View Poll Results: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

Voters
81. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes Obama has been a Great President

    13 16.05%
  • No Obama has not been a Great President

    62 76.54%
  • I'm mad about this poll.

    6 7.41%
Page 7 of 18 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 179

Thread: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

  1. #61
    Left the building
    Fearandloathing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada Dual citizen
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    15,685

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Captain America View Post
    I shutter to think. Certainly wouldn't wanna go back in time, before Obama. Obama's done a pretty good job as far as I'm concerned. But you can keep hatin'. That's cool.
    Classic.

    Criticism becomes "hate".

    It's old, in fact moldy. The guy blew it, lied, and screwed it.

    yeah, I know, you call that 'hate'.
    "Small people talk about people, average people talk about events, great people talk about ideas" Eleanor Roosevelt

  2. #62
    Educator
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Last Seen
    11-25-16 @ 02:46 AM
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    848

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by ernst barkmann View Post
    he is a violator of the constitution as many other presidents have done.....

    our last true constitutional president was Grover Cleveland.
    When the whole thing goes belly up, the indoctrinated will be told who to blame... they certainly aren't capable of figuring anything out on their own.

    What a mess has become or our once great nation

    With ya on Grover Cleveland...

  3. #63
    Sage
    Captain America's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    17,192

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by sawdust View Post
    How's he doing with ISIS, Libya, Syria, Turkey, Egypt? How's our zero growth economy, Wall Street supported by Fed pumping? Hows that low unemployment rate backed up by 92 million out of the labor market? Finally, hows the longest recovery from recession in our history, even longer than the depression?
    Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?-crosseye-jpg

    It's GREAT to be me. --- "45% liberal/55% conservative"
    Diplomacy is the art of saying 'nice doggy" until you can find a gun.

  4. #64
    Sage
    Mycroft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:53 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    21,173

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Captain America View Post
    I shutter to think. Certainly wouldn't wanna go back in time, before Obama. Obama's done a pretty good job as far as I'm concerned. But you can keep hatin'. That's cool.
    You betray yourself...your inability to see things objectively...when you take the easy way out and assume disagreement with a politician's actions and agenda means hatred for the politician himself.

    That pretty much makes anything you think about the man worthless.
    TANSTAAFL
    -I don't trust a man who talks about ethics when he's picking my pocket.- Time Enough For Love - Robert A Heinlein
    My avatar created by Feliza Estrada estrada.feliza@yahoo.com

  5. #65
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 12:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    My stocks have gone up like 400% under his presidency. So much as I didn't vote for him and I think obamacare sucks....I give him a positive grade.

    This trade deal he's working on is a plus as well

  6. #66
    Sage
    Captain America's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    17,192

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mycroft View Post
    You betray yourself...your inability to see things objectively...when you take the easy way out and assume disagreement with a politician's actions and agenda means hatred for the politician himself.

    That pretty much makes anything you think about the man worthless.
    As worthless as your opinion?

    Just call me Joe Dirt then.

    Dang!
    Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?-joedirt1-jpg

    It's GREAT to be me. --- "45% liberal/55% conservative"
    Diplomacy is the art of saying 'nice doggy" until you can find a gun.

  7. #67
    Anti-democracy advocate
    Master PO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    China - teaching grasshopper
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:30 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    26,858

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    My stocks have gone up like 400% under his presidency. So much as I didn't vote for him and I think obamacare sucks....I give him a positive grade.

    This trade deal he's working on is a plus as well
    i am not going to blame him, but you cannot make money on interest for years now, if interest rates do rise watch the market go down.
    Anti-Democracy advocate, Mixed government is the only good government

    THE
    second point to be examined is, whether the [constitutional ]convention were authorized to frame and propose this mixed Constitution.


  8. #68
    Sage
    Visbek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 04:38 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    6,666

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mycroft View Post
    Your cheerleading for more and more big government doesn't impress me...and it certainly doesn't impress the majority of Americans. If it did, Obama wouldn't have approval rating that have been in the tank since the Democrats got shellacked in 2010.
    Yeah, don't let a little thing like facts get in your way.

    Obama had an exceptionally high job approval rating at the start of his term, as most do. Most of the time, it's hovered in the 40-50% range. During the 2012 election -- y'know, the one where he got re-elected after passing the ACA -- his popularity shot up to around 56% briefly, and then settled back into the low 40's.

    In comparison, the allegedly small-government Bush 43 started off lower (around 60%), went through the roof after 9/11, and consistently eroded down to 30%, where it flattened at that point throughout 2009.

    We should also note that the American public is, well, a bit conflicted when it comes to Big Government. In the abstract, they want less government; when we get to particulars, they want the same or more. An oldie but a goodie:



    The only thing Americans want to cut is foreign non-military aid -- which, by the way, is around 1% of federal spending.


    In any case, most of these improvements you've laid at Obama's feet are improvements we've seen in spite of Obama.
    Right, like those sequestration cuts, which cannot be attributed to Obama, unless it's politically expedient for Republicans to do so, which they can also turn around and attribute to Republicans in Congress when the deficit falls. Straight as a pretzel.


    Take that "Consumer confidence is hitting 11-year highs", for example. That is primarily because of falling gas prices.
    Or not. Confidence cratered in 2007, and aside from a big dip in winter 2011, has grown gradually since that low point. Gas prices are a part of it, but so is the bump in wages, several years of positive GDP growth, the drop in unemployment, the slow healing of real estate markets, a gradually recovering economy and so forth. In fact, those falling gas prices have put a slight damper on confidence in some areas, as energy sector workers are concerned about their livelihoods.




    Sorry, but Obama had nothing to do with that. In fact, if he'd had his way gas prices would be a LOT higher than they are now.
    Funny thing is, he DID have something to do with it. Not much, but: His main target for pollution controls has been the coal industry, not the oil industry. He has not gotten in the way of oil or natural gas production. The focus on renewables and natural gas has put a small dent in oil consumption, which in turn frees up supplies for other uses like gasoline. He has also, so far, resisted calls to increase federal gas taxes.

    Obama Reluctant To Raise Federal Gas Tax : NPR

    Those pesky fact things keep getting in the way, hey?


    Just think how good things would be if Obama had just done his job and enforced the law and not try to "fix" things.
    Uh huh. If he did what you wanted, we'd have....

    - About 16 million less people with health insurance
    - health care costs would be higher than they are now
    - seniors saved around $11.5 billion on prescription medications, because the Medicare "donut hole" was closed
    - about 1 million auto workers and numerous companies kept their jobs
    - no oversight of consumer credit agencies
    - we might not have a president who supports gay marriage
    - probably would not get anywhere near a deal with Iran to curb their nuclear weapons program

    Again, he has done a poor job in a few areas as well, including but not limited to:
    - transparency
    - handling the foreclosure crisis
    - drone strikes
    - clamping down on improper interrogation techniques

    For similar reasons, many people in this thread are saying he is pretty much average. But overall, I'd say his effects do tilt a little more into positive territory than negative.

  9. #69
    Sage
    Mycroft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:53 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    21,173

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Visbek View Post

    Uh huh. If he did what you wanted, we'd have.... (I've snipped the issues I've already addressed...I really don't want to repeat myself)


    - health care costs would be higher than they are now
    That's a supposition I don't really think you can adequately make, but the fact is health care costs are higher that Obama and his buddies told us they would be...much to the surprise to the people who believed what they said.

    Regarding health insurance premiums -

    How many Americans will pay higher insurance premiums as a result of Obamacare?

    That's the question posed by Congress to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, or CMS. More specifically, Congress required the Chief Actuary of CMS to give an estimated count of the number of Americans who will pay more, and how many will pay less as a result of three sections of the Public Health Service Act that were amended by the Affordable Care Act, commonly known as Obamacare. And now the numbers are in.

    11 million examples of paying more
    Actuaries with the government agency estimate that around 11 million individuals will pay higher rates because of the health reform law's impact. Six million Americans will pay less as a result of Obamacare.

    11 Million Examples of Obamacare's Higher Costs (ESRX, WBMD)
    ObamaCare 2015: Harvard faculty outraged over health care hikes

    (watch the video...quite illuminating)

    ObamaCare 2015: Harvard faculty outraged over health care hikes | Fox News

    Regarding health care costs -

    The Health Care Cost and Utilization Report found that health care spending averaged $4,864 per enrollee in 2013, up $183 from the year before.

    Falling utilization helped mask continued growth in health care prices, authors of the report state.

    The analysis uses claims data from three of the nation's largest health insurance providers, looking at claims for nearly 40 million Americans who are covered by employer-sponsored health insurance. This group in 2013 accounted for more than 27 percent of the U.S. insured population.

    Use of brand prescription drugs, inpatient admissions and outpatient services declined in 2013. Still, average prices increased for all three categories, and at higher rates than in 2012.

    Americans Using Less Health Care But Spending More Despite Obamacare Promises - US News
    So, in spite of the pie-in-the-sky predictions and lofty desires from Obama and his buddies, Obamacare is just making things worse...and people are feeling it in their pocketbooks. Perhaps that's why they STILL don't like Obamacare.

    - no oversight of consumer credit agencies
    LOL!!

    It was oversight...or, more accurately, politically induced pressure from Democratic lawmakers that got us in trouble. We don't need more oversight. We need big government to let the market work.

    - we might not have a president who supports gay marriage
    Ummm...do you mean before...or after...he changed his politically-wind-driven mind? LOL!!

    - probably would not get anywhere near a deal with Iran to curb their nuclear weapons program
    Are you dreaming???

    Obama...the foreign policy lightweight...isn't getting any deal...near or not...with Iran.


    You might as well face it. Obama has pretty much been a lousy President.
    TANSTAAFL
    -I don't trust a man who talks about ethics when he's picking my pocket.- Time Enough For Love - Robert A Heinlein
    My avatar created by Feliza Estrada estrada.feliza@yahoo.com

  10. #70
    Sage
    Visbek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 04:38 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    6,666

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mycroft View Post
    That's a supposition I don't really think you can adequately make, but the fact is health care costs are higher that Obama and his buddies told us they would be...
    Again, pesky facts get in your way. None of the ACA supporters said "the cost of medical care will stop growing completely," and spending has in fact slowed down. This was even cited as a factor in the low GDP for Q1 2014.


    Regarding health insurance premiums...
    Did you actually read the article?

    It discusses small businesses... and is dated March 1, 2014. It was an estimate of a policy that still hasn't kicked in yet.

    Meanwhile, the CBO has found that premiums have in fact risen more slowly than in the past, and this is (yet again) revising the cost of the law downward because... wait for it... the cost of care, including premiums, has slowed down compared to past years. It will save the government money in the long term, despite providing health care to more people.
    Obamacare’s projected cost falls due to lower premiums under health care law, CBO says - The Washington Post

    Projected Health Spending Has Fallen Since 2010, Even With Health Reform

    And no, I do not weep for a very small number of Hahvad profs who are upset over changes in their health care... nor does that actually prove anything about the larger trends.


    It was oversight...or, more accurately, politically induced pressure from Democratic lawmakers that got us in trouble. We don't need more oversight. We need big government to let the market work.
    Thank you for demonstrating that you have no idea what I'm referring to.

    I'm referring to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. In case you missed it, credit card agencies and retail banks have spent the past decade or so increasingly tightening the screws on consumers. Interest rates go up when you miss a car payment; banks routinely add small fees and costs; cell phone companies illegally bill customers, and so on. Left to their own devices, those financial actors have made life much worse for consumers. That's exactly the type of function government should handle -- it should set up and enforce rules that ensure consumers are treated fairly by financial institutions.


    Are you dreaming??? Obama...the foreign policy lightweight...isn't getting any deal...near or not...with Iran.
    Uh, no, I'm not dreaming. I'm reading the news, and it is not lost on anyone who is actually paying attention that Republicans in Congress are doing everything they can to torpedo the deal. Meanwhile, just talking to the government of Iran is a huge change.


    You might as well face it. Obama has pretty much been a lousy President.
    lol

    I can face the fact that people right of center decided, before Obama was sworn in, that he'd be a lousy president. No problem with that one.

Page 7 of 18 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •