 'above average' in severity? Virtually nothing happened. The prediction got all kinds of coverage; the failure of the prediction to come true got nothing.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New Orleans
    Last Seen
    05-06-11 @ 07:54 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    3,082

    Re: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

    It was the coldest winter I can remember in New Orleans.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Last Seen
    11-23-11 @ 10:06 PM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    3,827

    Re: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

    Quote Originally Posted by sazerac View Post
    It was the coldest winter I can remember in New Orleans.
    There's some hard evidence!

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New Orleans
    Last Seen
    05-06-11 @ 07:54 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    3,082

    Re: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

    Quote Originally Posted by MyOwnDrum View Post
    There's some hard evidence!
    Seriously, it was cold. Made me nervous!

    The U.S. just experienced its coldest winter in 25 years, according to the National Climatic Data Center. The winter period December - February was the 18th coldest winter in the contiguous U.S. over the past 115 years, and the coldest since 1984 - 1985. It was also a wet winter, ranking 19th wettest. The states experiencing the coldest winters, relative to average, were Texas and Louisiana, which had their 5th coldest winters on record.
    Wunder Blog : Weather Underground

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Last Seen
    11-23-11 @ 10:06 PM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    3,827

    Re: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

    Quote Originally Posted by sazerac View Post
    Seriously, it was cold. Made me nervous!



    Wunder Blog : Weather Underground
    I live out West, and it was darned warm for us.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Theoretical Physics Lab
    Last Seen
    01-06-15 @ 11:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,120

    Re: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

    Nope, and Goob explained it pretty accurately. America and the world in general tends to have a mixture of ADHD and short term memory. Every time something happens now, it's the biggest thing ever ever ever ever ever ever ever. Ever.

    San Fran had a pretty doozy of a quake around the turn of the 20th century and a lot of people would bet money (and lose) that any number of quakes that happened in the world in the last few years (including Haiti and Chile) were the worst thing to ever happen.

    We're prisoners of the moment.

  9. #9
    Educator Jucon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Last Seen
    04-22-14 @ 07:52 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    787

    Re: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

    We had less snow than normal in my part of Minnesota and Wisconsin this past winter. It snowed later in the season and melted earlier than normal.

    I wouldn't know what caused this though.

  10. #10
    Sage
    Harry Guerrilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Not affiliated with other libertarians.
    Last Seen
    09-01-17 @ 02:38 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    28,955

    Re: In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days?

    Quote Originally Posted by MyOwnDrum View Post
    More extreme weather in the news. It got me thinking. In your opinion, are there more extreme weather events these days? If so, what to what do you attribute that?
    No there isn't, just more people observing those weather events.
    I was discovering that life just simply isn't fair and bask in the unsung glory of knowing that each obstacle overcome along the way only adds to the satisfaction in the end. Nothing great, after all, was ever accomplished by anyone sulking in his or her misery.
    —Adam Shepard

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •