View Poll Results: Read the Intro and Vote Accordingly

Voters
10. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    3 30.00%
  • No

    1 10.00%
  • I already think for myself (I am a conservative)

    6 60.00%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

  1. #1
    Sage

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    America (A.K.A., a red state)
    Last Seen
    09-24-13 @ 11:19 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    7,317

    Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    The global warming religion is collapsing in the face of actual science and public support is quickly vanishing:

    The Right-Wing Underground: Global Warming: The Left's War On Science Beginning to Unravel

    The question is, is there any amount of science that could shake your faith in this Luddite, anti-progress global warming religion?
    Last edited by aquapub; 05-11-09 at 08:32 AM.
    Democracy is two wolves and a sheep voting on what's for dinner (paraphrasing James Bovard).

  2. #2
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:38 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    48,252

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    When it came to global warming, I think both sides have put together impressive propaganda. What it comes down to is that global temperatures are rising, this is measured. Is it 100% human's fault? No, not in the least. While we have a huge impact on the environment and such, we can not override large global trends. Is it 0% human's fault? Probably not, while we still will see these overall global trends in weather, humans do have an impact; it's not 0. There's no doubt that we have some sort of influence. I don't think we need to go overboard with things like Kyoto which would have turned pollution into a commodity. Nor, if we are interested in curbing the human impact can we not hold other country's like China to the same standards we'd hold the more industrialized world. There are things to look at and technologies which pollute less to explore; and we should be looking into these forms of energy. Progress alone would dictate that one, renewable energy sources and more clean sources. So I don't think we should ignore that we can have an impact, it's nowhere near 100% human's fault. We should strive to increase our energy knowledge and find better ways to produce it as well. But I don't think we need to engage in global warming scare tactics to try to force people into thinking that this upward trend in temperature was caused purely by human influence.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  3. #3
    Guru
    tlmorg02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Louisville, Ky
    Last Seen
    07-23-15 @ 09:48 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    3,347

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by aquapub View Post
    The global warming religion is collapsing in the face of actual science and public support is quickly vanishing:

    The Right-Wing Underground: Global Warming: The Left's War On Science Beginning to Unravel

    The question is, is there any amount of science that could shake your faith in this Luddite, anti-progress global warming religion?
    I, with the first responder believe that many factors contribute to global warming. Natural trends as well as pollution are warming the climate. However, I feel that man, as good stewarts of the earth should work to reduce pollution and resist the urge to act as a virus by consuming all of the resources of this planet without restraint. If one simply reads Jared Diamonds work, "Collapse," one may see that by over consuming resources, many cultures have led themselves to extinction. I am not one for over- alarmism, but I do feel that efficiency and responsibility are vital.

  4. #4
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:38 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    25,629

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    While it's clear that humans have had some impact on worldwide climate, it's nowhere near as bad as the Chicken Littles pretend. So much of the "global warming" nonsense is wrapped up in a get-rich scheme, carbon credit nonsense, there are people getting rich off of other people's stupidity and that's why they keep the hype and paranoia going, they're making a bundle.
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! The Bitchspot Blog YouTube me! The Bitchspot Channel

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    09-22-10 @ 02:36 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    11,430

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by Ikari View Post
    When it came to global warming, I think both sides have put together impressive propaganda. What it comes down to is that global temperatures are rising, this is measured.
    No. What it comes down to is that global temps have risen.

    They're declining now.

    That is measured. Why else would the global warming fascists start calling it "global climate change" or some other BS, but still retain as the only "solution" their demand for complete and total control of CO2 emissions? Allegedly CO2 is a critical factor in global warming, not "climate change".

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    09-22-10 @ 02:36 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    11,430

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by Cephus View Post
    While it's clear that humans have had some impact on worldwide climate, it's nowhere near as bad as the Chicken Littles pretend. So much of the "global warming" nonsense is wrapped up in a get-rich scheme, carbon credit nonsense, there are people getting rich off of other people's stupidity and that's why they keep the hype and paranoia going, they're making a bundle.
    It's not clear at all. If the globe heats up while humanity is doing it's thing, and then the globe cools down while humanity is doing it's thing, the same thing, in fact, where's the connection between human activity and global response? There's none apparent.

  7. #7
    Sage
    Laila's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Last Seen
    05-17-16 @ 11:03 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    10,095

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Our activities as a race has affected this earth. That is undeniable.
    There are habitats, natural habitats of animals in danger because of said activities.
    Do we have a duty for the next generation? Absolutely.
    This is our only Earth, we do not have a spare one. However much the right try and convince themselves of otherwise and no, it will not fix itself.


  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Last Seen
    04-02-15 @ 04:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    8,211

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by Laila View Post
    Our activities as a race has affected this earth. That is undeniable.
    There are habitats, natural habitats of animals in danger because of said activities.
    Do we have a duty for the next generation? Absolutely.
    This is our only Earth, we do not have a spare one. However much the right try and convince themselves of otherwise and no, it will not fix itself.
    What does any of this have to do with AGW?

  9. #9
    Sage
    Laila's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Last Seen
    05-17-16 @ 11:03 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    10,095

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by Ethereal View Post
    What does any of this have to do with AGW?
    Nothing, just always wanted to say it. Continue


  10. #10
    Liberal Fascist For Life!

    Redress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:20 AM
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    86,471
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Why does the phrase "push poll" pop into my head?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •