View Poll Results: Is the argument presented in the OP fair?

Voters
55. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, it is entirely fair

    22 40.00%
  • No, it is an unfair attack on Obama

    32 58.18%
  • I don't know

    1 1.82%
Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 110

Thread: Is This a Fair Complaint

  1. #21
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Redneck Riviera
    Last Seen
    07-09-11 @ 06:11 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,728

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Every major American city has the necessary infrastructure to handle a bid of this type on their own. Most have highly paid image consultants who help the city position itself for travel and tourism, as well. In contrast, Spain is about the size of Texas. A president of Spain is akin to a governor in real terms of population represented and GDP.

    This is a job that can generally be handled adequately by locals. And, Chicago has plenty of local celebrities that are well-known on an international level that could have been tapped for this work. Further, this is a perfect role for a First Lady, not necessarily the chief executive.

    It really is a matter of priorities, for me at least. We are a nation at war on two fronts. We are in the midst of the worst recession since the Great Depression. More Americans are out of work than have been at any point in the last 60 years. Our healthcare reform issues are not even close to being resolved.

    If Obama doesn't see work for himself in the states that outranks traveling to Denmark in terms of importance, I could probably identify some for him.

    In fact, I would go so far as to say that this is the FAIREST criticism I've see leveled at him so far, because it hits on the real priorities of what a President should be doing with his time/energy/budget.
    Last edited by Catz Part Deux; 10-06-09 at 10:44 AM.

  2. #22
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Zyphlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    NoMoAuchie
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    47,939

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Its a fair complaint, that can be made in unfair ways.

    Ikari does a good job of showing it as a fair one. Focusing singularly on the Olympics is unfair, as would be trying to equate the olympics to being the exact same thing as say, appearing on the tonight show. HOWEVER, it IS fair to roll it all up into an over arching argument that in general Obama's ACTIONS seems more concerned with his public image and essentially campaigning rather than actually dealing with many of the serious issues in this country. It would even be fair to simply assert that even if its not REALLY messing with his priorities, the perception it gives off is likely bad (as it was hardly hardcore righties that were complaining about his talk show appearances, etc).

    Does that mean its a correct and infallable argument?

    Absolutely not?

    Does it mean that it can't be taken to extremes, interjected with idiotic hyperbole, and be laced with hypocracy?

    Absolutely not as well.

    The argument itself is a fair one in a general sense, but how one presents it and the scope of which they push it would have the potential to edit such.

    Just like the notion, which I found idiotic, that Bush should be chastised and belittled constantly for his time in Crawford for the past 8 years was something NUMEROUS liberals here and elsewhere considered a legitimate and worth while reason to bash him was in and of itself a "fair" complaint. However, many of the arguments for said complaint was unfair due to peoples inability to use reason and logic, avoid gross hyperbole, and have some common sense.

  3. #23
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Zyphlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    NoMoAuchie
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    47,939

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by LaMidRighter View Post
    The IOC got more of the president's time than our generals in Afghanistan, I'd say it's fair to state that there are some priority problems.
    I'd also think its fair to state that when you have Joint Cheifs of Staff who are likely communicating with said President and with said general on a regular basis are communicating. This has probably been going on for 9 months now.

    Meanwhile I'm pretty sure the IOC was a one day affair where it would benefit diplomatically for the President himself to show up rather than send a cabinet member.

    You didn't state "face to face" conversation, you said his time. Unless you're contesting that the reports, statements, or views of said General or of the President never passed between them through intermediaries like the Joint Cheifs of Staff (who are hardly impotent peons), you're just wrong about the "president's time".

    One does not need to meet face to face with a person to be able to give them direction, to hear reports from them, etc.

  4. #24
    Sage
    Oftencold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    A small village in Alaska
    Last Seen
    05-09-14 @ 12:53 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    5,044

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    I'd have added a few more choices, to allow for finer degree. The charge is obviously fair, but as stated it is incomplete.

    Perhaps if Obama had some history of demonstrated leadership, as opposed to his interpretation of the presidency as a sales position, such diversions would be seen as trivial. As it is the appear substantial became they occur in a career largely composed of effluvia.
    Quod scripsi, scripsi

  5. #25
    Sage
    Oftencold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    A small village in Alaska
    Last Seen
    05-09-14 @ 12:53 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    5,044

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Psychoclown View Post
    It's a fair complaint ... in the minds of unthinking partisan hacks. The rest of us understand the President can do more than one thing at a time and all President's spend some time on relatively unimportant things like Olympic bids.
    And "health care" reform.
    Quod scripsi, scripsi

  6. #26
    Sage
    Oftencold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    A small village in Alaska
    Last Seen
    05-09-14 @ 12:53 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    5,044

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by disneydude View Post
    The people who are barking the loudest about this are the ones who didn't utter a single word when GWB was in office. Clearly nothing more than the typical "I hate Obama" BS they they've been spewing because they have nothing of substance to fight with.

    You can bet that if Obama hadn't gone...these same folk would be barking about why Obama doesn't support America enough to travel for the Olympic vote while other the other countries leaders did.
    Have we ever complained when any other president didn't go to grovel for the Olympics? Think now, have we?
    Quod scripsi, scripsi

  7. #27
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Redneck Riviera
    Last Seen
    07-09-11 @ 06:11 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,728

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    I've never felt it was a president's role to pitch for a particular city. That's what Mayors are for.

  8. #28
    Sage
    disneydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,129

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by LaMidRighter View Post
    That is complete and utter bull****. Obama is being criticized for:
    1) Spending - Every President since FDR has taken flak from at least one side for spending.
    2) Handling Afghanistan, Reagan, G.W. Bush, and now Obama have all had issues with that country, as did Carter.
    3) Grandstanding- Clinton took flak for appearing on talk shows during his campaign, the famous saxaphone joke is still priceless, Obama is STILL campaigning, THAT is what he is getting **** for, any other claim would be very disingenuous.
    4) Healthcare - one side doesn't want federal encroachment, the other does, so every president for at least the last 30 years has heard non-stop bitching over that one.
    5) Arrogance - both sides have claimed that against the other's president since FDR.
    6) Federal/SCOTUS appointments - Bork, Thomas, Sotomayor, etc. have all come across partisan scrutiny.

    If you can't see that Obama is actually getting much better treatment than the left gave G.W. Bush and Reagan you are blind, and this "poor Obama" schtick is nothing more than whining from the left, don't want your candidate scrutinized? Too damn bad, this is politics.
    Oh BS.....yes....every President has been criticized for the types of things that you site....

    However, the wacko right have been criticizing Obama for a wide range of silly and outright stupid things.....

    - The whole birth certificate issue

    - His choice of Beer

    - Promoting the US in the Olympics

    - speaking to kids about the importance of education....I could go on and on and on.


    Scrutinize? Absolutely. I think that is not only allowable...but your patriotic duty.

    Come up with these petty BS feigned outrages? Ridiculous babble.
    Last edited by disneydude; 10-06-09 at 11:37 AM.
    <font size=5><b>Its been several weeks since the Vegas shooting.  Its it still "Too Early" or can we start having the conversation about finally doing something about these mass shootings???​</b></font>

  9. #29
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Redneck Riviera
    Last Seen
    07-09-11 @ 06:11 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,728

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by disneydude View Post
    However, the wacko right have been criticizing Obama for a wide range of silly and outright stupid things.....

    - The whole birth certificate issue

    - His choice of Beer

    - Promoting the US in the Olympics

    - speaking to kids about the importance of education....I could go on and on and on.
    I agree with you, but I am not the whacko right, and he's losing my confidence at this point.

  10. #30
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Zyphlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    NoMoAuchie
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    47,939

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by disneydude View Post
    Oh BS.....yes....every President has been criticized for the types of things that you site....

    However, the wacko right have been criticizing Obama for a wide range of silly and outright stupid things.....

    Scrutinize? Absolutely. I think that is not only allowable...but your patriotic duty.

    Come up with these petty BS feigned outrages? Ridiculous babble.

    Yes, and we definitely know that nit picking on silly and outright stupid things for criticism is the perview of only the "wacko" right and only happens to Obama.

    How Nuclear is pronounced.

    Choking on a pretzel.

    Finishing reading to the kids.

    Working from the Ranch instead.

    Planned / Knowingly purposefully allowed 9/11.

    Planning to declare himself dictator with FEMA camps (thanks billo).

    Indeed, I'm sure if we go back to Clinton, and to GHWB, and to Reagan we would in no way find people:

    1. Complaining about something stupid like how one spells nuclear or what beer they're drinking

    2. Creating some kind of idiotic conspiracy theory about them

    3. Get upset with them due to some kind of public event, "vacation" location, change in venue, or minor political issue that became a focus for a short time.

    Those things never could've happened for anyone but Obama. Dear Obama has so, soooooooo much more to worry about than any President. I mean, its just blatantly obvious.


Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •