View Poll Results: Is the argument presented in the OP fair?

Voters
55. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, it is entirely fair

    22 40.00%
  • No, it is an unfair attack on Obama

    32 58.18%
  • I don't know

    1 1.82%
Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 110

Thread: Is This a Fair Complaint

  1. #71
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    Then it is not a comparable situation. Obama's work hours are whatever hours he works.
    Those 1-2 hours are set because they already happened. His trip was considered to be Official. He cannot go back in time to change what he did during that time. IE no flex time. No matter what he cannot get those 1-2 hours back. Even if he stays up an extra 1-2 hours working on things that he should have been working on. Because that time has already gone.

    If Spouse A takes Kid A to the baseball game without waiting for the in-law then that is what happened. That time cannot be taken back. And it would be right to critisize Spouse A for his/her actions.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  2. #72
    Liberal Fascist For Life!


    Redress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:32 AM
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    93,328
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    Those 1-2 hours are set because they already happened. His trip was considered to be Official. He cannot go back in time to change what he did during that time. IE no flex time. No matter what he cannot get those 1-2 hours back. Even if he stays up an extra 1-2 hours working on things that he should have been working on. Because that time has already gone.

    If Spouse A takes Kid A to the baseball game without waiting for the in-law then that is what happened. That time cannot be taken back. And it would be right to critisize Spouse A for his/her actions.
    Since he can make up the time simply by working late one day, and he has the ability to do so, then it is basically flex time, and no time was lost from his doing his job. He just put in a couple hours of free(in that his wage cost did not rise) overtime really
    We became a great nation not because we are a nation of cynics. We became a great nation because we are a nation of believers - Lindsey Graham

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Uh oh Megyn...your vagina witchcraft is about ready to be exposed.

  3. #73
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Western Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    12-30-09 @ 08:40 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    3,648

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Unfair.

    I believe that Obama certainly had ulterior motives in trying to secure the 2016 Olympics for Chicago, I just don't think his trip to Denmark was an effort to obscure his mis-management of Afghanistan or what a failure he has been as CiC.

  4. #74
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    Since he can make up the time simply by working late one day, and he has the ability to do so, then it is basically flex time, and no time was lost from his doing his job. He just put in a couple hours of free(in that his wage cost did not rise) overtime really
    Time lost is time lost. Doesn't matter how many hours you work you will still not get those hours back.

    Obama doesn't go for bid: 4 hours of time spent. 4 important items taken care of.

    Works on education for one hour, then moves onto health care for one hour, then moves onto crime for one hour, then moves onto space program for one hour.


    Obama goes for bid: 4 hours of time spent. 3 important items things taken care of.

    Obama works on bid for one hour, then moves onto education for one hour, then moves onto health care for one hour, then moves onto crime for one hour.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  5. #75
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Zyphlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    NoMoAuchie
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    47,990

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    Yes sorry, moral. And yes it would boost moral to have the Olympic come to the US. However there are others that could have went instead of Obama. For example the Mayor of Chicago (or any other mayor for their respective cities). Others that could have gone is Bill Clinton, or Obama's wife by herself. These are people that do not have near as much on their plate as does Obama. Yet they still would have been just as qualified as Obama for this situation.
    At the same time, could not the first lady host the championship team? Perhaps the Vice President? Perhaps the state Governor? I do understand you said you don't like it, but yet it also seems like you won't complain about that "official action" as much as the Olympic one...where as with the Olympic one you could arguably say its actually a BIGGER moral boost as not only does it give us a chance to improve our world wide image, brings money into our economy, show the world America's glory, and host a massive traditional event rather than just inviting one cities team in to have a dinner cause they won a sports game.

    Shouldn't there be even GREATER indignation for inviting say, the Pittsburgh Steelers to the white house for dinner than trying to win the Olympics Games to the U.S.?

  6. #76
    Liberal Fascist For Life!


    Redress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:32 AM
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    93,328
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    Time lost is time lost. Doesn't matter how many hours you work you will still not get those hours back.

    Obama doesn't go for bid: 4 hours of time spent. 4 important items taken care of.

    Works on education for one hour, then moves onto health care for one hour, then moves onto crime for one hour, then moves onto space program for one hour.


    Obama goes for bid: 4 hours of time spent. 3 important items things taken care of.

    Obama works on bid for one hour, then moves onto education for one hour, then moves onto health care for one hour, then moves onto crime for one hour.
    This would only be fair if Obama worked by the hour. He does not, he works by what needs to be done. Now what evidence do you have that something did not get done?
    We became a great nation not because we are a nation of cynics. We became a great nation because we are a nation of believers - Lindsey Graham

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Uh oh Megyn...your vagina witchcraft is about ready to be exposed.

  7. #77
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Zyphlin View Post
    At the same time, could not the first lady host the championship team? Perhaps the Vice President? Perhaps the state Governor? I do understand you said you don't like it, but yet it also seems like you won't complain about that "official action" as much as the Olympic one...where as with the Olympic one you could arguably say its actually a BIGGER moral boost as not only does it give us a chance to improve our world wide image, brings money into our economy, show the world America's glory, and host a massive traditional event rather than just inviting one cities team in to have a dinner cause they won a sports game.

    Shouldn't there be even GREATER indignation for inviting say, the Pittsburgh Steelers to the white house for dinner than trying to win the Olympics Games to the U.S.?
    Yes the First Lady could do so, as well as the Vice President could. And since you bring it up I think you're right in this respect. I would rather have the Vice President or First Lady take care of those Champions than have the President do it.

    As for your second paragraph I'm not sure if there would be or not. The Steelers is a local team and because of that may hold more popularity than the Olympics. On the other hand the Olympics is suppose to bring "prestige" to the city/country that hosts it. So to others that may be more important. In the end I don't really know.

    Thanks to you I am now of the opinion that the President should stay out of such things period and leave them to those that don't have the things that he does on their plate.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  8. #78
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    This would only be fair if Obama worked by the hour. He does not, he works by what needs to be done. Now what evidence do you have that something did not get done?
    As does everyone else that works on a salary. Yet if they spent their time doing something that isn't as important as something else that they could be doing then they would get yelled at by their boss.

    For example a section of track on a railroad needs replaced or the next train to go over it will be trying to drive on the highway vs a section of track that needs replaced but can still be ok for 50 trains to go over it. What would happen to the person that's suppose to replace that first track but instead replaced the second track?

    Just because you are on Salary hours does not mean that the less important things should be done ahead of the important things.

    And yes I do think that it is fair. No matter what there are only so many hours in a day. Once those hours are wasted they are wasted. Gone. They cannot be gotten back just because you work some hours that you normally would not have worked.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  9. #79
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:52 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,048

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    I find it funny when people say such things as you did Hatuey when there is tons of evidence that Bush was critized also. Such statements make it try to look like no one ever critized Bush.
    Did you criticize Bush for his response to Katrina?
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  10. #80
    Klattu Verata Nicto
    LaMidRighter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Louisiana
    Last Seen
    07-21-17 @ 02:42 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    30,534

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Did you criticize Bush for his response to Katrina?
    I put the blame where it belonged, mayor Ray Nagin and then Gov. Kathleen Blanco primarily, and THEN federal, I did it that way because. A) I'm from Louisiana and was here when the storm hit just east of Morgan City Louisana. B) Saw the entire fallout and not just what some pundit wanted to show or present. C) Know the particulars of response protocol since my dad was nationa guard and worked other storms that devestated other communities the national media will never know/care about and Katrina was the absolute worst response by any mayor/governer tandem of any time.
    - I am glad you brought this up though, because after the flooding in Georgia and another disaster that doesn't immediately come to mind, there was a conspicuous absence from Obama, not even a phone call. At least Bush and prior presidents declared disaster areas or visited/made a call.
    Neither side in an argument can find the truth when both make an absolute claim on it.

    LMR

Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •