View Poll Results: Read the Intro and Vote Accordingly

Voters
10. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    3 30.00%
  • No

    1 10.00%
  • I already think for myself (I am a conservative)

    6 60.00%
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

  1. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    09-22-10 @ 02:36 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    11,430

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by Laila View Post
    Our activities as a race has affected this earth. That is undeniable.
    There are habitats, natural habitats of animals in danger because of said activities.
    Do we have a duty for the next generation? Absolutely.
    This is our only Earth, we do not have a spare one. However much the right try and convince themselves of otherwise and no, it will not fix itself.
    Acutally, it's always fixed itself, even after 90% of the biosphere has crashed, or 60%, or 80%, depending on which mass extinction event you're most interested in. Absolutely no reason to believe it wouldn't recover from the minor impact we've had.

  2. #12
    Enemy Combatant
    Kandahar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Last Seen
    10-15-13 @ 06:47 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    20,688

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    As I mentioned a couple months ago, the scientific evidence for human-caused global warming does seem to be a bit weaker today than it was a couple years ago.

    I realize that there are some plausible global warming hypotheses that don't necessarily require the earth to have warmed over the last ten years...but most of them were developed after the fact to explain this. Good hypotheses need to be able to predict the results in advance. I'm not saying that humans don't have any affect on local climates (obviously we do). But on the specific issue of whether humans are causing the overall global temperature to rise...I've moved from a "Yes we do" viewpoint to a "Wait and see" viewpoint. The evidence just seems to be getting weaker for that conclusion.
    Last edited by Kandahar; 05-11-09 at 03:37 PM.
    Are you coming to bed?
    I can't. This is important.
    What?
    Someone is WRONG on the internet! -XKCD

  3. #13
    Sage
    jamesrage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A place where common sense exists
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,197

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by aquapub View Post
    The global warming religion is collapsing in the face of actual science and public support is quickly vanishing:

    The Right-Wing Underground: Global Warming: The Left's War On Science Beginning to Unravel

    The question is, is there any amount of science that could shake your faith in this Luddite, anti-progress global warming religion?
    I think that no amount of logic will ever convince the man made global warming fairy tale believers that they are wrong. Instead of actually calling it global warming they will call it "climate change" or "man made climate change". If you pay attention to the news on tv they have already started calling it "climate change". If they call it "climate change" or "man made climate change" then it doesn't matter if the weather gets colder, hotter or doesn't change in some areas(because they will claim that other areas are still effected). They will still find a way to be able to use this man made global warming scam as a means to fraudulent tax people and make them buy more expensive so-called eco friendly products under the false guise of saving the planet or go into the carbon credit scam. Weather patterns change naturally no matter how minute or how severe the changes.
    Last edited by jamesrage; 05-12-09 at 07:48 AM.
    "A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murder is less to fear"

    Cicero Marcus Tullius

  4. #14
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    38,554

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Public Opinion vs. Scientific Data..........hmmmmmmmmmmmmm tough call.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  5. #15
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    13,947

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Public Opinion vs. Scientific Data..........hmmmmmmmmmmmmm tough call.
    What is it like 50% of the public when polled doesn't believe in Evolution?
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  6. #16
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    38,554

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    What is it like 50% of the public when polled doesn't believe in Evolution?
    Well obviously you add a few YouTube links, WorldNetDaily articles, Op-Eds and one line quotes devoid of the context they were written in and you've got yourself a VERY convincing argument against science.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  7. #17
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    13,947

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Well obviously you add a few YouTube links, WorldNetDaily articles, Op-Eds and one line quotes devoid of the context they were written in and you've got yourself a VERY convincing argument against science.
    I love how aquapub states the left has a war against science. As if his bunch is not the ones that are pushing garbage like "intelligent design", "flood geology", "wise use movement", "carbon dating is inaccurate", and "there are no transitional fossils".

    There definitely is a war against science in this country, but its certainly not on the part of the left.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  8. #18
    Sage

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Goldsboro,PA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:17 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    5,422
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Brilliant logic and reasoning; the scientific evidence is conveniently ignored and decisions will be made based on public opinion..
    Brilliant .....allowing "public opinion" to dictate policy...

  9. #19
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    38,554

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    I love how aquapub states the left has a war against science. As if his bunch is not the ones that are pushing garbage like "intelligent design", "flood geology", "wise use movement", "carbon dating is inaccurate", and "there are no transitional fossils".

    There definitely is a war against science in this country, but its certainly not on the part of the left.
    I find it off that somebody from the ideology that has a considerably percentage of people in it who believe that the Earth was created 5,000 years ago would have the nuts to say anybody on the left is waging war against science.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  10. #20
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    13,947

    Re: Public Opinion Turning Against Global Warming Almost as Quickly as Science

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    I find it off that somebody from the ideology that has a considerably percentage of people in it who believe that the Earth was created 5,000 years ago would have the nuts to say anybody on the left is waging war against science.
    Now don't misrepresent their position. They do not believe the earth and universe is just 5000 years old. One would have to be a complete idiot to believe that. Its clear from Old Testament genealogies that the earth is around 6,500 years old.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •