View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 1 of 105 1231151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #1
    Sage
    pbrauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Oregon
    Last Seen
    11-27-15 @ 03:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,394

    Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    It was one of the Super Bowl ads:


  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    It's hyphen-Americanism and as one of the most famous progressives said, "But a hyphenated American is not an American at all.”

    Showing the Huntington Beach Pier was All American.

    I might be switching from Coke to Shasta Cola.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I was offended by the notion that people could come to America to seek liberty and then not even have the God damn decency to use that liberty in the way I want them to, who are they to speak different languages?!!?

    Coca Cola's 'America the Beautiful' Super Bowl commercial angers conservative pundits - NY Daily News

    Coke Super Bowl America The Beautiful Ad - Business Insider

    Or like this ****ing blow hard Allen West

    "I am quite sure there may some who appreciated the commercial," West said, "but Coca Cola missed the mark in my opinion. If we cannot be proud enough as a country to sing 'American the Beautiful' in English in a commercial during the Super Bowl, by a company as American as they come--doggone we are on the road to perdition. This was a truly disturbing commercial for me, what say you?"

    That's right folks, God is going to doom this country to hell because we are "proud" enough to sing America the Beautiful in English during the Superbowl. Asshole.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by APACHERAT View Post
    It's hyphen-Americanism and as one of the most famous progressives said, "But a hyphenated American is not an American at all.”

    Showing the Huntington Beach Pier was All American.

    I might be switching from Coke to Shasta Cola.
    Hey man that 1st amendment promises freedom of speech, and it doesn't mean English only speech. Anyone who specifically thinks what you just said is a xenophobic ass.

  5. #5
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,415

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I don't know what the big deal is. That said my favorite patriotic song is This Land is Your Land so maybe I don't have the emotional investment in America the Beautiful to get upset when someone sings it in any other language than American.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I understand what they were going for, but the concept still made me vaguely uncomfortable.

    If a nation's citizens need one thing in common in order to function effectively, it tends to be a language they can all speak and mutually understand. Tolerance for multiculturalism is all well and good, but it cannot be a society's primary objective in and of itself.

    It simply doesn't lead anywhere productive.

  7. #7
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,415

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I understand what they were going for, but the concept still made me vaguely uncomfortable.

    If a nation's citizens need one thing in common in order to function effectively, it tends to be a language they can all speak and mutually understand. Tolerance for multiculturalism is all well and good, but it cannot be a society's primary objective in and of itself.

    It simply doesn't lead anywhere productive.
    When someone comes here they may not speak English well yet, but the American ideal is still important to them. Maybe that is what they were going for.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I understand what they were going for, but the concept still made me vaguely uncomfortable.

    If a nation's citizens need one thing in common in order to function effectively, it tends to be a language they can all speak and mutually understand. Tolerance for multiculturalism is all well and good, but it cannot be a society's primary objective in and of itself.

    It simply doesn't lead anywhere productive.
    I think you read way too much into this ad.

  9. #9
    Sage
    soccerboy22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    A warm place
    Last Seen
    12-02-17 @ 10:35 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    10,723

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    In terms of commercials it was one of the better ones, although that isn't saying much because most of them were about as terrible as the actual game, but I didn't see anything really wrong with the commercial.
    Boston: City of Champions. New England Patriots: 2001, 2003, 2004, 2014, and 2016 Boston Red Sox: 2004, 2007 and 2013 Boston Celtics: 2008 Boston Bruins: 2011 Boston University Men's Hockey: 2008



  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    When someone comes here they may not speak English well yet, but the American ideal is still important to them. Maybe that is what they were going for.
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    I think you read way too much into this ad.
    I think I read into it exactly what was meant; "we're all Americans, we simply speak different languages, and have different cultures."

    Again, that's fine. What I object to is the notion that this is a desirable thing in and of itself. Assimilation, and the unity it creates, should be the goal, not "multiculturalism," and the ethnic factionalism in which it always inevitably results.

    I don't think the ad itself was overly political. I was simply uncomfortable with its premise.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 02-04-14 at 12:18 AM.

Page 1 of 105 1231151101 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •