View Poll Results: What is your opinion of this rant?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • I fully believe all our asses are owned

    6 22.22%
  • I mostly believe all our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I somewhat believe our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I do not believe it at all

    7 25.93%
  • It's all about right vs. left!

    0 0%
Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 146

Thread: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

  1. #81
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,635

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    And that is just ****ing stupid. Demographics don't make a nation great. There is nothing about the demographics of the US that would prevent it from being great.
    Eh, someone with whom you may disagree (but certainly isn't in the doom and gloom business) named Ben Wattenberg concluded demography is important, however, things are looking up for the U.S. in the mid-term because of it.

    Ben Wattenberg: America's 21st-Century Population Edge - WSJ.com
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  2. #82
    Supreme knower of all
    CLAX1911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Houston, in the great state of Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:59 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,154

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Juanita View Post
    You sound like a young idealist....
    Young is a relative term I am 37, and I am proud to be calledan idealist. If the world has more idealists perhaps it would be closer to the ideal place.
    Back in the 60s, people did stand up-- they picketed, protested, boycotted and even rioted, but they accomplished a lot.
    Nothing ha changed but the people have given up hope.
    Since then, except for perhaps the environmentalists, people seldom do that..Actually, they seldom even pay attention.
    Yes, they listen to assclowns like Carlin who preaches things he knows to be false while taking money from the stooges that cheer him on. Thus they give up hope. Because it's too hard.
    If the government wants your property, they are going to get it and there won't be a dam thing that you can do about it.
    It's a good thing this defeatist attitude wasn't around during the revolution. That is the message I dispose because it's untrue. We are the government, the officials can't take anything from us. We are armed and they are afraid. That is the way it ought to be. I see that have coerced you into being their subject, how sad.
    Have you looked at your credit history lately? Every payment that you have ever made to anybody for the past 7-10 years, is listed in the 3 credit report agencies.... In minute detail..If you were late once, it is listed. They know everything about you and it is used against you or for you, depending on your history.
    They only know what I spend my money on. That doesn't stop my heart from beating.
    How is it possible that this group has so much information about you? How did this happen? Any employer, business, landlord can access this information at any time.
    How is it possible they could harm you in any way with this information? They know things about you, who cares, it isn't a gun pointed at your head. Sothey really have no power unless you give it up.
    They can also access any criminal history that you may or may not have.....Whatever happened to privacy? You are an open book!!!!
    Knowing things about you doesn't end you. There were people that were hung and burned at the stake shot to death in trenches in some foreign hell hole so you would have the right to stand up.

    Some bully knows your secrets and you sit down and shut up? A man stood in front of a battalion of tanks, prepared to get smashed by them. And knowing your credit history makes you surrender? I think the fellow in front of the tank put way more on the line.

    How easy it would be to defeat people that surrender because somebody knows something, it isn't even deadly or the least bit threatening.

    They will take my property over my dead body. And if it means I die, so be it. I would rather die for something than live for nothing.
    It's okay to be white

  3. #83
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,635

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    I think many of the wealthy classes believe they are so because they are more deserving and have worked harder or smarter than those who haven't achieved it. So for the most part when they claim some noble by-product springs from their selfish actions it's really just a rationalization.
    There's many like that yes, but I could just as easily talk about how there's the sense among those who are not in the upper-mid to higher rungs, that those above them don't deserve their position in society and that they are essentially estranged from the country as a whole.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  4. #84
    Light△Bender

    grip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ☚ ☛
    Last Seen
    12-04-17 @ 04:12 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,186
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Middleground View Post
    Please watch this video and give me your opinion on this George Carlin rant. Please do not vote without watching the full 3 minutes.
    I've lived around the rich and I've seen the movies about their lifestyles. And they are a club and I wouldn't want to pay their cost to join. Phony, pretentious, self serving jerkoff's, as a rule. It's a clique and if you don't know their rules, they won't play with you or help you get more money. Their lives are so controlled, boring and predictable. Lots of money doesn't make your problems go away, it gives you a new set of crappier ones.

    All that being said, I really think I'd be different, so I'd like to try.
    Last edited by grip; 03-29-14 at 12:42 AM.
    Einstein, "science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind."

  5. #85
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,635

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Thorgasm View Post
    I like you, dude. But to be honest, you are coming across a little unhinged here in this thread. Calm down.

    Seriously though, the Government has tanks and attack helicopters. The Government rules the propaganda machine. Most people are not critical thinkers. Most people believe whatever confirms their preconceived notions. As long as people have their internet and smart phones, they aren't going to "rock the boat". People as a whole are hopeless with regards to their apathy about the state of things currently. That could change, but as of right now, it doesn't look that way. This is why Congress has an 11% approval rating and a 97% re-election rate. People are easy to mislead.
    You know what one perspective seems to be missing in this thread? The one that advocates that while it is highly desirable to see the economy gain strength and to have the lower and middle classes have a renewed sense of confidence, is the system actually that bad?

    Personally, I am content. From my angle, all I am seeing is the rest of you folks merely disagreeing on who is making the country go in the toilet.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  6. #86
    Sage

    Mason66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    19,427

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Juanita View Post
    It is truer today than it was then.. Maybe somebody killed him to shut him up.... We "think" that we have a say in this country, but we really don't....
    Somebody did. His name is father time.

  7. #87
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,635

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by CLAX1911 View Post
    Young is a relative term I am 37, and I am proud to be calledan idealist. If the world has more idealists perhaps it would be closer to the ideal place.
    Probably not. It's a nice sentiment though.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  8. #88
    Guru
    Juanita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    now? COLORADO
    Last Seen
    04-27-16 @ 03:50 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    3,981

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    In some things, yes, absolutely. Very substantive reforms and social changes. In most others, absolutely not. One has to keep in mind the absolute demoralization found in that generation in 1968, lasting through the mid-1970s. Perhaps because that generation's target was so big, it's easy to forget the sheer volume of failure.


    What exactly was this sheer volume of failure?

  9. #89
    Light△Bender

    grip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ☚ ☛
    Last Seen
    12-04-17 @ 04:12 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,186
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    You know what one perspective seems to be missing in this thread? The one that advocates that while it is highly desirable to see the economy gain strength and to have the lower and middle classes have a renewed sense of confidence, is the system actually that bad?

    Personally, I am content. From my angle, all I am seeing is the rest of you folks merely disagreeing on who is making the country go in the toilet.
    There are a lot of people who lost their jobs and couldn't get another one since 2008, due to age or change in their field, from technology. I don't think it's the particularly bad condition we're currently in, it's the direction it appears to be heading.
    Einstein, "science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind."

  10. #90
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,635

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Juanita View Post
    What exactly was this sheer volume of failure?
    There were a lot of social and political experiments from that generation, from the merely ambitious economic policies (the Great Society) to a renewed neomarxism (often found in the New Left) and those that sought to recreate the human experience in psychological social groups. A great many of the ideas were discontinued after disappointing results, or had been victim to pure utopianism.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •