View Poll Results: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

Voters
81. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes Obama has been a Great President

    13 16.05%
  • No Obama has not been a Great President

    62 76.54%
  • I'm mad about this poll.

    6 7.41%
Page 11 of 18 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 179

Thread: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

  1. #101
    Professor
    Penderyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    UK, Cymru mostly.
    Last Seen
    07-02-16 @ 06:59 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    1,618

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tazmanian Devil View Post
    Attachment 67186056

    Oh?

    Tell me about my racist masters.
    They are mostly in the Republican Party, but they include that ghastly Australian **** and other right-wing journalists, obviously. Mostly, though, they are the rich, who just want to see to it that you never stand up for yourselves, just shoot one another, as you know.

  2. #102
    Scientia Est Potentia


    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Last Seen
    @
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    5,855

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Great?

    Obama hasn't even been a middling president.

  3. #103
    Canadian Conservative
    CanadaJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 04:26 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    26,186

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    The first two years of the Obama presidency saw more major legislation passed than any time since the 89th Congress (the Great Society Congress). So if getting significant policy changes passed is your benchmark--and indeed the Great Society is your example--the list of presidents who stand toe-to-toe with LBJ on productivity and major legislation is fairly small. But Obama is on it.
    So again, you failed to identify a single piece of significant legislation that Obama championed and got both sides of Congress to follow him on. If you want to champion Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid as great leaders of their respective houses of Congress, I might buy in, but they had such overwhelming majorities in both houses it wasn't hard to get things done. And as your article points out, the legislation passed was so unpopular with the public at large that the Democrats were routed handily in almost unprecedented manner in the first election voters had a chance to punish them in. Not exactly what anyone would call great.
    Last edited by CanadaJohn; 06-23-15 at 08:46 AM.
    A Canadian conservative is one who believes in limited government and that the government should stay out of our wallets and out of our bedrooms.

  4. #104
    Guru
    Greenbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    New England
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    3,163

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by CanadaJohn View Post
    So again, you failed to identify a single piece of significant legislation that Obama championed and got both sides of Congress to follow him on. If you want to champion Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid as great leaders of their respective houses of Congress, I might buy in, but they had such overwhelming majorities in both houses it wasn't hard to get things done. And as your article points out, the legislation passed was so unpopular with the public at large that the Democrats were routed handily in almost unprecedented manner in the first election voters had a chance to punish them in. Not exactly what anyone would call great.
    If having major Congressional majorities to help your agenda get through and subsequently suffering major electoral losses are disqualifying, again I don't understand the LBJ love.

    For historical comparison, LBJ needed a 295-Dem House/68-Dem Senate in the 89th to get the Great Society through (JFK failed to get Medicare passed with a 264-Dem House/65-Dem Senate in the 87th Congress--his response was to ask the public to give him even larger majorities in the following midterm). Obama was working with 253/60 majorities.

    And despite having one of the most productive and significant sessions in history, the Democrats immediately lost 47 seats in the House after passing the Great Society agenda. And of course they lost the White House in the next presidential election--something Obama notably didn't.

    Your criteria don't seem to be very consistently applied.

  5. #105
    American
    cpgrad08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lakewood,WA
    Last Seen
    12-05-16 @ 03:26 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    5,114
    Blog Entries
    10

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Thrilla View Post
    great?... no.

    average?... sure, why not.
    I give him a "D" below average just above failing.

  6. #106
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Last Seen
    07-19-15 @ 05:33 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    972

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Penderyn View Post
    They are mostly in the Republican Party, but they include that ghastly Australian **** and other right-wing journalists, obviously. Mostly, though, they are the rich, who just want to see to it that you never stand up for yourselves, just shoot one another, as you know.
    You have it bass ackwards, mate.

    The Dems have been playing Blacks like a fiddle for more than 50 years. And look at the results we have seen from decades of Democratic governance in the Big Cities of America.

    You have been swallowing the wrong flavor of Kool Aide.

    Show me what makes you believe as you do.

  7. #107
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Last Seen
    07-19-15 @ 05:33 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    972

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    If having major Congressional majorities to help your agenda get through and subsequently suffering major electoral losses are disqualifying, again I don't understand the LBJ love.

    For historical comparison, LBJ needed a 295-Dem House/68-Dem Senate in the 89th to get the Great Society through (JFK failed to get Medicare passed with a 264-Dem House/65-Dem Senate in the 87th Congress--his response was to ask the public to give him even larger majorities in the following midterm). Obama was working with 253/60 majorities.

    And despite having one of the most productive and significant sessions in history, the Democrats immediately lost 47 seats in the House after passing the Great Society agenda. And of course they lost the White House in the next presidential election--something Obama notably didn't.

    Your criteria don't seem to be very consistently applied.
    Great Society was brilliantly designed to give the poor, and especially Blacks just enough to make us beholden and just enough to make us continue wanting the entitlements but the Democrats have gotten the MUCH BETTER end of the deal.

    They have OWNED US since the 1960's. And we now come to think of Democrats as having a guaranteed base of Black Voter Support.

    And they ain't no ways tired of shaking the tree and getting us to come a runnin.

    And you want to see how brainwashed and Pavlovian dog loyal and blind we are to the scam created by LBJ? Take the time and listen to what Mitt Romney actually told the NAACP in 2012 when he asked for the Black vote.



    We'd have been a damn sight better off if he'd had been elected than we are with Obama, any fool can see that, if you just hear what he had to say.

    EDIT: I swear that I get the same TYPE of emotional sensation listening to this speech as I get when I looked at JFK's speeches in 1963 before that fatal day in Dallas.

    In both cases I wonder just how much better America would have been had they survived their respective fateful November days.
    Last edited by Tazmanian Devil; 06-23-15 at 10:56 PM.

  8. #108
    Professor

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:40 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    2,497

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tazmanian Devil View Post
    How does one go about rightfully criticizing a Black President when deserved without incurring the knee-jerk response of racism from you?
    Realistically I would hold words you say with contempt based, well based on this:
    http://www.debatepolitics.com/conspi...lim-faith.html (Once again: Obama's Muslim Faith?)

    There is plenty of legitimate criticism to be given such as his partisanship(which can't be mentioned without noting republicans partisanship), lack of negotiation skills, and overall being a kind of weak handed president, though not a bad, terrible, awful president as some would say.
    Men do what they have to when they want to, Great men do what they have to, even when they don't want to.

  9. #109
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Last Seen
    07-19-15 @ 05:33 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    972

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fruityfact View Post
    Realistically I would hold words you say with contempt based, well based on this:
    http://www.debatepolitics.com/conspi...lim-faith.html (Once again: Obama's Muslim Faith?)

    There is plenty of legitimate criticism to be given such as his partisanship(which can't be mentioned without noting republicans partisanship), lack of negotiation skills, and overall being a kind of weak handed president, though not a bad, terrible, awful president as some would say.
    The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the World he didn't exist.

    And like that, *poof* he'll be gone.

    Having pulled off the greatest deception the world has ever seen and NEVER seen.

  10. #110
    Professor

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:40 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    2,497

    Re: Has Obama been a "Great" US President? (in your personal opinion)?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tazmanian Devil View Post
    The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the World he didn't exist.

    And like that, *poof* he'll be gone.

    Having pulled off the greatest deception the world has ever seen and NEVER seen.
    You are reinforcing my previous point. This theory belongs in the conspiracy section, and I assume it was moved there. How can you add to the discussion, when you believe something that is to its core, untrue.
    Men do what they have to when they want to, Great men do what they have to, even when they don't want to.

Page 11 of 18 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •