View Poll Results: Fireworks... your opinion?

Voters
52. You may not vote on this poll
  • Love 'em. Go watch every chance I get.

    22 42.31%
  • Only like 'official' shows. Individuals should be prohibited.

    1 1.92%
  • Meh. Don't really care one way or another.

    16 30.77%
  • Don't get the excitement. Seen one, seen 'em all.

    7 13.46%
  • Hate 'em. Should be banned completely!

    3 5.77%
  • Other.

    3 5.77%
Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 80

Thread: Fireworks... your opinion?

  1. #41
    Anti-Hypocrite
    molten_dragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:22 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    8,789

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    I like setting them off a lot more than I like watching them. Watching professional shows is almost never worth dealing with the crowd.

    I limit setting them off to the 4th, and New Year's Eve though, and get annoyed at the people who set them off for weeks leading up to the 4th.
    If you build a man a fire, he'll be warm for a day.

    If you set a man on fire, he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

  2. #42
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    28,860

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    And they will too.

  3. #43
    Sage
    shrubnose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:49 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    17,170
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Fireworks are dangerous.

    Here's a small example: Haywire fireworks fly into Colo. crowd, injure 9 at show - NY Daily News

    No matter who's setting them off fireworks are always dangerous.

  4. #44
    Guru

    MACS-24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    11-25-16 @ 06:26 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    3,004

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by shrubnose View Post
    Fireworks are dangerous.

    Here's a small example: Haywire fireworks fly into Colo. crowd, injure 9 at show - NY Daily News

    No matter who's setting them off fireworks are always dangerous.
    No one said Freedom was free of danger. You just can't regulate accidents.
    A shell accidentally exploded in its tube instead of in the sky, sending a rack of shells to tip over at the show in Avon, about 100 miles west of Denver, Town Manager Virginia Egger said.
    "The crowd was exceptional in its calm response to what could have been a much more serious incident," Deputy Chief Greg Daly said in a statement, noting it was the first "failure in production" of the "spectacular fireworks display" in 29 years.

  5. #45
    Sage
    shrubnose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:49 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    17,170
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by MACS-24 View Post
    No one said Freedom was free of danger.
    You just can't regulate accidents.


    Wrong.

    You can totally prevent 'accidents' with fireworks by staying far away from them.

    Pretty frickin' simple.


  6. #46
    Guru

    MACS-24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    11-25-16 @ 06:26 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    3,004

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by shrubnose View Post
    Wrong.

    You can totally prevent 'accidents' with fireworks by staying far away from them.

    Pretty frickin' simple.

    You are taking your ridiculous to further extremes. So the fireworks will magically set themselves up? That way everyone will always be far away therefore zero accidents. Then again I did not say anything about prevent Okay carry on.

  7. #47
    Global Moderator
    The Hammer of Chaos
    Goshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dixie
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    41,009

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gardener View Post
    I live in a hilly area surrounded by trees, we have been experiencing a drought and it was 100 degrees yesterday. A few days ago, our venerable old baseball stadium burned to the ground replete with a wall of flames estimated at nearly 100 feet high. Luckily, it was not in my hilly, forested area, otherwise the fire would have consumed too many houses to count.

    When our city council voted to ban fireworks in certain areas, they did so, not to limit people's ability to play at their OWN risk, but to play at the risk of others.


    a municipality can ban something for safety reasons if they want.


    The risk is there yes. Freedom and safety are often opposing variables; how much of one vs the other is an ongoing debate.

    Fiddling While Rome Burns
    Carthago Delenda Est
    "I used to roll the dice; see the fear in my enemies' eyes... listen as the crowd would sing, 'now the old king is dead, Long Live the King.'.."

  8. #48
    Magic!

    Cardinal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    24,594

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gardener View Post
    I live in a hilly area surrounded by trees, we have been experiencing a drought and it was 100 degrees yesterday. A few days ago, our venerable old baseball stadium burned to the ground replete with a wall of flames estimated at nearly 100 feet high. Luckily, it was not in my hilly, forested area, otherwise the fire would have consumed too many houses to count.

    When our city council voted to ban fireworks in certain areas, they did so, not to limit people's ability to play at their OWN risk, but to play at the risk of others.
    I completely forgot about the drought. I wonder how anywhere in California can justify the use of fireworks.

  9. #49
    son of perdition
    d0gbreath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Denton, TX
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    7,339

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cardinal View Post
    I completely forgot about the drought. I wonder how anywhere in California can justify the use of fireworks.
    I saw on the news last night, that on the average, 18,000 fires are started in the USA by fireworks every July 4th.

    When I was a teen in NE, we used to drive down to Missouri every year and buy M-80s in a plain brown bag from under the counter. The last year that we went down there, we got imitation ones that were an M-80 outside red packaging with a lady finger firecracker hidden inside. We were bummed. When the ladyfinger didn't pop, it would just shoot out a ton of sparks, Like the one that I threw into the tall dry grass at a favorite lake resort in NE (teen hangout).

    Trees 40 feet tall were ablaze. Thank God that the fire fighters were able to put that fire out before it burned up the whole place. I've always felt bad about that big mistake.

    EDIT: I think I post this every year. lol
    The Democrats haven't been this upset since The Drumpf feeled their wives!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. #50
    Hot Flash Mama
    Summerwind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Last Seen
    09-17-16 @ 10:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    11,009

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cardinal View Post
    Mexicans love the **** out of fireworks. It's just been nonstop fireworks around here for a week, and probably will be for another week.
    That's almost exactly what I was going to say. I've not figured out why, but Christmas, New Years, Cinco de Mayo, and the weeks leading up to and after are filled around here with fireworks going off. I seriously don't get it, but it's safer than some countries, mostly in the ME iirc, where they shoot guns in the air to celebrate. So I don't get excited about it, just confused.
    jallman: "It's all good. At least you have a thick skin and can take being poked fun back at without crying. "

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •