View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 96 of 105 FirstFirst ... 46869495969798 ... LastLast
Results 951 to 960 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #951
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,410

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Prove that you factored in death rates. I want to see the calculations.

    Going off of your logic here, and the fact that Latino immigration is expected to remain more or less constant, their population growth would be massively over 100 million.
    As I pointed out earlier with the Nature Article, population growth equations are well established in science. If you can read the code, here is one:

    import java.util.scanner;


    public class Population


    public static void main(String[] args)
    {
    int Size,
    Year,
    increase,
    number,
    Temp;
    String input; // To Hold the user's input


    //Create a Scanner object for keyboard input.
    Scanner Keyboard = new scanner(System.in);




    int startingSize = 0, dailyIncrease = 0, numberOfDays = 0;
    int temp = 0;




    //accept initial user input here


    while (startingSize < 2)
    {
    System.out.print("Please enter a number that is greater than 1 for the population size: ");
    startingSize = keyboardInput.nextInt(System.in);
    }


    while (yearlyIncrease < 0)
    {
    System.out.print("Enter a positive integer for the population size increase: ");
    yearlyIncrease = keyboardInput.nextInt(System.in);
    }


    //do the same while loop for numberOfDays as a positive number > 0




    temp = startingSize;
    yearlyIncrease = yearlyIncrease + 1;


    for(int i = 0; i < numberOfYears; i++)
    {
    System.out.println("Year " + i);
    System.out.println("Number " + temp);
    temp = temp * yearlyIncrease;
    }


    I've traveled and I've met people from all over. None of them are more "alien" than a non-English speaking immigrant.
    I can tell you right now I have more in common with a recent Mexican immigrant I see while I am out fishing than I do with some Portland hipster.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  2. #952
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I also read that a lot of the high Hispanic birth rate among teens is due to many of those same teens having more than one child. I'm sure that is a big contributing factor in the statistics.

  3. #953
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    As I pointed out earlier with the Nature Article, population growth equations are well established in science. If you can read the code, here is one:

    import java.util.scanner;


    public class Population


    public static void main(String[] args)
    {
    int Size,
    Year,
    increase,
    number,
    Temp;
    String input; // To Hold the user's input


    //Create a Scanner object for keyboard input.
    Scanner Keyboard = new scanner(System.in);




    int startingSize = 0, dailyIncrease = 0, numberOfDays = 0;
    int temp = 0;




    //accept initial user input here


    while (startingSize < 2)
    {
    System.out.print("Please enter a number that is greater than 1 for the population size: ");
    startingSize = keyboardInput.nextInt(System.in);
    }


    while (yearlyIncrease < 0)
    {
    System.out.print("Enter a positive integer for the population size increase: ");
    yearlyIncrease = keyboardInput.nextInt(System.in);
    }


    //do the same while loop for numberOfDays as a positive number > 0




    temp = startingSize;
    yearlyIncrease = yearlyIncrease + 1;


    for(int i = 0; i < numberOfYears; i++)
    {
    System.out.println("Year " + i);
    System.out.println("Number " + temp);
    temp = temp * yearlyIncrease;
    }




    I can tell you right now I have more in common with a recent Mexican immigrant I see while I am out fishing than I do with some Portland hipster.
    How would you know that if you cannot even communicate with him!!!

  4. #954
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,410

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Frankly Gathomas88 I am not sure why you are now debating math just because it proves your assertion wrong that you cannot have high growth over 50 years with a fertility rate of 2.4. Personally, and anyone on here that has debated me will attest to this, when I am obviously wrong about something I admit it and move on. The problem is high fertility rates. If we return to high immigration rates, it will only make the problem worse. I don't see it as a problem of hispanics becoming the majority, but rather that we have too many people in this world period, regardless of their race or ethnicity.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  5. #955
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    As I pointed out earlier with the Nature Article, population growth equations are well established in science. If you can read the code, here is one:
    The point here, is that there are estimated to be somewhere around 500,000 illegal Hispanic immigrants flooding into the United States each year. In addition to legal Hispanic immigration, we are very likely looking at a number closer to one million.

    Going on a fifty year model here, that would equate to a population doubling for the American Latino community in and of itself without even factoring for birth rates

    Since we're only expecting to see only a little over 100 million Latino Americans in the United States by 2050, clearly death rates must play a significant role in curbing their overall population growth.

    I never said that the Latino community could not grow of its own accord. I said that the growth in question would not be quote so explosive as what we are expecting to see if it were not for the effects of immigration.

    I can tell you right now I have more in common with a recent Mexican immigrant I see while I am out fishing than I do with some Portland hipster.
    That seems kind of doubtful. The hipster might be an idiot, but that is only because he is deliberately choosing to behave like one.

    You are still going to have a lot more in common with an American in terms of cultural frame of reference and life experiences than you are a foreigner, and a non-English speaking one at that.

  6. #956
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,410

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    How would you know that if you cannot even communicate with him!!!
    Fishing requires no language to communicate.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  7. #957
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,410

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    The point here, is that there are estimated to be somewhere around 500,000 illegal Hispanic immigrants flooding into the United States each year. In addition to legal Hispanic immigration, we are very likely looking at a number closer to one million.

    Going on a fifty year model here, that would equate to a population doubling for the American Latino community in and of itself without even factoring for birth rates

    Since we're only expecting to see only a little over 100 million Latino Americans in the United States by 2050, clearly death rates must play a significant role in curbing their overall population growth.



    That seems kind of doubtful. The hipster might be an idiot, but that is only because he is deliberately choosing to behave like one.

    You are still going to have a lot more in common with an American in terms of cultural frame of reference and life experiences than you are a foreigner, and a non-English speaking one at that.
    I am sorry you are math challenged here, but if you have a fertility rate of 2.4 and a death rate of .0056% per year, then birth rates are outstripping death rates by a good margin over time. To put it simply, everyone is born and everyone dies, if you have a fertility rate of over 2.0 then you have a growing population. Take it out over 50 years and its pretty substantial. In this case, a doubling of population over 50 years. Population growth due to high fertility rates is exponential, absent another plague death rates aren't.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  8. #958
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    I couldn't say. I know plenty of people that are not religious who are married and were not single parents or teen parents, and PLENTY of people who were raised in "religious" families who ended up being teen moms/single parents. I think religious people like to think that it does, but I really don't think religion itself plays a role in such things but more your upbringing and environment in general. Non-religious people can be good people too.
    True, but I think religion plays heavily into upbringing and environment in the first place.

    The overall importance of religion to our society has greatly declined over the course of the last century or so, and this has served to make both the general cultural environment and standards of upbringing a lot more morally relaxed.

    This has pretty strongly correlated with an increase in the prevalency of things like single motherhood and divorce.

  9. #959
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    I am sorry you are math challenged here, but if you have a fertility rate of 2.4 and a death rate of .0056% per year, then birth rates are outstripping death rates by a good margin over time. To put it simply, everyone is born and everyone dies, if you have a fertility rate of over 2.0 then you have a growing population. Take it out over 50 years and its pretty substantial. In this case, a doubling of population over 50 years. Population growth due to high fertility rates is exponential, absent another plague death rates aren't.
    And again, what about immigration then? Why aren't we going to see a Latino population of 150 or 200 million by 2050 if your reasoning is correct?

    Clearly, there are some variables you are failing to account for here.

  10. #960
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,410

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    And again, what about immigration then? Why aren't we going to see a Latino population of 150 or 200 million by 2050 if your reasoning is correct?

    Clearly, there are some variables you are failing to account for here.
    We very well could see a Latino population that high in 50 years if immigration accelerates. Census demographers are assuming that Hispanic birth rates fall to the same levels of Whites and Asians in the coming decades.

    You argued that birth rates could not account for the population of Hispanics doubling in 50 years. I pointed out that they certainly could if you have a fertility rate of 2.4. Thus disproving your assertion. Which you still don't seem to accept.

    All I can say is that if we return to a net increase in Hispanic immigration to the United States, then I sure hope their fertility rate declines, otherwise the environmental costs of that kind of population growth could be catastrophic.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

Page 96 of 105 FirstFirst ... 46869495969798 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •