View Poll Results: What is your opinion of this rant?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • I fully believe all our asses are owned

    6 22.22%
  • I mostly believe all our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I somewhat believe our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I do not believe it at all

    7 25.93%
  • It's all about right vs. left!

    0 0%
Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 146

Thread: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

  1. #11
    Sage
    RiverDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    04-20-14 @ 02:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Who is the They that Carlin keeps referring to? Was Steve Jobs a They? What happened when Steve Jobs went against David Geffen? Both guys can't get what they want. Was Jobs a They when he began his life? Was Bill Gates a They when he was born? I thought They only wanted bookkeepers who were smart enough to do the job and no one smarter. Why didn't They stop Gates and Jobs from making so much money?

    How is it possible that They can coordinate all of their interests so that only They benefit? If the They who own solar companies benefit then that hurts the They who own coal powered power plants.

  2. #12
    Sporadic insanity normal.


    The Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    19,752

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    Who is the They that Carlin keeps referring to? Was Steve Jobs a They? What happened when Steve Jobs went against David Geffen? Both guys can't get what they want. Was Jobs a They when he began his life? Was Bill Gates a They when he was born? I thought They only wanted bookkeepers who were smart enough to do the job and no one smarter. Why didn't They stop Gates and Jobs from making so much money?

    How is it possible that They can coordinate all of their interests so that only They benefit? If the They who own solar companies benefit then that hurts the They who own coal powered power plants.
    I would propose that our collective apathy is a constant which individuals and corporations take advantage of, but not necessarily something that they work to maintain.
    Education.

    Sometimes I think we're alone. Sometimes I think we're not. In either case, the thought is staggering. ~ R. Buckminster Fuller

  3. #13
    Sage
    VanceMack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:03 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    54,717

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by The Mark View Post
    Actually, I took it to mean "It's da man, and you're too goddamn lazy to call them on it".

    So, really, BOTH.
    The YOU part. THAT is right on. If people are looking at who is responsible for their life and who creates their won limitations...'you'...thats where it is at.

    No one says you have to join the rat race. If you choose to join the rat race, you can choose which track you want to take. You dont have to go into debt for student loans. You dont have to buy a house. Hell...you can live free and homeless and travel on your thumb and not owe anyone anything. Theres every likelihood if you make that choice there is some free government cheese in there for you to boot.

  4. #14
    Sage
    VanceMack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:03 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    54,717

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    Who is the They that Carlin keeps referring to? Was Steve Jobs a They? What happened when Steve Jobs went against David Geffen? Both guys can't get what they want. Was Jobs a They when he began his life? Was Bill Gates a They when he was born? I thought They only wanted bookkeepers who were smart enough to do the job and no one smarter. Why didn't They stop Gates and Jobs from making so much money?

    How is it possible that They can coordinate all of their interests so that only They benefit? If the They who own solar companies benefit then that hurts the They who own coal powered power plants.
    "They" are the ghosts and boogeymen that people always dredge up to rally the masses. Hitler had a 'they'. The Klan has a 'they'. And OWS also has a 'they'. Hell...the GOP uses a 'they as do the democrats...all the time. Its the same song...just a slightly different tune.

  5. #15
    Sporadic insanity normal.


    The Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    19,752

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by VanceMack View Post
    "They" are the ghosts and boogeymen that people always dredge up to rally the masses. Hitler had a 'they'. The Klan has a 'they'. And OWS also has a 'they'. Hell...the GOP uses a 'they as do the democrats...all the time. Its the same song...just a slightly different tune.
    And it works because people want a "they".
    Education.

    Sometimes I think we're alone. Sometimes I think we're not. In either case, the thought is staggering. ~ R. Buckminster Fuller

  6. #16
    Sage
    RiverDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    04-20-14 @ 02:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by The Mark View Post
    I would propose that our collective apathy is a constant which individuals and corporations take advantage of, but not necessarily something that they work to maintain.
    When a wee lad I used to sit at the knees of my papa and grandpa and I learned a lot about how things used to be in the stone age, when they were young. Believe it or not, people used to care about the working man.

    If people want to engage in fun conspiracy thinking, I'm down with that, but how about we make it plausible and make it fit with the evidence. The most parsimonious conspiracy is that our rich elites have encouraged a focus on sexual freedom and this has taken the heat off of economic reform. Look at this board - the sex wars consume people's thinking, they consume their revolutionary fervor. When the lumpenproletariat is consumed with wanting free birth control, cheering on abortions, wanting easier divorce laws, trying to normalize poly-marriages, floating on cloud 9 about how enlightened they are for supporting homosexual marriage, manning the ramparts on behalf of transsexuals, extolling the virtues of hooking up for one night stands, when sex on the brain consumes most of their revolutionary energy, then guess who's safe from economic revolution and guess who doesn't buy into the bilge being sold to the lumpenproletariat, and guess who still has the highest marriage rate, the lowest divorce rate?

    Same applies with multiculturalism. Smart thinkers in society have known the maxim "Divide and Conquer" for like, forever, and what idea gets sold to the lumpenproletariat as being a badge of enlightenment, why importing multiple cultures into one land and letting those cultures compete with each other. Then reinforce that idiocy with a slogan "Diversity is our Strength" and let the cultural zealots focus their energy on enforcing this idiocy against dissenters, meanwhile look at the racial diversity of the married couples who constitute the elite, look at the racial diversity of where they live, look at the racial diversity of where they send their kids to be schooled.

    Destabilize the schools and neighborhoods of the lumpenproletariat with multiculturalism, get them to focus on sexual revolutions, each more insane than the one that preceded it, and watch how this destabilizes strong families and cohesive neighborhoods and the national culture and then exploit all this division and distraction by concentrating the wealth in the non-diverse and non-sexually permissive elite and be safe from reforms designed to achieve economic leveling because the more fractured the country, the less unanimity there will be for an economic leveling because there will be so many diverse players who can't unite due to the fact that some will be winners and some would be losers from any such reform.

    Now that's a good conspiracy which aligns with the facts. There is no shadowy They who are micromanaging everything, this conspiracy simply requires that crazy ideologies be unleashed and encouraged to flourish and then allow the stupidity to spread. It's on auto-pilot. Genius.

  7. #17
    User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Last Seen
    01-20-15 @ 02:02 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    130

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Middleground View Post



    Please watch this video and give me your opinion on this George Carlin rant. Please do not vote without watching the full 3 minutes.
    Finally, the username comes in handy somewhere. George Carlin, a comedian with such sophisticated humor that he can choose any topic and make it hilarious and true. I especially like his routines about the self esteem movement, those are hilarious.

  8. #18
    Guru

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    United States
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:31 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    3,223

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    He lived in a country where he made millions a year telling jokes. How bad could it be. I think there is an element of truth in what he says though.
    Last edited by laska; 03-28-14 at 02:01 AM.

  9. #19
    Guru
    Juanita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    now? COLORADO
    Last Seen
    04-27-16 @ 03:50 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    3,981

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Middleground View Post



    Please watch this video and give me your opinion on this George Carlin rant. Please do not vote without watching the full 3 minutes.


    It is truer today than it was then.. Maybe somebody killed him to shut him up.... We "think" that we have a say in this country, but we really don't....

  10. #20
    Guru
    Juanita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    now? COLORADO
    Last Seen
    04-27-16 @ 03:50 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    3,981

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by VanceMack View Post
    The YOU part. THAT is right on. If people are looking at who is responsible for their life and who creates their won limitations...'you'...thats where it is at.

    No one says you have to join the rat race. If you choose to join the rat race, you can choose which track you want to take. You dont have to go into debt for student loans. You dont have to buy a house. Hell...you can live free and homeless and travel on your thumb and not owe anyone anything. Theres every likelihood if you make that choice there is some free government cheese in there for you to boot.


    ......and probably a few free jail cells as well.....

Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •