View Poll Results: Is the argument presented in the OP fair?

Voters
55. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, it is entirely fair

    22 40.00%
  • No, it is an unfair attack on Obama

    32 58.18%
  • I don't know

    1 1.82%
Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 110

Thread: Is This a Fair Complaint

  1. #1
    Liberal Fascist For Life!


    Redress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 05:53 AM
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    93,328
    Blog Entries
    2

    Is This a Fair Complaint

    Since Obama went in support of Chicago as an Olympic city, the complaints have been coming fast and furious that Obama has improper priorities. The claim is that since Obama has not authorized more troops for Afghanistan as General McChrystal has requested, and has went to Copenhagen to support the Olympic bid, his priorities are misplaced. Is this a far argument?
    We became a great nation not because we are a nation of cynics. We became a great nation because we are a nation of believers - Lindsey Graham

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Uh oh Megyn...your vagina witchcraft is about ready to be exposed.

  2. #2
    Clown Prince of Politics
    Psychoclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hiding from the voices in my head.
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 09:31 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    1,738

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    It's a fair complaint ... in the minds of unthinking partisan hacks. The rest of us understand the President can do more than one thing at a time and all President's spend some time on relatively unimportant things like Olympic bids.
    Slipping into madness is good for the sake of comparison - Unknown.

  3. #3
    Sage
    jamesrage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A place where common sense exists
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 09:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    31,067

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Olympics are frivolous compared to Afghanistan. Its like the mayor of your city trying to get a skate board park built when there are more serious issues to deal with that demand that mayor's time now.
    "A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murder is less to fear"

    Cicero Marcus Tullius

  4. #4
    Sage
    Gibberish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Last Seen
    12-23-12 @ 09:29 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    6,339

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    What does everyone think Obama did with the 20+ hours on the plane between Thursday and Friday? Do you honestly think Afghanistan was never brought up?
    "Gold gets dug out of the ground in Africa, or someplace. Then we melt it down, dig another hole, bury it again and pay people to stand around guarding it. It has no utility. Anyone watching from Mars would be scratching their head."
    - Warren Buffett

  5. #5
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    Since Obama went in support of Chicago as an Olympic city, the complaints have been coming fast and furious that Obama has improper priorities. The claim is that since Obama has not authorized more troops for Afghanistan as General McChrystal has requested, and has went to Copenhagen to support the Olympic bid, his priorities are misplaced. Is this a far argument?
    It is a fair complaint. Now saying that it is a fair complaint doesn't necessarily make the comment 100% true, or to say that some people do not make the complaint completely on a partisan basis. They surely can. What it means IMO is that there is recourse for the complaint. What is Obama doing? Well we've had more talks and speeches than days in office. He's been on a late night TV show, he's gone to Copenhagen on behalf of Chicago, etc. I think there is plenty of evidence which could suggest that Obama doesn't quite have his priorities straight.

    Fair complaints can be debated. An unfair complaint would be Obama is one of those dudes from V and totally is out for global enslavement of the human race. But questioning his job performance, attitude, and displayed priorities can very well be fair. Could be motivated by hyperpartisanship as well, so you have to wade through some crap to make sure.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  6. #6
    don't panic
    marduc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 04:10 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    5,301

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Since the complaint is inconsistent and selective it is unfair.

    To be fair with the criticism would necessitate complaining about Obama wasting time taking a dump, sleeping, screwing Michelle, helping his daughters with their homework, and absolutely anything and everything that is not directly related to Afghanistan and the situation there.

    Soldiers are dying and he dares sleep? the audacity!

  7. #7
    Sage
    apdst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bagdad, La.
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 08:52 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    76,465

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Gibberish View Post
    What does everyone think Obama did with the 20+ hours on the plane between Thursday and Friday? Do you honestly think Afghanistan was never brought up?
    I dunno. Was it? Doesn't seem to me that it takes alot of debate about what to do when the guy you put in charge to run the show tells you what should be done. McChrystal was placed in command of the ATO because obviously someone trusted his ability and his judgement. That being the case, it's time to stop second guessing the guy they put in command and do what he asks.

    So, yes, it's fair to say that PBO has his priorities all screwed up.
    Quote Originally Posted by Top Cat View Post
    At least Bill saved his transgressions for grown women. Not suggesting what he did was OK. But he didn't chase 14 year olds.

  8. #8
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by marduc View Post
    Since the complaint is inconsistent and selective it is unfair.

    To be fair with the criticism would necessitate complaining about Obama wasting time taking a dump, sleeping, screwing Michelle, helping his daughters with their homework, and absolutely anything and everything that is not directly related to Afghanistan and the situation there.

    Soldiers are dying and he dares sleep? the audacity!
    This, however, is an example of unfair critique. It's critique of a critique and based in hyperbole and spin.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  9. #9
    Sage
    disneydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    12-13-17 @ 07:24 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,144

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    The people who are barking the loudest about this are the ones who didn't utter a single word when GWB was in office. Clearly nothing more than the typical "I hate Obama" BS they they've been spewing because they have nothing of substance to fight with.

    You can bet that if Obama hadn't gone...these same folk would be barking about why Obama doesn't support America enough to travel for the Olympic vote while other the other countries leaders did.
    Last edited by disneydude; 10-05-09 at 07:18 PM.
    <font size=5><b>Its been several weeks since the Vegas shooting.  Its it still "Too Early" or can we start having the conversation about finally doing something about these mass shootings???​</b></font>

  10. #10
    Sage
    Gibberish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Last Seen
    12-23-12 @ 09:29 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    6,339

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by apdst View Post
    I dunno. Was it? Doesn't seem to me that it takes alot of debate about what to do when the guy you put in charge to run the show tells you what should be done. McChrystal was placed in command of the ATO because obviously someone trusted his ability and his judgement. That being the case, it's time to stop second guessing the guy they put in command and do what he asks.

    So, yes, it's fair to say that PBO has his priorities all screwed up.
    So your thought is that if Obama didn't fly to Denmark he would have made a decision on Afghanistan by now? Like all Generals, McChrystal offer's his expert opinion, along the Joint Chiefs, to the President to make a decision.
    "Gold gets dug out of the ground in Africa, or someplace. Then we melt it down, dig another hole, bury it again and pay people to stand around guarding it. It has no utility. Anyone watching from Mars would be scratching their head."
    - Warren Buffett

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •