View Poll Results: Fireworks... your opinion?

Voters
52. You may not vote on this poll
  • Love 'em. Go watch every chance I get.

    22 42.31%
  • Only like 'official' shows. Individuals should be prohibited.

    1 1.92%
  • Meh. Don't really care one way or another.

    16 30.77%
  • Don't get the excitement. Seen one, seen 'em all.

    7 13.46%
  • Hate 'em. Should be banned completely!

    3 5.77%
  • Other.

    3 5.77%
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 80 of 80

Thread: Fireworks... your opinion?

  1. #71
    Sage
    Kreton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 05:04 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    5,920

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by shrubnose View Post
    A lot of dead people would agree with you.

    Talk to this guy: Man shoots off firework from top of his head, dies instantly

    When you have idiots fooling with fireworks you're going to have deaths and injuries.
    Cant protect people from themselves.
    “Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.”
    Stephen R. Covey


  2. #72
    Educator HorseLoverGirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lexington North Carolina
    Last Seen
    08-24-15 @ 06:43 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    1,207

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Like the professional fireworks shows, after A Capitol Fourth would not be the same without them! Used to enjoy sparklers as a kid at 4th of July parties with family friends but my neighbors have to shoot the stupid things off every year! Scares my dog to the point of hiding under the bed all night.

    What I absolutely HATE are the fireworks at the state fair! Sure they're pretty and everything but American Saddlebreds are skittish horses! To make matters worse they shoot the stupid things off from the pond right across the street from the horse show arena. I took my horse to the fair once, NEVER AGAIN! Well medical issues prevent her from staying overnight in unfamiliar surroundings anyway, so that's the main reason why she is retired. Still she went berserk when the fireworks went off. She's always been a spooky mare to begin with though. Anyway one of her stablemates had to have cotton shoved into his ears or he would go berserk. Someone else had to load their horses onto the trailer every night and drive around in Raleigh so they wouldn't flip out.
    Life is short, ride a horse

  3. #73
    Educator HorseLoverGirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lexington North Carolina
    Last Seen
    08-24-15 @ 06:43 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    1,207

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by radcen View Post
    That guy is not worthy of being included in the "That's a tragic accident" category. That guy committed unintentional-but-voluntarily suicide by gross stupidity and should not be included in serious discussion.
    Sounds more like a Darwin Award winner.
    Life is short, ride a horse

  4. #74
    Educator HorseLoverGirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lexington North Carolina
    Last Seen
    08-24-15 @ 06:43 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    1,207

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by shrubnose View Post
    A lot of dead people would agree with you.

    Talk to this guy: Man shoots off firework from top of his head, dies instantly

    When you have idiots fooling with fireworks you're going to have deaths and injuries.
    Darwin Award!
    Life is short, ride a horse

  5. #75
    Sage
    shrubnose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:21 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    17,155
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kreton View Post
    Cant protect people from themselves.


    Some people will always find a way to injure and/or kill themselves no matter how many protective laws/safeguards society puts in place.

  6. #76
    Sage
    shrubnose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:21 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    17,155
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by HorseLoverGirl View Post
    Darwin Award!


    This story is an excellent example of what happens when you mix lots of alcohol with fireworks.

    Most sober people don't launch fireworks from the top of their head.

    And few drunk people who do live to tell the tale.

  7. #77
    Neoconservative RINO/DINO
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    23,559

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by shrubnose View Post
    A lot of dead people would agree with you.

    Talk to this guy: http://news.yahoo.com/police-man-sho...135937499.html

    When you have idiots fooling with fireworks you're going to have deaths and injuries.
    Would be funnier on video.
    "We all of us know down here that politics is a tough game. And I don't think there's any point in being Irish if you don't know that the world is going to break your heart eventually."-Daniel Patrick Moynihan, December 5, 1963

  8. #78
    Sage
    Mason66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:13 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    15,378

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gaius46 View Post
    You ever watch "Idiot Abroad"? It's a British show about a guy who hates travelling who gets sent to various places to essentially be a travel writer (videographer - whatever). One place he goes to is Mexico. All I can say is that those guys are nuts with the fireworks.

    For me. I don't care one way or the other.
    That is odd because they are illegal where I am and I couldn't even find sparklers for the kids at the BBQ.

    Did I mention I live in Mexico?

  9. #79
    Phonetic Mnemonic ©
    radcen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Look to your left... I'm that guy.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:58 PM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    26,633

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mason66 View Post
    That is odd because they are illegal where I am and I couldn't even find sparklers for the kids at the BBQ.

    Did I mention I live in Mexico?
    ...but if you deal drugs you can get all kinds of weapons.
    Huntsman / Kasich 2020

  10. #80
    Sage
    Mason66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:13 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    15,378

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by radcen View Post
    ...but if you deal drugs you can get all kinds of weapons.
    That is right. There is no rhyme or reason to the things that happen here.

    Fireworks, if you can call them that, are available near Christmas time, not legally though, so I am going to have to buy them and save them for the 4th.

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •