View Poll Results: What is your opinion of this rant?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • I fully believe all our asses are owned

    6 22.22%
  • I mostly believe all our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I somewhat believe our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I do not believe it at all

    7 25.93%
  • It's all about right vs. left!

    0 0%
Page 5 of 15 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 146

Thread: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

  1. #41
    Professor
    TheLastIndependent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Last Seen
    08-29-15 @ 11:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    1,545
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    What happened to South Korea, Vietnam and Taiwan since 1950? All smooth sailing for them?
    For the most part no. Similar to much of the world, their economies were rather stagnant until the early 90's where they grew with much of the world. I would say much of the economic growth would be due to them being open to the idea of globalization whereas the middle east prefers to remain isolated outside of oil business. Likewise, much of the economies of the middle east are internally and-sustaining. Thus, they have no motive to build wealth outside of the oil industry
    "The trust of the innocent is the liar's most useful tool." : Stephen King

    "Commerce with all nations, alliance with none, should be our motto." Thomas Jefferson

  2. #42
    Tavern Bartender
    Pussy Grabbin' Beaver
    Middleground's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Canada's Capital
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 08:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    22,455
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by VanceMack View Post


    "We aint in that club..."

    George Carlin was earning 2.5 million a year at the time of his death. George was no different than the Hollywood elitist assclowns that line up at the multimillion dollar award shows, receiving free swag bags worth hundreds of thousands of dollars each who then go on speaking evil of bankers and talking about just how much they really really really really really care about the plight of the common folk.

    No...no one is going to gift you a golden pathway to wealth and success. At the same time...they arent impeding you from success either.

    I wish you would have answered the poll and shared your opinion of whether or not our politicians are bought, rather than go on your own rant about the Hollywood types and how you see as them big hypocrites. So let me ask you this... Do you think it's impossible for the Hollywood elites to have empathy? Do you think if someone is rich, they should be void of opinion and social causes? And more directly, do you think George Carlin, having been a successful American dreamer, is just bull****ting in the rant that I posted?
    No men are anywhere, and Im allowed to go in, because Im the owner of the pageant and therefore Im inspecting it, Trump said... Is everyone OK? You know, theyre standing there with no clothes. Is everybody OK? And you see these incredible looking women, and so I sort of get away with things like that.

  3. #43
    Sage
    DDD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Republic of Dardania
    Last Seen
    05-06-17 @ 06:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    12,173

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    I think that the degree to which the "rant" is right or wrong depends on how much interaction and influence there is between: politics, economics, education, culture, media, military, etc. The comedian holds a polar position that the influence is high and goes from economics (i.e., "corporates") downwards to politics, military, education, culture, media, etc. Other people may hold a polar attitude against that.

    I for one do not believe that corporates rule the world. They have money and can use it to influence. But the risks are always there and they should initially secure that they may not be charged for corruption with that.
    Quote Originally Posted by poweRob View Post
    Stats come out and always show life getting better. News makes money in making you think its not.
    The Republic of Dardania is the proper name for: http://www.debatepolitics.com/europe...ification.html

  4. #44
    Tavern Bartender
    Pussy Grabbin' Beaver
    Middleground's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Canada's Capital
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 08:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    22,455
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by DDD View Post

    I for one do not believe that corporates rule the world. They have money and can use it to influence. But the risks are always there and they should initially secure that they may not be charged for corruption with that.
    Can you elaborate on this? Do you have any real world examples?
    No men are anywhere, and Im allowed to go in, because Im the owner of the pageant and therefore Im inspecting it, Trump said... Is everyone OK? You know, theyre standing there with no clothes. Is everybody OK? And you see these incredible looking women, and so I sort of get away with things like that.

  5. #45
    Sage
    VanceMack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:30 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    54,677

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Middleground View Post
    I wish you would have answered the poll and shared your opinion of whether or not our politicians are bought, rather than go on your own rant about the Hollywood types and how you see as them big hypocrites. So let me ask you this... Do you think it's impossible for the Hollywood elites to have empathy? Do you think if someone is rich, they should be void of opinion and social causes? And more directly, do you think George Carlin, having been a successful American dreamer, is just bull****ting in the rant that I posted?
    I think it is easy for ANYONE to feign empathy. I quite honestly believe most of them couldnt give half a **** about others even you gave them two spare ****s you happened to have lying around in a closet somewhere. There actions speak far more clearly than their words.

    Are politicians bought and sold? OF COURSE! Thats some new revelation? Hell...we have video of Barney Frank going down and talking the OWS protestors and verbalizing his support and then IMMEDIATELY leaving to go to a fund raiser with bankers and brokers. People spend millions to win a job that pays thousands. There is no secret about parties beholden to special interest. Thats why its so ludicrous that people from both sides spend so much of their time expressing angst against those that dare to leave the 2 party system.

    On Carlin...I LOVE George Carlin's material...but was he a self serving hypocrite? OF COURSE he was. Does it ring hollow that a guy makes 2.5 million a year mostly from ticket, book, and recording sales, delivers a message of woe and oppression to the downtrodden masses? Well...hell yes.

  6. #46
    Sage

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 09:54 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    12,444
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    Who is the They that Carlin keeps referring to? Was Steve Jobs a They? What happened when Steve Jobs went against David Geffen? Both guys can't get what they want. Was Jobs a They when he began his life? Was Bill Gates a They when he was born? I thought They only wanted bookkeepers who were smart enough to do the job and no one smarter. Why didn't They stop Gates and Jobs from making so much money?

    How is it possible that They can coordinate all of their interests so that only They benefit? If the They who own solar companies benefit then that hurts the They who own coal powered power plants.
    Its like a game of global Monopoly.

    The only difference is that those who are never going to win can't just quit and go do something else.

    We have to keep going around and around the board under penalty of homelessness or death.
    Anyone wondering what I'm talking about start here:
    The Psychology of Persuasion

  7. #47
    Sage
    VanceMack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:30 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    54,677

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by What if...? View Post
    Its like a game of global Monopoly.

    The only difference is that those who are never going to win can't just quit and go do something else.

    We have to keep going around and around the board under penalty of homelessness or death.
    What exactly do you see as the 'alternative'? Seriously...what is it people are looking for? Yes...you play the game and if you do it with hard work and forethought, the game becomes pretty easy. There are people that started with less than zero (through no fault of the 'system' or 'da man') and have managed to build comfortable happy lives. They won properties, businesses, boats, they go on vacations...they dont just exist, they do WELL. That opportunity exists as much today as it ever has. Hell it might be even easier today since there is so much available startup wealth. Multi gazillionaires like Gates and Jobs werent gifted successful corporations...they built them with hard work and innovation.Nothing has changed.

  8. #48
    Sage
    DDD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Republic of Dardania
    Last Seen
    05-06-17 @ 06:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    12,173

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Middleground View Post
    Can you elaborate on this? Do you have any real world examples?
    Theoretically I was getting at clashes between powers while they influence. A corporate may bribe (positive power) a political leader but the leader can technically turn the offer down as well as counter the bribe with corruption laws (negative power). The process of bribing as well as influence is not automatic nor guaranteed. There are risks there involved also.
    Quote Originally Posted by poweRob View Post
    Stats come out and always show life getting better. News makes money in making you think its not.
    The Republic of Dardania is the proper name for: http://www.debatepolitics.com/europe...ification.html

  9. #49
    Liberal Fascist For Life!


    Redress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:39 AM
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    93,316
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Middleground View Post



    Please watch this video and give me your opinion on this George Carlin rant. Please do not vote without watching the full 3 minutes.
    One of my favorite writers is a woman named Lois McMaster Bujold. In her short story "Borders of Infinity", there is this quote:

    Now, there's this about cynicism, Sergeant. It's the universe's most supine moral position. Real comfortable. If nothing can be done, then you're not some kind of **** for not doing it, and you can lie there and stink to yourself in perfect peace.
    That is what Carlin's rant made me think of. It is their fault, and you can't do anything about it. And as usual when something like that is said, it is complete bull****. Do businesses lobby for beneficial laws? of course they do, it is their job, and it benefits to an extent any one who owns stock in that company, which is basically any one with a 401K, among others. In fact, those companies have an obligation to their stockholders, which includes most Americans, to do just that. That is how capitalism works, and it is still the best economic system around. We have a responsibility to elect those people who have the ability to discern when those laws the businesses are advocating for are best for America, and when they are not, and the willingness to stand up for what is best. If we elect those who don't, it is our own fault.

    Pointing fingers gets us nowhere. Cynicism is an admission of defeat. To throw in one more quote, from Lindsey Graham, who I am not much of a fan of, but I thought so much of this statement it was in my sig for a long time:

    But we became a great nation not because we are a nation of cynics. We became a great nation because we are a nation of believers.
    It is time to become a great nation again.
    We became a great nation not because we are a nation of cynics. We became a great nation because we are a nation of believers - Lindsey Graham

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Uh oh Megyn...your vagina witchcraft is about ready to be exposed.

  10. #50
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Where they have FOX on in bars and restaurants
    Last Seen
    09-14-14 @ 02:09 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    14,700

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by VanceMack View Post


    "We aint in that club..."

    George Carlin was earning 2.5 million a year at the time of his death. George was no different than the Hollywood elitist assclowns that line up at the multimillion dollar award shows, receiving free swag bags worth hundreds of thousands of dollars each who then go on speaking evil of bankers and talking about just how much they really really really really really care about the plight of the common folk.

    No...no one is going to gift you a golden pathway to wealth and success. At the same time...they arent impeding you from success either.
    Reminds me of Lennon writing Imagine no possessions from his NYC penthouse suite.

Page 5 of 15 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •