View Poll Results: Is the argument presented in the OP fair?

Voters
55. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, it is entirely fair

    22 40.00%
  • No, it is an unfair attack on Obama

    32 58.18%
  • I don't know

    1 1.82%
Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 110

Thread: Is This a Fair Complaint

  1. #81
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Did you criticize Bush for his response to Katrina?
    At first yes. And then I learned how those type of situations are suppose to work. Once I learned that I placed the blame where it belonged in the order that it belonged. Bush ended up along the bottom of the list.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  2. #82
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Masschusetts
    Last Seen
    03-01-14 @ 10:44 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    3,512

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    If Obama hadn't gone (& Rio won) anti-Obama forces would be complaining that he was Un-American & wasn't doing enough to create jobs here.

  3. #83
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Devil505 View Post
    If Obama hadn't gone (& Rio won) anti-Obama forces would be complaining that he was Un-American & wasn't doing enough to create jobs here.
    Yeah I keep hearing that. But I have yet to see any proof that such a thing has ever happened to any President. Maybe if I saw some it might make me inclined to agree. As it stands it's a false statement since there is no way to prove that it would have happened.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  4. #84
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Masschusetts
    Last Seen
    03-01-14 @ 10:44 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    3,512

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    Yeah I keep hearing that. But I have yet to see any proof that such a thing has ever happened to any President. Maybe if I saw some it might make me inclined to agree. As it stands it's a false statement since there is no way to prove that it would have happened.
    It's obviously just opinion. As you say...there is no way to prove it one way of the other.
    I also don't see where past history would be much help here as I can never remember such visceral hatred (from some) of a fairly new President as we see now, & I'm 62 years old & have seen allot.
    Last edited by Devil505; 10-08-09 at 06:54 PM.

  5. #85
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Devil505 View Post
    It's obviously just opinion. As you say...there is no way to prove it one way of the other.
    I also don't see where past history would be much help here as I can never remember such visceral hatred (from some) of a fairly new President as we see now, & I'm 62 years old & have seen allot.
    While it might not be much help it is still some help. If there is no evidence at all for such a statement to be made then the statement can only be construed as a lie based on political partisanship. It's used to try to discredit and take peoples eyes away from any real objections. Sorry but that's the only way that I can describe it.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  6. #86
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Masschusetts
    Last Seen
    03-01-14 @ 10:44 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    3,512

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    While it might not be much help it is still some help. If there is no evidence at all for such a statement to be made then the statement can only be construed as a lie based on political partisanship. It's used to try to discredit and take peoples eyes away from any real objections. Sorry but that's the only way that I can describe it.
    An opinion can be wrong or right but it is not a lie.


    A lie:
    (n.) A false statement deliberately presented as being true; a falsehood.
    Last edited by Devil505; 10-08-09 at 09:20 PM.

  7. #87
    Klattu Verata Nicto
    LaMidRighter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Louisiana
    Last Seen
    07-21-17 @ 02:42 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    30,534

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Devil505 View Post
    If Obama hadn't gone (& Rio won) anti-Obama forces would be complaining that he was Un-American & wasn't doing enough to create jobs here.
    There are fringe elements in any ideology that would criticize a president for anything either way, my take is that Obama had no business lobbying for the Olympics because he is the president of the U.S. there are plenty of other successful Americans who could have done that, even Michelle Obama could have done so as the first lady without scrutiny from fair minded right leaners, I would not be giving them grief if she used the figurehead position for such, but as is I think the presidency was cheapened a little by that and other lobbying.
    Neither side in an argument can find the truth when both make an absolute claim on it.

    LMR

  8. #88
    Sage
    apdst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bagdad, La.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:24 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    76,450

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Devil505 View Post
    If Obama hadn't gone (& Rio won) anti-Obama forces would be complaining that he was Un-American & wasn't doing enough to create jobs here.
    I don't think we really give a **** either way. Especially, since every city that hosts the olympics winds up millions of dollars in debt. Actaully, I'm glad Chicago didn't get the games, because we would have to have another bailout for a city that is already needing bailing out. I'm frustrated that PBO wasted his time with the crap.
    Quote Originally Posted by Top Cat View Post
    At least Bill saved his transgressions for grown women. Not suggesting what he did was OK. But he didn't chase 14 year olds.

  9. #89
    Tavern Bartender
    Constitutionalist
    American's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:51 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    76,305

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Zyphlin View Post
    Yay for wonderful hyperbole!

    Ugg.

    Serious, determining whether someone is becoming "the worst" president in history....DURING THEIR FREAKING ADMINISTRATION, let alone even a decade later....is incredibly foolhearty. So often things put forth into action by a President don't have their full ramifications show up until sometime in the future. Be it that it takes that long to go into effect, or if the slow but lengthy longevity of a positive looks far better than the initial small bonus it showed at first, or something that started off huge bombs off, etc. Its not something that can be honestly really judged right off. If you want to say "bad", sure go ahead. If you want to say he's the worst you've seen personally, sure. If you want to say you think he will be one of, eh, okay. But to unequiviocally state he's becoming THE WORST is just gross hyperbole based on nothing but hyper partisan biased views.

    And even if we are....

    This is a classic example of hyper partisanship attempting to just go after the guy in office. Because the only standard I can see you using to justify calling him the worst is the expansion of government, expansion of the welfare state, expansion of the federal debt, poor supreme court choice, and perhaps fear of removal of civil liberties. Going from the extreme right sided mindset of this, even Obama can't be listed as "the worst ever" under that criteria because he still pales in comparison to FDR at the majority of those things, on top of which FDR has history backing him as we can actually look at see the longevity his things have had on society and their effects which we won't be able to do for decades with Obama.

    Just no.
    The Dems did it for 8 years.
    "He who does not think himself worth saving from poverty and ignorance by his own efforts, will hardly be thought worth the efforts of anybody else." -- Frederick Douglass, Self-Made Men (1872)
    "Fly-over" country voted, and The Donald is now POTUS.

  10. #90
    Hard As A Rock
    Strucky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Last Seen
    10-19-17 @ 08:58 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    2,074

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Devil505 View Post
    If Obama hadn't gone (& Rio won) anti-Obama forces would be complaining that he was Un-American & wasn't doing enough to create jobs here.
    No we would'nt....it isnt the Presidents job to lobby for the olympics.
    "The problem in defense is how far you can go without destroying from within what you are trying to defend from without."

    ~Dwight D. Eisenhower

Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •