View Poll Results: Is the argument presented in the OP fair?

Voters
55. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, it is entirely fair

    22 40.00%
  • No, it is an unfair attack on Obama

    32 58.18%
  • I don't know

    1 1.82%
Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 110

Thread: Is This a Fair Complaint

  1. #11
    don't panic
    marduc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 04:10 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    5,301

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Ikari View Post
    This, however, is an example of unfair critique. It's critique of a critique and based in hyperbole and spin.
    exactly.

    A bit of exaggeration to underscore how ridiculous the original critique was, which also an unfair critique based on hyperbole and spin.
    Last edited by marduc; 10-05-09 at 07:25 PM.

  2. #12
    Sage
    roguenuke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Last Seen
    05-17-17 @ 05:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,935

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    It is a fair complaint considering all of the things that are going on that should be holding the President's attention and going to an IOC meeting to make a bid for a particular city to get the Olympics is not normally done by a President. The President did not need to be there, other people were perfectly capable of making the case for why Chicago should host those Olympics, including the First Lady. Prioritizing is important for a President.

    Some important questions to ask to determine if this should have been up there in importance are
    -would he have gone if one of the other cities in the US were up for it,
    -did he have other reasons for going (besides site-seeing, spending time with wife, shaking hands),
    -without him there, would the chances of Chicago hosting have been any lower,
    -and did he accomplish anything while he was there, especially related to more important issues here in the US.
    I would not begrudge any President time-off, but this was deemed an official visit, so I would expect more to come from it than a failed bid to host the Olympics, especially considering how often we have been able to host them in the past.
    "A woman is like a teabag, you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water." - Eleanor Roosevelt

    Keep your religion out of other people's marriages.

  3. #13
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by marduc View Post
    exactly.

    A bit of exaggeration to underscore how ridiculous the original critique was, which also an unfair critique based on hyperbole and spin.
    Not really. One can honestly make the claim that Obama doesn't have his priorities straight. The Copenhagen thing is just one step in that critique. While the critique can be made from unfair sources, the critique itself can be posed honestly.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  4. #14
    Sage
    disneydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:42 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,142

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Nothing but mindless criticism brought to you by the same folk who brought you the outrage over Obama speaking to school kids about the importance of education.
    <font size=5><b>Its been several weeks since the Vegas shooting.  Its it still "Too Early" or can we start having the conversation about finally doing something about these mass shootings???​</b></font>

  5. #15
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by disneydude View Post
    You can bet that if Obama hadn't gone...these same folk would be barking about why Obama doesn't support America enough to travel for the Olympic vote while other the other countries leaders did.
    Was any other President critized for not going to bid for a US city in the Olympics? No? Then why would you suggest that this would be said of Obama? The only reason that it is being talked about now is because he did go. I doubt very seriously that it would have even been brought up otherwise.

    In my mind Obama going was plain stupid. He has far more on his plate to be dealing with than a chance for some stupid games to come to the US. Like the economy, health care, job rates, illegal immigration, crime rates in the US, Afghanistan, Iraq, N. Korea, Israel, Iran, space program (IMO the space program is very important for the future of humans), education, and no doubt other things which just don't pop up in ones head like the above did with me.

    Were all these things talked about in detail on that 20 hr flight or the hours spent at the meeting? If so fine, I won't begrudge him going. But I seriously doubt that all of them were...especially while sitting at a desk talking about why he thinks Chicago should be picked and listening to others voice why they want their city picked.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  6. #16
    Sage
    disneydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:42 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,142

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    Was any other President critized for not going to bid for a US city in the Olympics? No? Then why would you suggest that this would be said of Obama? The only reason that it is being talked about now is because he did go. I doubt very seriously that it would have even been brought up otherwise.

    In my mind Obama going was plain stupid. He has far more on his plate to be dealing with than a chance for some stupid games to come to the US. Like the economy, health care, job rates, illegal immigration, crime rates in the US, Afghanistan, Iraq, N. Korea, Israel, Iran, space program (IMO the space program is very important for the future of humans), education, and no doubt other things which just don't pop up in ones head like the above did with me.

    Were all these things talked about in detail on that 20 hr flight or the hours spent at the meeting? If so fine, I won't begrudge him going. But I seriously doubt that all of them were...especially while sitting at a desk talking about why he thinks Chicago should be picked and listening to others voice why they want their city picked.
    Obama is constantly criticized by the wacko fringe for things that other Presidents haven't. What makes you think this would be any different?

    Hell....don't you remember, they even criticized him for the beer that he chose.

    These whiners will cry out of both sides of their mouth either way....its actually quite comical watching them. They are too predictable.
    Last edited by disneydude; 10-06-09 at 10:12 AM.
    <font size=5><b>Its been several weeks since the Vegas shooting.  Its it still "Too Early" or can we start having the conversation about finally doing something about these mass shootings???​</b></font>

  7. #17
    pirate lover
    liblady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    St Thomas, VI
    Last Seen
    03-14-16 @ 03:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    16,165
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    Since Obama went in support of Chicago as an Olympic city, the complaints have been coming fast and furious that Obama has improper priorities. The claim is that since Obama has not authorized more troops for Afghanistan as General McChrystal has requested, and has went to Copenhagen to support the Olympic bid, his priorities are misplaced. Is this a far argument?
    it's a ridiculous argument. most of us are able to work on more than one project at a time.

    Originally Posted by johnny_rebson:

    These are the same liberals who forgot how Iraq attacked us on 9/11.


  8. #18
    Klattu Verata Nicto
    LaMidRighter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Louisiana
    Last Seen
    07-21-17 @ 02:42 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    30,534

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by disneydude View Post
    Obama is constantly criticized by the wacko fringe for things that other Presidents haven't.
    That is complete and utter bull****. Obama is being criticized for:
    1) Spending - Every President since FDR has taken flak from at least one side for spending.
    2) Handling Afghanistan, Reagan, G.W. Bush, and now Obama have all had issues with that country, as did Carter.
    3) Grandstanding- Clinton took flak for appearing on talk shows during his campaign, the famous saxaphone joke is still priceless, Obama is STILL campaigning, THAT is what he is getting **** for, any other claim would be very disingenuous.
    4) Healthcare - one side doesn't want federal encroachment, the other does, so every president for at least the last 30 years has heard non-stop bitching over that one.
    5) Arrogance - both sides have claimed that against the other's president since FDR.
    6) Federal/SCOTUS appointments - Bork, Thomas, Sotomayor, etc. have all come across partisan scrutiny.

    If you can't see that Obama is actually getting much better treatment than the left gave G.W. Bush and Reagan you are blind, and this "poor Obama" schtick is nothing more than whining from the left, don't want your candidate scrutinized? Too damn bad, this is politics.
    Neither side in an argument can find the truth when both make an absolute claim on it.

    LMR

  9. #19
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Redneck Riviera
    Last Seen
    07-09-11 @ 06:11 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,728

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    I"m one of those who has been rather critical, frankly. I voted for Obama. Getting the Olympics for Chicago is definitely not on my list of priorities that I wanted him to work on.

    Furthermore, sending the president ANYWHERE overseas is an expensive proposition for the U.S. Taxpayers. Did the Chicago bid committee pick up the tab?
    Last edited by Catz Part Deux; 10-06-09 at 10:39 AM.

  10. #20
    Klattu Verata Nicto
    LaMidRighter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Louisiana
    Last Seen
    07-21-17 @ 02:42 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    30,534

    Re: Is This a Fair Complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Catz Part Deux View Post
    I"m one of those who has been rather critical, frankly. I voted for Obama. Getting the Olympics for Chicago is definitely not on my list of priorities that I wanted him to work on.
    The IOC got more of the president's time than our generals in Afghanistan, I'd say it's fair to state that there are some priority problems.
    Neither side in an argument can find the truth when both make an absolute claim on it.

    LMR

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •