View Poll Results: Which numbers are worse for Democrats?

Voters
9. You may not vote on this poll
  • Public opinion numbers

    7 77.78%
  • Number of scientists defecting to the side of science

    2 22.22%
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

  1. #1
    Sage

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    America (A.K.A., a red state)
    Last Seen
    09-24-13 @ 11:19 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    7,317

    Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Democracy is two wolves and a sheep voting on what's for dinner (paraphrasing James Bovard).

  2. #2
    Guru
    Morality Games's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Last Seen
    05-24-16 @ 08:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    3,733

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    "Largely recovered" is vague, not to mention wrong.

    According to Walt Meier of the National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC), NASA satellite data shows that there has been a 50% decrease of perennial Arctic ice between February 2007 and February 2008.[53]

    While the cold winter did allow ice to re-cover much of the Arctic Sea surface area during the Winter of 2007/2008, conditions were far from normal as the pair of NASA images to the right reveals. The February 2008 ice pack contained much more young ice than the long-term average, and the total volume was arguably the lowest on record. In the past, more ice survived the summer melt season and had the chance to thicken over the following winter. In the mid- to late 1980s, over 20 percent of Arctic sea ice was at least six years old; in February 2008, just 6 percent of the ice was six years old or older.[54]
    A sad hodgepodge of opinions collected from different sources and contexts to create an impression opposite of the truth; scientists are not defecting. Opponents of action on climate change continue to inflate the numbers in anyway they can.

    I don't know how support for nuclear power plants can be interpreted as a repudiation of the idea of human-caused climate change.

    But I'm going to vote public opinion because public opinion causes bad things to happen all the time; the public opinion is confused and borderline schizophrenic.
    Last edited by Morality Games; 07-29-09 at 08:06 PM.

  3. #3
    Sage
    Oftencold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    A small village in Alaska
    Last Seen
    05-08-14 @ 10:53 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    5,044

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    The Scientists are unlikely to be swayed by base emotionalism again in their careers. They will have hopefully learned a lesson.

    The Public Opinion is much more volatile, largely due to its individuals being so anonymous. (Imagine how our posts would change if we had to attach our real names.)
    Quod scripsi, scripsi

  4. #4
    Educator a777pilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Flower Mound, in the basement
    Last Seen
    07-12-16 @ 07:53 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    646

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Politicians only care about themselves and the next election. So they care about the votes. There is not one of our Congress Critters that gives a damn about the environment or what any stinking scientist has to say.

    It's all about money and votes.
    I came into this world fighting, screaming and covered in someone else's blood. I have no problem going out the same way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •