View Poll Results: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

Voters
39. You may not vote on this poll
  • Didn't like her before, still don't.

    26 66.67%
  • Didn't like her before, now I do.

    1 2.56%
  • Liked her before, still do.

    6 15.38%
  • Liked her before, now I do not.

    0 0%
  • It's a right wing conspiracy.

    6 15.38%
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 44

Thread: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

  1. #31
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Where I am now
    Last Seen
    09-11-17 @ 03:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    16,386

    Re: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

    Quote Originally Posted by tres borrachos View Post
    Interesting story. I had never heard that.

    The Free Beacon story cites a July 28, 1975 affidavit in which Clinton attacked the credibility of the young alleged victim, claiming that she was “emotionally unstable” and had a “tendency to seek out older men and engage in fantasizing.”



    Ah, so the victim deserved what she got, apparently.

    She went on in the affidavit: “I have also been told by an expert in child psychology that children in early adolescence tend to exaggerate or romanticize sexual experiences and that adolescents in disorganized families, such as the complainant’s, are even more prone to exaggerate behavior.”

    She added that the girl had “in the past made false accusations about persons, claiming they had attacked her body” and that the girl “exhibits an unusual stubbornness and temper when she does not get her way.”



    So the victim was just a little bitch?

    If this was Michelle Bachmann or Sarah Palin or any other right-leaning woman who was caught on tape saying these things and laughing about it, the left wing media would be all over it - and would not let it go. So would NOW and advocates of rape victims.

    Did I like her before? No. Do I like her less now? No, because nothing in this story surprises me. She is trash.

    I hope all of the women who have already declared their support for her in 2016 are proud of defending someone who thinks rape and getting off rapists is amusing.
    Great post, imo...sums it up for me.


    I am neither Rep or Dem...but the woman is, imo, STAGGERINGLY overrated.

    Her husband is intelligent, well educated, charming, cowardly, juvenile and slick (in a bad way)...and so (more or less) is she, imo.

    In other words, she cares (imo) FAR more about her career then just about anyone including America.
    Last edited by DA60; 06-22-14 at 04:27 AM.

  2. #32
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Last Seen
    06-30-16 @ 07:32 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    13,309
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

    I dislike her, but I don't see the issue. She was doing her job.

  3. #33
    Sage
    SmokeAndMirrors's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    RVA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:25 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,170

    Re: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

    Gee, sure is interesting how some people have gone from essentially defending rapists and saying women all lie about it to suddenly being so very concerned about Hillary's supposed callousness towards a likely rape survivor... when it suits their political interest. Rape is a political tool now, apparently.

    Anyway, as many others have pointed out, the OP is pretty disingenuous; there isn't any indication she finds the whole rapist thing funny going by the actual recordings. She certainly could be -- defense attorneys are often famously messed up people. But nothing here actually shows that.

    I don't particularly care for Hillary to begin with. She certainly doesn't represent my views, on the whole. At least not where her actions are concerned. She's just another politician playing the game, and I'm sick to death of that. I am also sick to death of presidential dynasties. We don't need another Clinton.

    But this non-evidence doesn't change anything for me.

  4. #34
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

    I wasn't exactly a big Hilary fan to begin with, but yes, this most definitely changes MY opinion of her. I am definitely biased when it comes to child abuse, knowing some of the things I know about it, so whenever I hear something like this, subconsciously I have an immediate reaction of distrust and bad feelings towards her. I know I might be wrong, but that is my gut reaction. So yes, when I hear things like this (especially if it has ANYTHING to do with children/teens), then my feelings are going to change about that person. Can't help it.

  5. #35
    Sage
    sangha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lower Hudson Valley, NY
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 05:48 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    59,990

    Re: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

    Quote Originally Posted by laska View Post
    Not sure on this but it seems she may be saying that this guy she went to see in NJ would testify the way you wanted him to testify if he was "interested" in the case, which may be code word for being paid.
    I didn't get that from the interview. My take-away was that the guy liked to disprove other people's findings. It sounded like an ego thing for him

    If so, she basically stated she knew the man on trial for rape was guilty
    I think it's pretty clear from the interview that she thought he was guilty

    She also shows a lack of empathy for the victim, who is a child. It would show someone with a win at all cost character. More concern with winning than justice.
    This is a common misconception of criminal defense attorneys. Our criminal justice system, being an adversarial system, requires people (specifically lawyers) to argue both sides of case as forcefully as possible regardless of their own personal beliefs about guilt and innocence. It is the defense lawyers duty to use any and all arguments (as long as they're legally allowed) that might get their client off because the prosecutor is certainly going to do the same. There can't be justice if one side gives a full court press while the other side puts up a token effort.
    Quote Originally Posted by matchlight View Post
    Justice Thomas' opinions consistently contain precise, detailed constitutional analyses.
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeger19 View Post
    the vast majority of folks that need healthcare are on Medicare.. both rich and poor..

  6. #36
    Sage
    JumpinJack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Last Seen
    05-12-17 @ 10:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,628

    Re: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

    The Daily Beast is a partisan site known for shilling incorrect information. Do you have a legitimate source? Transcription of a tape? An AP report quoting a source who was present at the time? If not, this story is likely not true, in teh first place.

  7. #37
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

    Quote Originally Posted by JumpinJack View Post
    The Daily Beast is a partisan site known for shilling incorrect information. Do you have a legitimate source? Transcription of a tape? An AP report quoting a source who was present at the time? If not, this story is likely not true, in teh first place.
    In the link is another link to the source, in the first paragraph.

    The Hillary Tapes | Washington Free Beacon

  8. #38
    Guru

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    United States
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    3,223

    Re: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

    Quote Originally Posted by sangha View Post
    I didn't get that from the interview. My take-away was that the guy liked to disprove other people's findings. It sounded like an ego thing for him



    I think it's pretty clear from the interview that she thought he was guilty



    This is a common misconception of criminal defense attorneys. Our criminal justice system, being an adversarial system, requires people (specifically lawyers) to argue both sides of case as forcefully as possible regardless of their own personal beliefs about guilt and innocence. It is the defense lawyers duty to use any and all arguments (as long as they're legally allowed) that might get their client off because the prosecutor is certainly going to do the same. There can't be justice if one side gives a full court press while the other side puts up a token effort.
    I wish I could take back my post as it can be interpreted in different ways. "And so the, sort of the story through the grapevine was if you get him interested in the case then you know you had the foremost expert in the world willing to testify so that it came out the way you wanted it to come out."

  9. #39
    Sage
    sangha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lower Hudson Valley, NY
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 05:48 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    59,990

    Re: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

    Quote Originally Posted by laska View Post
    I wish I could take back my post as it can be interpreted in different ways. "And so the, sort of the story through the grapevine was if you get him interested in the case then you know you had the foremost expert in the world willing to testify so that it came out the way you wanted it to come out."
    I assumed that what would "get him interested" was an opportunity to prove the other side wrong about the evidence and that the "it" in "so that it came out the way you wanted it" referred to the case and not any manipulation of the experts testimony.

    In this case, the expert testified honestly about his belief as to why the evidence didn't support the prosecutors claim, which resulted in the evidence being tossed out. As a result, the case turned out the way Hillary wanted it to turn out (ie the accused was found not guilty due to a lack of evidence)

    But that's just my take-away
    Quote Originally Posted by matchlight View Post
    Justice Thomas' opinions consistently contain precise, detailed constitutional analyses.
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeger19 View Post
    the vast majority of folks that need healthcare are on Medicare.. both rich and poor..

  10. #40
    Almost respectable

    Cardinal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    35,043

    Re: Does this change your opinion of Hillary?

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    In the link is another link to the source, in the first paragraph.

    The Hillary Tapes | Washington Free Beacon
    The link inside the story is fine. It's the interpretation of the audio that's skewed to hell and back.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •