View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 82 of 105 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492 ... LastLast
Results 811 to 820 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #811
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Northern Light View Post
    Of course it's about immigration, but it's not like coke invented that topic either. They're just using it to make money, which you're helping them to do. Instead of talking about immigration, now people will be talking about it with Coke™ attached to it.
    So you're just ignoring the fact that most people, and anyone seemingly discussing the topic in-depth here, are not even mentioning coke or the commercial?

    I guess what ever it takes to shine that halo and convince yourself that "you're a special little snowflake"

  2. #812
    Irremovable Intelligence
    Removable Mind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:35 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    23,497

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I knew you'd hit me with another link. Just need to keep you on the up and up. Those krawzie Russians might say anything.

    Okay, welp...I'm sure Sangha will either reply to this significant change of source...or not.

    So you still think there's a decline in the American population - over all? I mean even if all of the whites die out...there'll still be a lot of folks here, ya know.

    I know you've voiced your woes about what'll happen if we have negative birth rates many times before. That's why you gotta ta get bizzzieeee Mr. Thomas! Big Love...remember? Hey, it ain't legal, but what the hell, America is counting on ya.

  3. #813
    The Light of Truth
    Northern Light's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:05 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    4,965

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Chuckles View Post
    So you're just ignoring the fact that most people, and anyone seemingly discussing the topic in-depth here, are not even mentioning coke or the commercial?

    I guess what ever it takes to shine that halo and convince yourself that "you're a special little snowflake"
    Give it a rest. I can contribute to any topic in any way I like, I don't have to sink into the immigration debate every single time, okay?

    You wouldn't even be talking about this if it weren't for coke. Don't get so uptight because this debate got pegged for what it is.

  4. #814
    Sage
    cpwill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USofA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    57,106

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I'm sorry, but the simple fact of the matter here is that these kinds of problems were virtually unheard of with previous waves of immigrants to this country.

    Hell! They are unheard for current waves of non-Hispanic immigrants.
    STRATFOR delves into this, on occasion, to point out the geographic background behind the differences that hallmark the Latino immigration:

    ...Borderlands and the Geopolitics of Immigration
    Underlying this political process was a geopolitical one. Immigration in any country is destabilizing. Immigrants have destabilized the United States ever since the Scots-Irish changed American culture, taking political power and frightening prior settlers. The same immigrants were indispensable to economic growth. Social and cultural instability proved a low price to pay for the acquisition of new labor.

    That equation ultimately also works in the case of Mexican migrants, but there is a fundamental difference. When the Irish or the Poles or the South Asians came to the United States, they were physically isolated from their homelands. The Irish might have wanted Roman Catholic schools, but in the end, they had no choice but to assimilate into the dominant culture. The retention of cultural hangovers did not retard basic cultural assimilation, given that they were far from home and surrounded by other, very different, groups.

    This is the case for Mexican-Americans in Chicago or Alaska, whether citizens, permanent residents or illegal immigrants. In such locales, they form a substantial but ultimately isolated group, surrounded by other, larger groups and generally integrated into the society and economy. Success requires that subsequent generations follow the path of prior immigrants and integrate. This is not the case, however, for Mexicans moving into the borderlands conquered by the United States just as it is not the case in other borderlands around the world. Immigrant populations in this region are not physically separated from their homeland, but rather can be seen as culturally extending their homeland northward -- in this case not into alien territory, but into historically Mexican lands.

    This is no different from what takes place in borderlands the world over. The political border moves because of war. Members of an alien population suddenly become citizens of a new country. Sometimes, massive waves of immigrants from the group that originally controlled the territory politically move there, undertaking new citizenship or refusing to do so. The cultural status of the borderland shifts between waves of ethnic cleansing and population movement. Politics and economics mix, sometimes peacefully and sometimes explosively.

    The Mexican-American War established the political boundary between the two countries. Economic forces on both sides of the border have encouraged both legal and illegal immigration north into the borderland -- the area occupied by the United States. The cultural character of the borderland is shifting as the economic and demographic process accelerates. The political border stays where it is while the cultural border moves northward....
    And so, therefore...

    ...The problem is that Mexicans are not seen in the traditional context of immigration to the United States. As I have said, some see them as extending their homeland into the United States, rather than as leaving their homeland and coming to the United States. Moreover, by treating illegal immigration as an acceptable mode of immigration, a sense of helplessness is created, a feeling that the prior order of society was being profoundly and illegally changed. And finally, when those who express these concerns are demonized, they become radicalized. The tension between Washington and Arizona -- between those who benefit from the migration and those who don't -- and the tension between Mexican-Americans who are legal residents and citizens of the United States and support illegal immigration and non-Mexicans who oppose illegal immigration creates a potentially explosive situation.

    Centuries ago, Scots moved to Northern Ireland after the English conquered it. The question of Northern Ireland, a borderland, was never quite settled. Similarly, Albanians moved to now-independent Kosovo, where tensions remain high. The world is filled with borderlands where political and cultural borders don't coincide and where one group wants to change the political border that another group sees as sacred....

  5. #815
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Northern Light View Post
    Give it a rest. I can contribute to any topic in any way I like, I don't have to sink into the immigration debate every single time, okay?
    No one said you couldn't.

    You wouldn't even be talking about this if it weren't for coke. Don't get so uptight because this debate got pegged for what it is.
    Yeah, the coke commercial initiated the discussion, no one denied that and that wasn't your original complaint. Your original complaint was people discussing the commercial and coke, which is not really being done here

  6. #816
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Removable Mind View Post
    I knew you'd hit me with another link. Just need to keep you on the up and up. Those krawzie Russians might say anything.

    Okay, welp...I'm sure Sangha will either reply to this significant change of source...or not.

    So you still think there's a decline in the American population - over all? I mean even if all of the whites die out...there'll still be a lot of folks here, ya know.

    I know you've voiced your woes about what'll happen if we have negative birth rates many times before. That's why you gotta ta get bizzzieeee Mr. Thomas! Big Love...remember? Hey, it ain't legal, but what the hell, America is counting on ya.
    Eh. As I said before, in the long run, it might not even be all that bad a thing if the current "white culture" dies out or diminishes to the point of irrelevancy. It's kind of a train wreck, in case you haven't noticed, and the Latino community actually does tend to carry some cultural values that I'm rather fond of (Catholicism, family, the value of hard work, etca).

    Besides, mang, Latin women are muy caliente!

    That being said, however; one cannot really deny the nature of what is happening here, or the latent idiocy of the "multicultural" ideology being espoused by many posters in this thread.

    The simple fact of the matter is that the United States' native culture of the last two centuries is in decline for the first time in its history. As such, it is now vulnerable to having its dominance threatened by the arrival of culturally alien immigrant groups en masse.

    That is exactly what we are now experiencing, and have experienced for the last couple of decades. Historically speaking, it also tends to be a truism to say that cultural clashes and demographic displacement of this nature tends to be less than beneficial for the stability and social wellbeing of the nations in which they occur.

    Regardless of whether the change turns out to be for the best in the long run or not, I do believe that any potential decline of the United State's existing culture will pose significant problems over the course of the coming century if current trends continue.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 02-06-14 at 09:41 PM.

  7. #817
    The Light of Truth
    Northern Light's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:05 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    4,965

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Chuckles View Post
    Yeah, the coke commercial initiated the discussion, no one denied that and that wasn't your original complaint. Your original complaint was people discussing the commercial and coke, which is not really being done here
    It doesn't matter if you actually mention them or not. This discussion is under their banner. Same with the facebook discussions, and twitter discussions. That's my point.

    The conflict is profitable for them which is why I don't want to partake in it other to point out their involvement so that others may be aware.

  8. #818
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Northern Light View Post
    It doesn't matter if you actually mention them or not. This discussion is under their banner. Same with the facebook discussions, and twitter discussions. That's my point.

    The conflict is profitable for them which is why I don't want to partake in it other to point out their involvement so that others may be aware.
    again, if the complaint is that people are participating in a discussion simply initiated by coke, then you're really not "boycotting" anything by participating in that discussion. Even if your participation is ironically limited to you cooing about how you're above participating in it

  9. #819
    Irremovable Intelligence
    Removable Mind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:35 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    23,497

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Eh. As I said before, in the long run, it might not even be all that bad a thing if the current "white culture" dies out or diminishes to the point of irrelevancy. It's kind of a train wreck, in case you haven't noticed, and the Latino community actually does tend to carry some cultural values that I'm rather fond of (Catholicism, family, the value of hard work, etca).

    That being said, however; one cannot really deny the nature of what is happening here, or the latent idiocy of "multicultural" ideology.

    The simple fact of the matter is that the United States' native culture of the last two centuries is in decline for the first time in its history. As such, it is now vulnerable to having its dominance threatened by the arrival of culturally alien immigrant groups en masse.

    That is exactly what we are currently experiencing, and have experienced for the last couple of decades. Historically speaking, it also tends to be a truism to say that cultural clashes and demographic displacement of this nature tends to be less than beneficial for the stability and social wellbeing of the nations in which they occur.

    Regardless of whether the change turns out to be for the best in the long run or not, I do believe that the decline of the United State's existing culture will pose significant problems over the course of the coming century if current trends continue.
    There's one thing that I do know. And as time goes by the more I know...the more I know that I don't know.

    BUT: You and I and most everybody else...completely powerless in this matter. The world is gonna live until it dies...just like the rest of us. The consequences of humanity's wild and crazy doings...will create whatever challenges all the following generations may be faced with. They'll deal and cope with those challenges or they won't. It's just evolutionary growing pains. When everything hurts hard enough ...long enough, maybe humanity will get their act together...whatever that is.

  10. #820
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Removable Mind View Post
    BUT: You and I and most everybody else...completely powerless in this matter.
    No, govt has a pretty big influence over immigration policy

Page 82 of 105 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •