View Poll Results: What is your opinion of this rant?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • I fully believe all our asses are owned

    6 22.22%
  • I mostly believe all our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I somewhat believe our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I do not believe it at all

    7 25.93%
  • It's all about right vs. left!

    0 0%
Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 146

Thread: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

  1. #31
    Sage
    RiverDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    04-20-14 @ 02:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by TheLastIndependent View Post
    Not even speaking on the times we actually get close to bringing some form of democracy. Most of the democracy missions end with the US putting up puppet dictators who magically win outstanding numbers of votes. As for human rights... that's not even defensible factually speaking.
    You seem to be looking for successful outcomes, I'm pointing to legions of fanatical true believers out there pushing this stuff like heroin. They're not going to stop just because they don't meet with success.

  2. #32
    Professor
    TheLastIndependent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Last Seen
    08-29-15 @ 11:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    1,545
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    You seem to be looking for successful outcomes, I'm pointing to legions of fanatical true believers out there pushing this stuff like heroin. They're not going to stop just because they don't meet with success.
    Do you think that they actually believe in it?

    That's an honest question with no point. I got one think they know full well they are not being productive and are being willful slave to the state and whoever is paying them
    "The trust of the innocent is the liar's most useful tool." : Stephen King

    "Commerce with all nations, alliance with none, should be our motto." Thomas Jefferson

  3. #33
    Sage
    RiverDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    04-20-14 @ 02:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by TheLastIndependent View Post
    Do you think that they actually believe in it?

    That's an honest question with no point. I got one think they know full well they are not being productive and are being willful slave to the state and whoever is paying them
    I absolutely think that they believe it. Maybe not so much anymore, but back during the run-up to Iraq, I have no doubt that the top movers and shakers thought that they could really bring democracy and human rights to both Iraq and Afghanistan. They were smart enough to know that Afghanistan would be a more difficult challenge, but with Iraq they were harping about how modern it was and how it would be a easy job of making Iraq a bastion of Democracy in the Middle East from which a democratic wave would spread and engulf the entire region. They were orgasmic about the prospect. I know that region of the world and its cultures. I knew our guys were naive beyond hope.

  4. #34
    Professor
    TheLastIndependent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Last Seen
    08-29-15 @ 11:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    1,545
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    I absolutely think that they believe it. Maybe not so much anymore, but back during the run-up to Iraq, I have no doubt that the top movers and shakers thought that they could really bring democracy and human rights to both Iraq and Afghanistan. They were smart enough to know that Afghanistan would be a more difficult challenge, but with Iraq they were harping about how modern it was and how it would be a easy job of making Iraq a bastion of Democracy in the Middle East from which a democratic wave would spread and engulf the entire region. They were orgasmic about the prospect. I know that region of the world and its cultures. I knew our guys were naive beyond hope.
    Fair enough. On humans rights though, we were in many cases the bearer of violation. We funded and supplied much of Saddam Hussein's violations and then continued more post invasion.

    And I agree on the naivety of anybody who honestly thought we could bring a western idea to the middle east. Five minutes of reading on the culture and history of the middle east will die that they have and will continue to reject the west which they are not at all wrong for doing. The west has greatly screwed the middle east more than once
    "The trust of the innocent is the liar's most useful tool." : Stephen King

    "Commerce with all nations, alliance with none, should be our motto." Thomas Jefferson

  5. #35
    Bus Driver to Hell
    Thorgasm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 06:57 PM
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    68,198

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Most people suck at critical thinking. Carlin was a genius.
    Quote Originally Posted by faithful_servant View Post
    Being a psychiatric patient does not mean that you are mentally ill.



  6. #36
    Supreme knower of all
    CLAX1911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Houston, in the great state of Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:39 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,206

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Juanita View Post
    I think that Carlin was talking about so much more than just achieving success in life.... Government at all levels and corporations get whatever they want by any means necessary... Corruption at every plateau.....If they want your house for a parking lot, they get it and you get the boot....Licenses, inspections, permits--all in the hands of the government.. Just don't piss them off.... They are part of every facet of your life...They know everything about you... They have control.... There has always been corruption in government, but the last 50 years Big Brother has taken over.....Think about it....
    This "big brother" has only taken over because we have allowed it to.

    Once upon a time a rag tag group of colonists that were severely outnumbered fought and beat the most powerful nation in the world.

    Think about this. If instead of worrying about boogeyman in the shadow government we as people United, they couldn't take our houses.

    They have convinced you they are more powerful than you.

    Look up Martin Niemöller

    He said that when they [Nazis] came for the socialists he did not speak up because he wasn't a socialist, on and on and on until they came for him and nobody came to speak for him because nobody was left.

    Think about it this way, take Houston, [school districts are notorious for this in Houston] a school district wants a block with fifty houses on it and goes to confirm them. If a hundredth of our city shows up to that block and stands there (keep in mind Houston is 6.5mil pop so that would be 65000 people and hpd only has 5000 officers) and says over our dead bodies. They lose.



    In this picture one man stood against abattalion of tanks. Chinese government once killed infants for being born female

    And one man unarmed stopped a battalion of tanks.

    If one man can do this in China, a country that has no rights, imagine what a thousand, a hundred thousand people can do in our nation.

    So taking Carlin's message to heart robbs you of your power, it makes a government powerful.

    In this country it is a republic, the people are the government. Big brother does whatever the hell we tell him to.

    Don't be so easily convinced to give up.

    When I see that one man standing up against that tank in Tianjin square, I tear up, he could have been a father, a school teacher, or if it were to occur to day a debate politics poster.

    If there is no cause that you would fight to the death for, you have nothing to live for.

    I pity those that just give up and say the government. is to powerful.

    There were black women men and children at one time that were slaves in our country. They had nothing, they weren't even people to the slave owners they were beaten into slavery by a much more powerful force. Yet some of those brave men women and children bled out their life blood in a fight to the death literally during slave rebellions they weren't always successful rebellions, many people were slaughtered. This was in the 1800s up until the mid 20th century they were still slaughtering babies some father's beloved son and they didn't give up. They fought and died lost fathers, mothers daughters and sons kicking against a massive wall. When the ground was drenched in blood they raged forward just for the possibility of something better. The price they payed was massive and the loss was greater than anything seem today. But they triumphed. They pushed back and the aggressors fell down.

    So don't tell me some limp wristed government lack can take my house. I will fight to the death over it.

    If folks would put aside their petty differences and unite the government. would obey us. It's assclowns like Carlin that have told you that wouldn't work. I didn't have as much animosity toward that dirt bag before this as I do now. That piece of human **** was taking money from abunch of hopeless losers affirming their hopelessness while picketing millions and laughing at them

    After this **** George Carlin, that piece of ****.
    It's okay to be white

  7. #37
    Sage
    RiverDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    04-20-14 @ 02:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by TheLastIndependent View Post
    The west has greatly screwed the middle east more than once
    The problems of the ME are problems mostly of their own making, problems stemming from culture and religion. Western dealings are small potatoes.

    Some food for thought:

    1950 GDP/cap (UNStat est. 2005)

    Jordan = $960
    Taiwan = $901
    Iran = $888
    South Korea = $881
    Iraq = $567
    Syria = $487
    Vietnam = $126


    2014 GDP/cap (UNStat est. 2005)

    Jordan = $2,998
    Taiwan = $19,419
    Iran = $3,321
    South Korea = $23,965
    Iraq = $1,449
    Syria = $1,888
    Vietnam = $1,032

  8. #38
    Supreme knower of all
    CLAX1911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Houston, in the great state of Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:39 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,206

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    I take it back, it wasn't one Damn bit funny, it was sad.

    How defeated the once proud American people that have their lives for what they believed in, can fall for this.


    I see ten people that believe this crap inn some way or another and only two that don't.

    I know I am one. So one other person. I think I know exactly what is wrong with our country.

    This world is moving toward despair I wondered why I was so saddened to see depressed children as young as 6 years old taking drugs. It is because their dreams and hopes are crushed before they could even dream them or hope for them. How sad.

    Meanwhile prophets of doom are taking your money to affirm hopelessness. And hopeless among us can't give it away fast enough. All to alleviate their pain of the blackened world they live in.

    People like Carlin have convinced you there is no hope. There are others. And it serves the nastiest purpose of all. People with no hope are easy to control. And whoever has control has the power.

    A world that becomes obedient by it's own choice is truly a sad one.

    I can't swim in sea of hopelessness. So I won't join those that choose to drown.
    It's okay to be white

  9. #39
    Professor
    TheLastIndependent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Last Seen
    08-29-15 @ 11:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    1,545
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    The problems of the ME are problems mostly of their own making, problems stemming from culture and religion. Western dealings are small potatoes.

    Some food for thought:

    1950 GDP/cap (UNStat est. 2005)

    Jordan = $960
    Taiwan = $901
    Iran = $888
    South Korea = $881
    Iraq = $567
    Syria = $487
    Vietnam = $126


    2014 GDP/cap (UNStat est. 2005)

    Jordan = $2,998
    Taiwan = $19,419
    Iran = $3,321
    South Korea = $23,965
    Iraq = $1,449
    Syria = $1,888
    Vietnam = $1,032
    I completely agree that the culture of the middle east plays a great part in the way they are. However, it ignores modern history to exclude western interaction with the middle east. Many of the leaders and movements of modern middle east have seemed directly from anti-western thoughts and ideas
    "The trust of the innocent is the liar's most useful tool." : Stephen King

    "Commerce with all nations, alliance with none, should be our motto." Thomas Jefferson

  10. #40
    Sage
    RiverDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    04-20-14 @ 02:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by TheLastIndependent View Post
    I completely agree that the culture of the middle east plays a great part in the way they are. However, it ignores modern history to exclude western interaction with the middle east. Many of the leaders and movements of modern middle east have seemed directly from anti-western thoughts and ideas
    What happened to South Korea, Vietnam and Taiwan since 1950? All smooth sailing for them?

Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •