View Poll Results: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

Voters
81. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes Obama has been a Great President

    13 16.05%
  • No Obama has not been a Great President

    62 76.54%
  • I'm mad about this poll.

    6 7.41%
Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 179

Thread: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    06-27-15 @ 03:50 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Private
    Posts
    2,191

    Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Has Obama been a Great President?


  2. #2
    Sage

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Texas, Vegas, Colombia
    Last Seen
    11-28-16 @ 05:38 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    20,295

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    great?... no.

    average?... sure, why not.

  3. #3
    cynical class clown
    Luftwaffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    CONNECTICUT
    Last Seen
    12-01-16 @ 08:42 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    He hasn't been a bad president.

    However, great does not come to mind.
    -----MOS 19D = cavalry scout = best damn MOS there is

  4. #4
    The Dude
    Kobie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Western NY
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:59 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    37,928

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Great? Absolutely not. "Adequate" is the best term I can think of.
    Freedom of speech is not freedom from criticism.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Last Seen
    07-19-15 @ 05:33 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    972

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    For those who obviously haven't been paying attention to anything but the Left Wing media apologists for his adminsistration from Day One, here is a synopsis of his presidency up to the time of the writing of this article.

    Obama’s Staggering Record of Failure
    Peter Wehner | @Peter_Wehner 04.24.2014 - 3:15 PM

    "...It’s not simply that Mr. Obama has fallen short of what he promised; it’s that he has been, in so many respects, a failure.

    Choose your metrics.

    Better yet, choose Mr. Obama’s metrics:

    Job creation.

    Economic growth.

    Improving our health-care system.

    Reducing the debt.

    Reducing poverty.

    Reducing income inequality.

    Slowing the rise of the oceans.

    Healing the planet.

    Repairing the world.

    The Russian “reset.”

    Peace in the Middle East.

    Red lines in Syria.

    Renewed focus on Afghanistan.

    A new beginning with the Arab world.

    Better relations with our allies.

    Depolarizing our politics.

    Putting an end to the type of politics that “breeds division and conflict and cynicism.”

    Working with the other party.

    Transparency.

    No lobbyists working in his administration.

    His commitment to seek public financing in the general election.


    The list goes on and on.
    https://www.commentarymagazine.com/2...rd-of-failure/

  6. #6
    Sage
    Captain America's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 07:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    17,237

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Better than we've had in a while but I would hardly call him great. Certainly a lot better than the dittohead haters try to make him out to be.

    It's GREAT to be me. --- "45% liberal/55% conservative"
    Diplomacy is the art of saying 'nice doggy" until you can find a gun.

  7. #7
    Professor WSUwarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Last Seen
    03-21-16 @ 02:34 PM
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    1,864

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    He has been the greatest US President that Al Sharpton, a GITMO prisoner, a terrorist group, a brutal dictatorship, or the 1% could ever wish for.
    "Opportunity does not come knocking. It is usually running down the street, you have to chase and tackle it." - Sheriff David Clarke, Milwaukee County.

  8. #8
    Uncanny
    Paschendale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York City
    Last Seen
    03-31-16 @ 02:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    12,510

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    "Great" is often a title awarded to someone who navigates a crisis or deals with extraordinary circumstances. The crises that Obama has had to deal with (and dealt with just fine) are rather ordinary for this time and place in history. "Great" tends to come from circumstance.

    Obama has been a good president. I don't agree with his policy when he compromises on liberal values, but that doesn't make him worse at the job.
    Liberté. Égalité. Fraternité.

  9. #9
    Sage
    Visbek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 06:13 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    6,739

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tazmanian Devil View Post
    For those who obviously haven't been paying attention to anything but the Left Wing media apologists for his adminsistration from Day One, here is a synopsis of his presidency up to the time of the writing of this article.
    For those who obviously haven't been paying to the real world because they're in a right-wing news bubble....

    Job creation.
    He did about as good a job as any President can do. In case you missed it:
    - labor force participation rates started to fall in 2001, long before he came into office
    - LFPR has been flat lately
    - we're back to more or less full employment
    - he did pretty much save the US auto industry, which is doing fairly well now

    I'd say average in this respect.


    Economic growth.
    How many positive quarters have we had in a row?

    How much better is the US doing than the EU and China?

    Again, average performance.


    Improving our health-care system.
    How many millions of Americans now have health insurance after the ACA passed?

    Whose law gave us guaranteed issue, let young adults stay on their parents' insurance until age 26, and is slowly closing the Medicare "donut hole"?

    Single payer would've been much better, and he should've pushed harder for it. C'est la guerre.


    Reducing the debt.
    lol

    Bush 43 policies (including cutting taxes while waging 2 massive wars, a ridiculous act of fiscal irresponsibility) and a devastating downturn left the federal government with huge liabilities and falling revenues. Despite that, the deficit has fallen steadily during his term. hmmm


    Reducing poverty. Reducing income inequality.
    Oddly enough, the best way to do these things is to increase taxes on the wealthy, improve safety nets for the poor, and increase minimum wages. I'm sure the Republicans in Congress were backing him 100% on those policies. Oh wait...


    Slowing the rise of the oceans. Healing the planet. Repairing the world.
    Again, almost all such efforts are stymied by Republicans. Kudos!


    The Russian “reset.”
    Yes, I'm sure Obama is telling Putin what to do. (Nor did any other President do a better job at dealing with Putin.)


    Peace in the Middle East. Red lines in Syria. Renewed focus on Afghanistan.
    Uh huh. No matter what happened in that respect, he'd get bashed for it. If we stayed in Iraq and/or Afghanistan, it'd be an endless quagmire. If we send ground troops to Syria, he'd be a war-mongerer who got us into another quagmire. When we stayed out of Libya, it was decried as a disaster, by politicians who had no interest in sending US troops to Libya.

    Can you really imagine John McCain (!) or Mitt Romney (!!) doing a better job in the Middle East? I can't. It's not like the last 5 Presidents (2 Democrats, 3 Republicans) did any better.


    Depolarizing our politics. Working with the other party.
    lol

    Yes, over a decade of mostly (but not exclusively) Republicans pushing for polarization. Obama's fault!


    Transparency. No lobbyists working in his administration. His commitment to seek public financing in the general election.
    He's definitely blown those. He also flubbed the foreclosure crisis, which is inexcusable. Financial services also aren't as well-regulated as they should be.

    I'm sure that any President would have a similar track record. Bush 43 might be a bit worse, since iirc he started out as more isolationist, but events beyond his control derailed that impulse.

  10. #10
    Sage
    mike2810's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    arizona
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 09:44 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    13,140

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Great - No.

    average at best.

Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •