View Poll Results: What is your opinion of civil forfeiture?

Voters
10. You may not vote on this poll
  • Positive

    0 0%
  • Negative

    9 90.00%
  • Unsure

    1 10.00%
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Opinion of Civil Forfeiture

  1. #1
    Educator SocialDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    The beautiful Pacific Northwest
    Last Seen
    05-18-16 @ 03:30 PM
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    922

    Opinion of Civil Forfeiture

    Essentially legalized thievery by the government, utterly terrible.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Civil_..._United_States
    Last edited by SocialDemocrat; 06-24-15 at 04:58 AM.
    Social democrat is no longer an accurate description of my views.

  2. #2
    User Eclectic Seeker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Somewhere
    Last Seen
    04-12-16 @ 04:30 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    29

    Re: Opinion of Civil Forfeiture

    An unjust law that is too often abused. Our nation cannot be truly free so long as the government steals from its own citizens.

  3. #3
    Sage
    Kreton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Last Seen
    04-25-17 @ 02:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    5,992

    Re: Opinion of Civil Forfeiture

    I understand taking property from criminals who have obtained the property illegally. That makes sense to me. The problem I have is that a person suspected of a crime, not a person convicted of a crime, can be targeted with this law. People who are hit with this, who have not been found guilty of any crime, then have to prove that they are not a criminal. It is a huge overstepping of the authority our government is supposed to have.
    “Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.”
    Stephen R. Covey


  4. #4
    Professor
    HowardBThiname's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    America's Heartland
    Last Seen
    08-19-16 @ 03:47 PM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    1,955

    Re: Opinion of Civil Forfeiture

    Quote Originally Posted by SocialDemocrat View Post
    Essentially legalized thievery by the government, utterly terrible.
    I wholeheartedly agree with you. Unfortunately, the SCOTUS has upheld civil forfeiture in some cases and now it's misused by many departments.
    "Nothing can stop the man with the right mental attitude from achieving his goal; nothing on earth can help the man with the wrong mental attitude." ~ Thomas Jefferson

  5. #5
    A grand violation

    Cardinal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    29,640

    Re: Opinion of Civil Forfeiture

    Quote Originally Posted by HowardBThiname View Post
    I wholeheartedly agree with you. Unfortunately, the SCOTUS has upheld civil forfeiture in some cases and now it's misused by many departments.
    I would say that its use is misuse. It is the most comically anti-constitutional law I'm aware of, and if I had to choose just one ruling that made me doubt my understanding of the constitution at all, the USSC's decision allowing civil forfeiture would be it.

  6. #6
    Sage
    jamesrage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A place where common sense exists
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 08:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    30,284

    Re: Opinion of Civil Forfeiture

    Quote Originally Posted by SocialDemocrat View Post
    Essentially legalized thievery by the government, utterly terrible.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Civil_..._United_States

    Civil forfeiture is nothing more than theft. One of the reasons they use civil courts is because civil trials have a lower standard of proof than criminal trials do. Forfeiture should never happen without a criminal conviction of the individual who is accused of making that money or assets illegally. The idea that they can just sue the item itself is ludicrous and should be illegal.No one sues the gun, knife,baseball bat or some other weapon used in a murder, assault or other criminal trial.
    "A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murder is less to fear"

    Cicero Marcus Tullius

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •