View Poll Results: Fireworks... your opinion?

Voters
52. You may not vote on this poll
  • Love 'em. Go watch every chance I get.

    22 42.31%
  • Only like 'official' shows. Individuals should be prohibited.

    1 1.92%
  • Meh. Don't really care one way or another.

    16 30.77%
  • Don't get the excitement. Seen one, seen 'em all.

    7 13.46%
  • Hate 'em. Should be banned completely!

    3 5.77%
  • Other.

    3 5.77%
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 80

Thread: Fireworks... your opinion?

  1. #21
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    14,981

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    They're fun! Been shooting them off all week. I like the bottle rockets the best, too bad they're illegal here but nothing an hour drive to Missouri can't fix.
    Is what you're living for today, worth dying for tomorrow?
    _____________________________________________

  2. #22
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Chicago Illinois
    Last Seen
    10-14-15 @ 07:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Private
    Posts
    56,981

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by radcen View Post
    I could not care less. Seen one, seen them all.

    I also get annoyed when people in my neighborhood set them off and scare the dogs, but then again I'm getting older and am *this close* to yelling at kids for walking too close to my lawn.

    I don't care for them that much anymore, and they do bother my dog. To the point that he shakes non-stop when they blow them off around here. Won't stop shaking until they are done. He literally has to be held and be close to somebody. Which is usually me. The Vet gave us some pills to calm him down due to shaking so bad. But they really don't stop him from shaking.

    So really I will be glad when these next couple of days are over. He definitely can't stand the quarter sticks being blown off.

  3. #23
    Global Moderator
    Moderator
    Helix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:56 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,227

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    i like the professional shows. idiots setting buildings on fire, not so much. i used to be big time into the flying rocket fireworks until i burned the **** out of my hand one year. the year after that, i hung out with friends who were also doing dumb **** with fireworks. these days, it's mostly sparklers and small fountain fireworks at this 20. I'm generally afraid that some idiot in my neighborhood is going to set my roof on fire, as well. i'm not to the point that i want them banned, but i'm approaching the point where i wouldn't bitch if they did ban them. people act like absolute morons with fireworks within city limits.

  4. #24
    Phonetic Mnemonic
    radcen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Look to your left... I'm that guy.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:56 PM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    26,539

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by MMC View Post
    I don't care for them that much anymore, and they do bother my dog. To the point that he shakes non-stop when they blow them off around here. Won't stop shaking until they are done. He literally has to be held and be close to somebody. Which is usually me. The Vet gave us some pills to calm him down due to shaking so bad. But they really don't stop him from shaking.

    So really I will be glad when these next couple of days are over. He definitely can't stand the quarter sticks being blown off.
    I used to have a dog that was a good hunting dog and wasn't fazed by gun fire, but was scared to death of fireworks.
    Huntsman / Kasich 2020

  5. #25
    Sage
    ObamacareFail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:32 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    10,422

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by radcen View Post
    Fireworks... your opinion? See poll.

    Elaborate, if you wish.
    I tend to avoid polls that do not include the response I would have checked. In my case, I enjoy fireworks when I do see them however I do not go out of my way to attend each and every fireworks event. And I do not think their use should be restricted to government officials.

  6. #26
    Sage

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:00 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    73,219

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Outside of officially sponsored shows put on by professionals - I would ban them all.
    __________________________________________________ _
    There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year old's life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves orcs.... John Rogers

  7. #27
    Sage
    clownboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Oregon
    Last Seen
    08-17-16 @ 08:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    26,087

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by americanwoman View Post
    They're fun! Been shooting them off all week. I like the bottle rockets the best, too bad they're illegal here but nothing an hour drive to Missouri can't fix.
    Yeah, and screw the neighbors and anyone within listening distance, right? What's the difference here between this and cranking up the boombox to max on your front lawn late at night?

    Fun for you, but for all those folks trying to catch some uninterrupted sleep before work early tomorrow morn, not so much.
    Roberts wrote: "If you are among the many Americans -- of whatever sexual orientation -- who favor expanding same-sex marriage, by all means celebrate today's decision. ... But do not celebrate the Constitution. It had nothing to do with it."

  8. #28
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    28,145

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  9. #29
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:25 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    26,188

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    I really don't care. It was fun when the kids were young but now, nobody cares one way or the other. If you can't set them off yourself, I don't see the point at all.
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! The Bitchspot Blog YouTube me! The Bitchspot Channel

  10. #30
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    14,981

    Re: Fireworks... your opinion?

    Quote Originally Posted by clownboy View Post
    Yeah, and screw the neighbors and anyone within listening distance, right? What's the difference here between this and cranking up the boombox to max on your front lawn late at night?

    Fun for you, but for all those folks trying to catch some uninterrupted sleep before work early tomorrow morn, not so much.
    The difference is I don't do it late at night when people are sleeping.
    Is what you're living for today, worth dying for tomorrow?
    _____________________________________________

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •