View Poll Results: What is your opinion of fomer British Prime Minister Tony Blair?

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • Positive

    3 18.75%
  • Negative

    10 62.50%
  • Neutral

    3 18.75%
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Opinion of Tony Blair

  1. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Last Seen
    07-10-14 @ 06:13 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    100

    Re: Opinion of Tony Blair

    Quote Originally Posted by SocialDemocrat View Post
    Mostly awful: responsible for ideological destruction of the British left, and eventually the international left (along with Clinton), supported the War in Iraq, holds an abominable record on civil liberties, and made unnecessary cuts to welfare. The introduction of a minimum wage was positive enough though.
    England's Clinton?

  2. #12
    Irremovable Intelligence
    Removable Mind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:13 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    23,527

    Re: Opinion of Tony Blair

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricatalian View Post
    But Bush surprised us all on Scooter Libby, didn't he?
    Rumor had it that it was a love triangle problem. Rove told Bush...Scooter has to go...or he would go. Soooooooo...

    Poor Scooter. But the White House staff chipped in and got him a year's supply of KY Jelly.

  3. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Last Seen
    07-10-14 @ 06:13 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    100

    Re: Opinion of Tony Blair

    Quote Originally Posted by Removable Mind View Post
    Rumor had it that it was a love triangle problem. Rove told Bush...Scooter has to go...or he would go. Soooooooo...

    Poor Scooter. But the White House staff chipped in and got him a year's supply of KY Jelly.
    LOL d t (if you're wondering why I added the "d" and the "t", I got a message saying I needed at least five characters to post - LOL was too short ...)

  4. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Last Seen
    01-12-16 @ 01:33 PM
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    260

    Re: Opinion of Tony Blair

    Tony Blair = Globalist wanker!

  5. #15
    Educator SocialDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    The beautiful Pacific Northwest
    Last Seen
    05-18-16 @ 04:30 PM
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    922

    Re: Opinion of Tony Blair

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricatalian View Post
    England's Clinton?
    Essentially.

    Quote Originally Posted by joG View Post
    Lots of people like to say that the US has a bad record of civil liberty. I think that one can say that, but it reveals an odd slant of mind or selective evaluation of the facts. I am sure that the NSA, for instance, mines data much more widely and efficiently than say the German authorities, for whom it is explicitly illegal to monitor the data. What they seem to have done, was to grant access to the American agencies to the data flow and then get the forbidden fruit information from the US. Now that Snowden published this incriminating stuff, the German reaction is to rile against the Americans, though, the illegal infringement of citizen rights was by German authorities and the Americans were only doing, what the representatives of the Germans had allowed them to do.

    Something like that is a rather substantial breach of civil rights by the local government. It is not registered as such by the local population, because the finger is pointed at others. In the US this is quite different and the civil rights issue with the US government is first page material. I have often found, when checking the indexes such as those you refer to, that the positive valuation of a country rested on this type of information asymmetry and that the reality was very different.
    Allowing the the U.S. government to perform surveillance on your citizens would be a breach of civil liberties, but I don't think it is to the extent of what the U.S. has done, both domestically and in other nations. The green on the map I referenced was regarding countries with "little to no" surveillance, so I suppose the type of civil liberty breach you are referring to is still classified as minimal surveillance because the government itself did not perform.
    Social democrat is no longer an accurate description of my views.

  6. #16
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:54 PM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    43,358

    Re: Opinion of Tony Blair

    Quote Originally Posted by SocialDemocrat View Post
    Essentially.



    Allowing the the U.S. government to perform surveillance on your citizens would be a breach of civil liberties, but I don't think it is to the extent of what the U.S. has done, both domestically and in other nations. The green on the map I referenced was regarding countries with "little to no" surveillance, so I suppose the type of civil liberty breach you are referring to is still classified as minimal surveillance because the government itself did not perform.
    I a not really sure I understand what you mean.

  7. #17
    Educator SocialDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    The beautiful Pacific Northwest
    Last Seen
    05-18-16 @ 04:30 PM
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    922

    Re: Opinion of Tony Blair

    Quote Originally Posted by joG View Post
    I a not really sure I understand what you mean.
    I don't think that what Germany has done regarding surveillance is anywhere near to the extent as large as the offenses committed by the United States (and Britain, since that's technically the topic of discussion here).
    Social democrat is no longer an accurate description of my views.

  8. #18
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:54 PM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    43,358

    Re: Opinion of Tony Blair

    Quote Originally Posted by SocialDemocrat View Post
    I don't think that what Germany has done regarding surveillance is anywhere near to the extent as large as the offenses committed by the United States (and Britain, since that's technically the topic of discussion here).
    That depends on the laws broken and the way the systems deal with it.

  9. #19
    Imposition of miscellany
    NoC_T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    11-25-17 @ 04:57 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    11,193

    Re: Opinion of Tony Blair

    An unqualified piece of ****. An absolute twat.

    His every furtive gesture is a pleasure to behold. His every haunted glance a marathon of joy.

    You could have had Europe, mother****er. Now live out what remains of your wretched existence bathed perpetually in a cold sweat, as you awaken night after night screaming from nightmares of Bush's cock, you ****ing scoundrel.

  10. #20
    Sage

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    10,344

    Re: Opinion of Tony Blair

    Quote Originally Posted by SocialDemocrat View Post
    Mostly awful: responsible for ideological destruction of the British left, and eventually the international left (along with Clinton), supported the War in Iraq, holds an abominable record on civil liberties, and made unnecessary cuts to welfare. The introduction of a minimum wage was positive enough though.
    I was going to vote neutral, but if he is responsible for the ideological destruction of the left, and made cuts to welfare, I vote positive.

    Don't like his minimum wage stance, though.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •