View Poll Results: Fireworks... your opinion?

Voters
52. You may not vote on this poll
  • Love 'em. Go watch every chance I get.

    22 42.31%
  • Only like 'official' shows. Individuals should be prohibited.

    1 1.92%
  • Meh. Don't really care one way or another.

    16 30.77%
  • Don't get the excitement. Seen one, seen 'em all.

    7 13.46%
  • Hate 'em. Should be banned completely!

    3 5.77%
  • Other.

    3 5.77%
Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 80

Thread: Fireworks... your opinion?

  1. #51
    Hot Flash Mama
    Summerwind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Last Seen
    09-17-16 @ 10:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    11,009

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Korimyr the Rat View Post
    I don't care about fireworks one way or the other, but I'm pretty passionate that they should be legal for regular citizens.
    Depends on the climate and conditions. My son was to go play with some kids near July 4th one day, and for whatever reason I had a really bad feeling about it, so said no. I had no idea what was planned by the boys, just had a really bad feeling. Fortunately for me, my kids believed in my "bad feelings" as they had panned out to be accurate a number of times before, and my son honored not going.... Yeah, the boys decided to do fireworks, mostly illegal due it being a desert with the nearby (within one or two steps) dry foothills, and they caught north Boise on fire. Their parents paid out the arse for that, I was so glad it wasn't me. Anyway, my point is that there are places where fireworks are just so stupid and could cause so much damage that they should be illegal.
    jallman: "It's all good. At least you have a thick skin and can take being poked fun back at without crying. "

  2. #52
    Sage

    Peter King's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Last Seen
    11-27-16 @ 05:14 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    11,556

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    hate them, especially the blasting kind with nothing but a bang (and no beauty).

    But I do not think it should be banned. Preferably I would love official shows only but do not think people should be limited in such a manner if they enjoy setting off fireworks. But it has to be done to very strict laws, as strict as possible. In the Netherlands firework shows are done by city council's etc. on King's Day and consumer fireworks is only allowed to be sold in the 3 days before the 31st of December but is illegal to be used until the 31st of December from 18.00 in the evening until 02.00 on the 1st of January (so all in all 8 hours).

    You can only use fireworks bought in the Netherlands (due to our product safety laws) which is not as powerful as those sold (for example) in Belgium. Smuggling it across the border, storing it in an unsafe way and selling illegally imported fireworks can lead to jail and heavy fines. Setting it off before 18.00 on the 31st of December will lead to fines or alternative punishments (especially for underage offenders).
    If his own campaign does not trust him with a twitter account, how can anyone trust Donald Trump with the nuclear codes?

  3. #53
    Sage
    Chomsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Third Coast
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:24 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    11,881

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    I'm an American.

    I love stuff that goes, "BOOM"!

    'Nuff said.
    "When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross." - Sinclair Lewis

    The 10 Commandments of Logic - (Courtesy of Abbazorkzog Blog)

  4. #54
    Your Huckleberry
    Lachean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In my quad FPV
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 05:56 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    11,573

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    I find the prohibition of them, especially on the day to celebrate independence and liberty, particularly depressing and hypocritical.

    On this day I say, To those whose view of liberty is merely being free to do as they are told, go **** yourself.

    From the state of Maryland, where our 2nd Amendment right to bear arms does not extend beyond our doorframes and the best fireworks we can lawfully wield are sparklers designed for children...
    Who left the fridge open?

  5. #55
    Global Moderator
    The Hammer of Chaos
    Goshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dixie
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:48 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    40,968

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Wow, been lots of Freedom sounds around this evening. Everybody and his brother celebrating their liberty.


    Carefully I hope.



    We didn't have a professional show this year locally; the local Nat'l military park boss and the town leaders had a falling out over it. Pity, the fire dept put on some really nice ones in years past.


    But the local folks almost made up for it in volume in not quality.

    Fiddling While Rome Burns
    Carthago Delenda Est
    "I used to roll the dice; see the fear in my enemies' eyes... listen as the crowd would sing, 'now the old king is dead, Long Live the King.'.."

  6. #56
    Chews the Cud
    Amadeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Benghazi
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    6,081

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    How am I supposed to know how to vote without a left-leaning / right-leaning qualifier? A pox on your house.

  7. #57
    Dungeon Master
    Veni, vidi, dormivi!
    spud_meister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Didjabringabeeralong
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    32,941
    Blog Entries
    8

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Here, they're all illegal. I like to giggle at stories of people permanently scarring themselves because they're drunk and ****ing around with shoddy, illegal fireworks.
    "To waste, to destroy, our natural resources, to skin and exhaust the land instead of using it so as to increase its usefulness, will result in undermining in the days of our children the very prosperity which we ought by rights to hand down to them."~ Theodore Roosevelt (Message to Congress, Dec. 3, 1907)

  8. #58
    Neoconservative RINO/DINO
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:10 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    23,543

    Fireworks... your opinion?

    Potential dangerous fun that should be supervised by adults and regulated during dry conditions.

    I'm playing party pooper this year though. I caught sickness a couple days before today and would get a lot of folks sick, including babies...so I'm staying behind.
    "We all of us know down here that politics is a tough game. And I don't think there's any point in being Irish if you don't know that the world is going to break your heart eventually."-Daniel Patrick Moynihan, December 5, 1963

  9. #59
    Sage
    KevinKohler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    CT
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 09:06 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    13,463
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    My kids love them.
    "Half full or half empty doesn't matter. What matters is, you've only got half a glass...so what are you going to do about it?" - Me
    www.kohlerimaging.com

  10. #60
    Actually I am.

    Superfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East Coast
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    19,388

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    My kids went out tonight to a fireworks show on the waterfront, but Hubs and I stayed home and watched reruns of The Newsroom.

    My dog went nuts when the idiots in my neighborhood started shooting off firecrackers, but she eventually got used to it.
    Quote Originally Posted by Chomsky
    It's easy to be a Conservative, until you need help.
    Quote Originally Posted by OrphanSlug
    Asking Sarah Palin to head up the Department of Education is like asking Hitler to head up a human rights advocacy group.

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •