View Poll Results: What is your opinion of this rant?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • I fully believe all our asses are owned

    6 22.22%
  • I mostly believe all our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I somewhat believe our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I do not believe it at all

    7 25.93%
  • It's all about right vs. left!

    0 0%
Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 146

Thread: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

  1. #71
    Guru
    Juanita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    now? COLORADO
    Last Seen
    04-27-16 @ 03:50 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    3,981

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    To which agent do you look to to solve society's problems?


    I guess that would depend on which of society's problems you are referring to.... Does the Federal Government have a role to play in creating jobs? Yes, when it comes to public projects like bridges, highways, infrastructure, etc.

  2. #72
    Guru
    Juanita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    now? COLORADO
    Last Seen
    04-27-16 @ 03:50 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    3,981

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by TheLastIndependent View Post
    Perhaps your idea of progressivism takes the classical definition and not the socialist hijacked one used in politics today?



    Perhaps.......

  3. #73
    Guru
    Juanita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    now? COLORADO
    Last Seen
    04-27-16 @ 03:50 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    3,981

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by CLAX1911 View Post
    This "big brother" has only taken over because we have allowed it to.

    Once upon a time a rag tag group of colonists that were severely outnumbered fought and beat the most powerful nation in the world.

    Think about this. If instead of worrying about boogeyman in the shadow government we as people United, they couldn't take our houses.

    They have convinced you they are more powerful than you.

    Look up Martin Niemöller

    He said that when they [Nazis] came for the socialists he did not speak up because he wasn't a socialist, on and on and on until they came for him and nobody came to speak for him because nobody was left.

    Think about it this way, take Houston, [school districts are notorious for this in Houston] a school district wants a block with fifty houses on it and goes to confirm them. If a hundredth of our city shows up to that block and stands there (keep in mind Houston is 6.5mil pop so that would be 65000 people and hpd only has 5000 officers) and says over our dead bodies. They lose.



    In this picture one man stood against abattalion of tanks. Chinese government once killed infants for being born female

    And one man unarmed stopped a battalion of tanks.

    If one man can do this in China, a country that has no rights, imagine what a thousand, a hundred thousand people can do in our nation.

    So taking Carlin's message to heart robbs you of your power, it makes a government powerful.

    In this country it is a republic, the people are the government. Big brother does whatever the hell we tell him to.

    Don't be so easily convinced to give up.

    When I see that one man standing up against that tank in Tianjin square, I tear up, he could have been a father, a school teacher, or if it were to occur to day a debate politics poster.

    If there is no cause that you would fight to the death for, you have nothing to live for.

    I pity those that just give up and say the government. is to powerful.

    There were black women men and children at one time that were slaves in our country. They had nothing, they weren't even people to the slave owners they were beaten into slavery by a much more powerful force. Yet some of those brave men women and children bled out their life blood in a fight to the death literally during slave rebellions they weren't always successful rebellions, many people were slaughtered. This was in the 1800s up until the mid 20th century they were still slaughtering babies some father's beloved son and they didn't give up. They fought and died lost fathers, mothers daughters and sons kicking against a massive wall. When the ground was drenched in blood they raged forward just for the possibility of something better. The price they payed was massive and the loss was greater than anything seem today. But they triumphed. They pushed back and the aggressors fell down.

    So don't tell me some limp wristed government lack can take my house. I will fight to the death over it.

    If folks would put aside their petty differences and unite the government. would obey us. It's assclowns like Carlin that have told you that wouldn't work. I didn't have as much animosity toward that dirt bag before this as I do now. That piece of human **** was taking money from abunch of hopeless losers affirming their hopelessness while picketing millions and laughing at them

    After this **** George Carlin, that piece of ****.


    You sound like a young idealist..... Back in the 60s, people did stand up-- they picketed, protested, boycotted and even rioted, but they accomplished a lot..... Since then, except for perhaps the environmentalists, people seldom do that..Actually, they seldom even pay attention.... If the government wants your property, they are going to get it and there won't be a dam thing that you can do about it......Have you looked at your credit history lately? Every payment that you have ever made to anybody for the past 7-10 years, is listed in the 3 credit report agencies.... In minute detail..If you were late once, it is listed.....They know everything about you and it is used against you or for you, depending on your history....How is it possible that this group has so much information about you? How did this happen? Any employer, business, landlord can access this information at any time..... They can also access any criminal history that you may or may not have.....Whatever happened to privacy? You are an open book!!!!

  4. #74
    Bus Driver to Hell
    Thorgasm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Last Seen
    12-06-17 @ 11:17 AM
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    68,191

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by CLAX1911 View Post
    Demographics have everything to do with it. A nation is nothing more than people.

    If we did a poll today on people that believe Carlin's message of hopelessness if more people believe it is true than demographics would prove that this nation would be doomed.
    I like you, dude. But to be honest, you are coming across a little unhinged here in this thread. Calm down.

    Seriously though, the Government has tanks and attack helicopters. The Government rules the propaganda machine. Most people are not critical thinkers. Most people believe whatever confirms their preconceived notions. As long as people have their internet and smart phones, they aren't going to "rock the boat". People as a whole are hopeless with regards to their apathy about the state of things currently. That could change, but as of right now, it doesn't look that way. This is why Congress has an 11% approval rating and a 97% re-election rate. People are easy to mislead.
    Quote Originally Posted by faithful_servant View Post
    Being a psychiatric patient does not mean that you are mentally ill.



  5. #75
    free market communist
    Gardener's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Last Seen
    09-30-17 @ 12:27 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    26,661

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    My own particular ass is in escrow.
    "you're better off on Stormfront discussing how evil brown men are taking innocent white flowers." Infinite Chaos

  6. #76
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    Who is the They that Carlin keeps referring to? Was Steve Jobs a They? What happened when Steve Jobs went against David Geffen? Both guys can't get what they want. Was Jobs a They when he began his life? Was Bill Gates a They when he was born? I thought They only wanted bookkeepers who were smart enough to do the job and no one smarter. Why didn't They stop Gates and Jobs from making so much money?

    How is it possible that They can coordinate all of their interests so that only They benefit? If the They who own solar companies benefit then that hurts the They who own coal powered power plants.
    This is a mistake I see Cons make often. People on the left don't hate the rich. People on the left loathe abuse. It just so happens that many people with money and power abuse. Those who happen to build wealth without habitual abuse do not receive or deserve our contempt. When you see that we do not turn on one of our own it kind of illustrates my point as opposed to exposing our hypocrisy.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  7. #77
    Light△Bender

    grip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ☚ ☛
    Last Seen
    12-04-17 @ 04:12 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,186
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Thorgasm View Post
    I like you, dude. But to be honest, you are coming across a little unhinged here in this thread. Calm down.

    Seriously though, the Government has tanks and attack helicopters. The Government rules the propaganda machine. Most people are not critical thinkers. Most people believe whatever confirms their preconceived notions. As long as people have their internet and smart phones, they aren't going to "rock the boat". People as a whole are hopeless with regards to their apathy about the state of things currently. That could change, but as of right now, it doesn't look that way. This is why Congress has an 11% approval rating and a 97% re-election rate. People are easy to mislead.
    You make people poor enough, with nothing to lose and they'll revolt. Maybe, eventually... I don't know. As long as their world is ticking along, they won't rock a boat or eat a goat.
    Einstein, "science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind."

  8. #78
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,635

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Not in its entirety, no. I don't believe it's a concerted effort to make the rich wealthier and the poor poorer. I think what happens is they believe in self-interest and they believe their ideas work out better for everyone. I also do not think in the slightest, that the quality of education in the country is dramatically deadened so they could have obedient workers.

    The wealthy classes (abstractly), are going to look out for their own interests, while believing that it is in the best interests of the country, and subscribe to policies because it will help the average citizen more than another idea would. This continues with the middle class and the lower classes. Each are disproportionately disposed to believe in certain political ideas, opposed to others, with the belief that if one subscribes to these ideas, it's better for all.

    It's self-interest for everyone, but with zeal to believe it's best for all.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  9. #79
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,635

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Juanita View Post
    You sound like a young idealist..... Back in the 60s, people did stand up-- they picketed, protested, boycotted and even rioted, but they accomplished a lot.....
    In some things, yes, absolutely. Very substantive reforms and social changes. In most others, absolutely not. One has to keep in mind the absolute demoralization found in that generation in 1968, lasting through the mid-1970s. Perhaps because that generation's target was so big, it's easy to forget the sheer volume of failure.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  10. #80
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Not in its entirety, no. I don't believe it's a concerted effort to make the rich wealthier and the poor poorer. I think what happens is they believe in self-interest and they believe their ideas work out better for everyone. I also do not think in the slightest, that the quality of education in the country is dramatically deadened so they could have obedient workers.

    The wealthy classes (abstractly), are going to look out for their own interests, while believing that it is in the best interests of the country, and subscribe to policies because it will help the average citizen more than another idea would. This continues with the middle class and the lower classes. Each are disproportionately disposed to believe in certain political ideas, opposed to others, with the belief that if one subscribes to these ideas, it's better for all.

    It's self-interest for everyone, but with zeal to believe it's best for all.
    I think many of the wealthy classes believe they are so because they are more deserving and have worked harder or smarter than those who haven't achieved it. So for the most part when they claim some noble by-product springs from their selfish actions it's really just a rationalization.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •