View Poll Results: What is your opinion of this rant?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • I fully believe all our asses are owned

    6 22.22%
  • I mostly believe all our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I somewhat believe our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I do not believe it at all

    7 25.93%
  • It's all about right vs. left!

    0 0%
Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 146

Thread: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

  1. #51
    Sporadic insanity normal.


    The Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    Today @ 05:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    19,753

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    *snip*
    Hmm...

    I took his meaning to be "they're screwing you over and you're too lazy try and fix it."
    Education.

    Sometimes I think we're alone. Sometimes I think we're not. In either case, the thought is staggering. ~ R. Buckminster Fuller

  2. #52
    Sage
    RiverDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    04-20-14 @ 02:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    It is time to become a great nation again.
    Can't happen. The demographics of the US when it became a great nation are no longer the demographics of the US today.

  3. #53
    Guru
    1750Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Southcental Texas
    Last Seen
    10-14-17 @ 02:13 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    3,569

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    Can't happen. The demographics of the US when it became a great nation are no longer the demographics of the US today.
    With all due respect...when did the US have its "Great" phase? Meaning, was there a "more great" era?


  4. #54
    Supreme knower of all
    CLAX1911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Houston, in the great state of Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:58 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,208

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    Can't happen. The demographics of the US when it became a great nation are no longer the demographics of the US today.
    There are too many people believing what George Carlin said.

    Give up it's hopeless you started losing the minute you were born.

    14 people believe there is validity in that message. Only two others besides me know that it is complete bull****
    It's okay to be white

  5. #55
    Supreme knower of all
    CLAX1911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Houston, in the great state of Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:58 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,208

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by 1750Texan View Post
    With all due respect...when did the US have it "Great" phase? Meaning, was there a more great era?
    Yes it did. At one time our nation stood behind it's military, believed them to be hero's deserving of our reverence. At one time before our nation was born there were men that faced certain death in a futile attempt to gain independence from England. There were people that were slaves once that kicked against the picks for nearly a century and finally gained equality.

    We once were people that would draw a line in the sand and say, no farther.

    Now we live in a world where a clown makes 2.5mil telling you that it is hopeless. And the sad part of this, is his absurd preaching isn't even believed by him. Being a stand up comic isn't easy. Being as wealthy as Carlin was is even harder. He never believed for a moment that "they" were just going to take it all away. I feel sorry for the stooges that believe the hot air that he clearly didn't.

    So yes there were times of greatness in our nation. The good news is that this time could be great also, the bad news is that our people have decided it won't be.
    It's okay to be white

  6. #56
    Sage
    RiverDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    04-20-14 @ 02:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by 1750Texan View Post
    With all due respect...when did the US have its "Great" phase? Meaning, was there a "more great" era?
    We can measure this is a few ways. One would be to analyze the gdp & gdp/cap gains made by the US relative to other nations over the course of its history. Another would be in its relative might in the international sphere. Another would be degree of social cohesion (was there a greater mixing of rich & poor in the public schools in the past compared to today.)

  7. #57
    Guru
    1750Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Southcental Texas
    Last Seen
    10-14-17 @ 02:13 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    3,569

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by CLAX1911 View Post
    Yes it did. At one time our nation stood behind it's military, believed them to be hero's deserving of our reverence. At one time before our nation was born there were men that faced certain death in a futile attempt to gain independence from England. There were people that were slaves once that kicked against the picks for nearly a century and finally gained equality.

    We once were people that would draw a line in the sand and say, no farther.

    Now we live in a world where a clown makes 2.5mil telling you that it is hopeless. And the sad part of this, is his absurd preaching isn't even believed by him. Being a stand up comic isn't easy. Being as wealthy as Carlin was is even harder. He never believed for a moment that "they" were just going to take it all away. I feel sorry for the stooges that believe the hot air that he clearly didn't.

    So yes there were times of greatness in our nation. The good news is that this time could be great also, the bad news is that our people have decided it won't be.
    The US has had moments in her history that have shaked its resolve to its very core...If you feel we are now in some sort of lull, I just want you to know...I have seen worse.

    The assaination of JFK, RFK, MLK. The awful ugliness of the civil rights movement, Vietnam, Protests of Vietnam, Watergate, 9/11.

    Nothing in the last decade other than the almost collaspe of the economy comes close.


  8. #58
    Liberal Fascist For Life!


    Redress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:17 PM
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    93,351
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    Can't happen. The demographics of the US when it became a great nation are no longer the demographics of the US today.
    And that is just ****ing stupid. Demographics don't make a nation great. There is nothing about the demographics of the US that would prevent it from being great.
    We became a great nation not because we are a nation of cynics. We became a great nation because we are a nation of believers - Lindsey Graham

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Uh oh Megyn...your vagina witchcraft is about ready to be exposed.

  9. #59
    Sage
    RiverDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    04-20-14 @ 02:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Redress View Post
    And that is just ****ing stupid. Demographics don't make a nation great. There is nothing about the demographics of the US that would prevent it from being great.
    A nation is comprised of its people.

    Mexico was richer than the United States at a per capita level back in the late 18th Century. As America started to stand on its own two feet, it caught up to Mexican wealth, then surpassed it and we kept growing. Now as we import more Mexicans and Africans our nation will trend towards Mexican and African levels of wealth creation.

    There is not something special about the air here in the US which make us a great nation. Our people are our building blocks. Change the people, change the nation.

  10. #60
    Supreme knower of all
    CLAX1911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Houston, in the great state of Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:58 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,208

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by 1750Texan View Post
    The US has had moments in her history that have shaked its resolve to its very core...If you feel we are now in some sort of lull, I just want you to know...I have seen worse.

    The assaination of JFK, RFK, MLK. The awful ugliness of the civil rights movement, Vietnam, Protests of Vietnam, Watergate, 9/11.

    Nothing in the last decade other than the almost collaspe of the economy comes close.
    That is what makes it so sad. Nothing happened, people were just talked out of their hope.

    Look at all the people that believed Carlin's crap.

    14 out of 17. Believe there is some government boogeyman that is going to steal their success. Thus they will lay down and take it.

    The way to defeat this nation is to win it's hearts and minds. Those that buy Carlin's crap and the same horse **** from many others that peach the same message, have forfeited their minds and hearts.

    There were worse things than assassinating presidents and war protests. Way way way worse. Civil war, slavery and we survived those.
    Last edited by CLAX1911; 03-28-14 at 07:57 PM.
    It's okay to be white

Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •