View Poll Results: What is your opinion of this rant?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • I fully believe all our asses are owned

    6 22.22%
  • I mostly believe all our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I somewhat believe our asses are owned

    7 25.93%
  • I do not believe it at all

    7 25.93%
  • It's all about right vs. left!

    0 0%
Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 146

Thread: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

  1. #101
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:12 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,689

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    I would hesitate to disagree with the idea that those in the upper-mid to higher rungs are estranged if not from the country as a whole certainly from those who are in the lower rungs.

    I'm not sure what your point is though.
    I'm suggesting that each class group creates a sense of "the other" with those who are not in their income bracket.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  2. #102
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by RiverDad View Post
    People with higher incomes have been found to be working longer hours and enjoying less leisure activity than those who earn less.
    by whom?
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  3. #103
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:12 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,689

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    by whom?
    One I found:

    A CNN article summarizing the study: Leisure inequality: Who's bumming around more? - Economy

    A link to the study:
    The Evolution of Income, Consumption, and Leisure Inequality in The US, 1980-2010

    Here's a caveat to the finding:

    More than half of the increase in leisure inequality can be attributed to higher unemployment rates of adults with less education and skills, said Erik Hurst, a University of Chicago professor who co-authored the report.
    If over 50% of their findings rely on the notion that you have no job and thus your leisure time has increased, it's hardly a bang against the lower classes or the unemployed.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  4. #104
    Guru
    Juanita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    now? COLORADO
    Last Seen
    04-27-16 @ 03:50 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    3,981

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    There were a lot of social and political experiments from that generation, from the merely ambitious economic policies (the Great Society) to a renewed neomarxism (often found in the New Left) and those that sought to recreate the human experience in psychological social groups. A great many of the ideas were discontinued after disappointing results, or had been victim to pure utopianism.


    It was also a time of great upheaval with 3 assassinations which struck to the core of the nation.....The Great Society was a step in the right direction and yes, the left moved further and further to the left...

  5. #105
    Supreme knower of all
    CLAX1911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Houston, in the great state of Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,202

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Thorgasm View Post
    I like you, dude. But to be honest, you are coming across a little unhinged here in this thread. Calm down.
    I get a little upset when people surrender with out a fight.

    Seriously though, the Government has tanks and attack helicopters.
    China had tanks too.


    I don't think that man cared about propaganda.

    One unarmed man stopped a mechanized Calvary.

    The Government rules the propaganda machine. Most people are not critical thinkers.
    Carlines part of that propaganda. Funny thing about propaganda, it is worthless if people point out it's lies.
    Most people believe whatever confirms their preconceived notions.
    I think a lot of people don't believe in anything.

    As long as people have their internet and smart phones, they aren't going to "rock the boat". People as a whole are hopeless with regards to their apathy about the state of things currently.
    Materialism is a symptom of people being talked it off their beliefs dreamsand hopes.
    That could change, but as of right now, it doesn't look that way. This is why Congress has an 11% approval rating and a 97% re-election rate. People are easy to mislead.
    Why bother caring ifyou are just going to get ****ed in the end. That is why I dispised Carlin's message.

    If I appear unhinged it's because I believe in something.

    Hero's dint need to be men of steel or Jane magical greenness or be the next step in an evolutionary process. They just have to have the strength to get back up when beaten down. And not give up. Having something to believe in gives you that drive.

    I forget the origin of this quote but it was brilliant. "I don't worship heros, I pity the world that needs them"-unknown-

    I agree with that quote.
    It's okay to be white

  6. #106
    Guru
    Juanita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    now? COLORADO
    Last Seen
    04-27-16 @ 03:50 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    3,981

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Mason66 View Post
    Somebody did. His name is father time.



    Either way, he is DEAD....

  7. #107
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    I'm suggesting that each class group creates a sense of "the other" with those who are not in their income bracket.
    That may be true but does not negate my point. I was disagreeing with your argument that many people who build personal wealth to so believing that their is a positive by-product enjoyed by the greater community. I just don't believe that their is any genuine inclusion of serving some noble purpose like that in their agendas. Of course their are always exceptions and I do not demonize successful people. I hold people accountable who acquired their wealth by the abuse of others.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  8. #108
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:12 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,689

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Juanita View Post
    It was also a time of great upheaval with 3 assassinations which struck to the core of the nation.....The Great Society was a step in the right direction and yes, the left moved further and further to the left...
    Absolutely so. The victories of the era, the desperation of the time should absolutely be part of the story. However, I think it's important to note the very real strain in the intellectual history of the Left that collided with failure or unanticipated results during the 1960s and early 1970s. It often had been noted that by the 1970s, demoralization was the new reality for that generation. They left activism and politics for community organizations and their own work, feeling as if change was hardly possible.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  9. #109
    Supreme knower of all
    CLAX1911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Houston, in the great state of Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,202

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    Probably not. It's a nice sentiment though.
    Well if people weren't so quick to surrender than.
    It's okay to be white

  10. #110
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:12 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,689

    Re: Your Opinion on this Video Clip

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    That may be true but does not negate my point. I was disagreeing with your argument that many people who build personal wealth to so believing that their is a positive by-product enjoyed by the greater community. I just don't believe that their is any genuine inclusion of serving some noble purpose like that in their agendas. Of course their are always exceptions and I do not demonize successful people. I hold people accountable who acquired their wealth by the abuse of others.
    But your attitude is certainly giving credence to the notion that progressives or liberals feel a great deal more cynical about the wealthy's intentions or outlook on society.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •