View Poll Results: Fireworks... your opinion?

Voters
52. You may not vote on this poll
  • Love 'em. Go watch every chance I get.

    22 42.31%
  • Only like 'official' shows. Individuals should be prohibited.

    1 1.92%
  • Meh. Don't really care one way or another.

    16 30.77%
  • Don't get the excitement. Seen one, seen 'em all.

    7 13.46%
  • Hate 'em. Should be banned completely!

    3 5.77%
  • Other.

    3 5.77%
Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 80

Thread: Fireworks... your opinion?

  1. #31
    Phonetic Mnemonic
    radcen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Look to your left... I'm that guy.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:14 AM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    26,572

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by ObamacareFail View Post
    I tend to avoid polls that do not include the response I would have checked. In my case, I enjoy fireworks when I do see them however I do not go out of my way to attend each and every fireworks event. And I do not think their use should be restricted to government officials.
    You honestly could not think of anything to fit "Other"? Seriously?

    I swear, some people...
    Huntsman / Kasich 2020

  2. #32
    Winged Eel Fingerling
    beefheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    The burning sands of the desert southwest.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    14,907

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cardinal View Post
    Mexicans love the **** out of fireworks. It's just been nonstop fireworks around here for a week, and probably will be for another week.
    In Hawaii, they are crazy...light a whole string of crackers and throw them off the roof of a hotel.
    Ich habe schon Pferde vor der Apotheke kotzen sehen.

  3. #33
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Chicago Illinois
    Last Seen
    10-14-15 @ 07:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Private
    Posts
    56,981

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by radcen View Post
    I used to have a dog that was a good hunting dog and wasn't fazed by gun fire, but was scared to death of fireworks.
    Mine has been around when I fired mine. He didn't shake from that. But the fireworks he just can't deal with. Especially the quarter sticks. He runs and hides under the bed if they pop off like a few at a time. Last night he had a little bit of time to deal with. Today and tonight will be troublesome for him. But I will have all the TV's in the House up loud and will do my best to help him. Even if it means jamming the stereo and making my neighbors windows shake.

  4. #34
    free market communist
    Gardener's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Last Seen
    08-12-16 @ 12:15 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    26,661

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Goshin View Post
    I like professional shows myself. Some of the stuff they can make those sky rockets do these days is quite impressive.



    But individual fireworks is fine too.... freedom: play at your own risk.



    :

    I live in a hilly area surrounded by trees, we have been experiencing a drought and it was 100 degrees yesterday. A few days ago, our venerable old baseball stadium burned to the ground replete with a wall of flames estimated at nearly 100 feet high. Luckily, it was not in my hilly, forested area, otherwise the fire would have consumed too many houses to count.

    When our city council voted to ban fireworks in certain areas, they did so, not to limit people's ability to play at their OWN risk, but to play at the risk of others.
    "you're better off on Stormfront discussing how evil brown men are taking innocent white flowers." Infinite Chaos

  5. #35
    I'm colorblind. Are you?
    Lovebug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    12-01-16 @ 11:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Private
    Posts
    3,972

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    If people would use common sense I would like them more. As is, I prefer organized fireworks, if at all. They are nothing more than a nuisance to me, don't care to watch, never ever buy any.

  6. #36
    Sage
    ObamacareFail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 02:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    10,425

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by americanwoman View Post
    The difference is I don't do it late at night when people are sleeping.
    I sleep right through it. I just tune it out.

  7. #37
    Sage
    ObamacareFail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 02:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    10,425

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by clownboy View Post
    Yeah, and screw the neighbors and anyone within listening distance, right? What's the difference here between this and cranking up the boombox to max on your front lawn late at night?

    Fun for you, but for all those folks trying to catch some uninterrupted sleep before work early tomorrow morn, not so much.
    The fireworks do not bother me. The boom boxes do. The kids and young adults that install them in their cars are morons. Not only does it damage their hearing, it eventually vibrates loose many of the bolts that hold the car body together.

  8. #38
    Sage

    ocean515's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Southern California
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:13 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cardinal View Post
    Mexicans love the **** out of fireworks. It's just been nonstop fireworks around here for a week, and probably will be for another week.
    Absolutely true. It will be a war zone in Southern California tonight. Seriously. 99% illegal. Hey, what's another law to break?
    President Donald J Trump, 45th President of the United States of America. A victory born in the hearts and minds of Everyday Americans

  9. #39
    Sage
    ObamacareFail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 02:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    10,425

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by radcen View Post
    You honestly could not think of anything to fit "Other"? Seriously?

    I swear, some people...
    Don't swear. It's rude!

  10. #40
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    28,710

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    I love watching fireworks, and I'll have a free show tonight and probably tomorrow night too because I live in the country, where it's legal to set them off. Lots of "pasture parties" tonight too, I'm sure. But there is a 20% chance of rain I'm hoping for so I don't have to hose down my roof.

    And I won't touch fireworks myself except sparklers. I didn't listen to my parents when I was 13 and nearly blew off my hand with a firecracker. And that was that.

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •