View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 76 of 105 FirstFirst ... 2666747576777886 ... LastLast
Results 751 to 760 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #751
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    I haven't heard anything about changing green card laws. The only thing I've heard is that they want to simplify the path to citizenship, not residency.
    Marco Rubio suggested making it a provision that immigrants must speak at least some English before being able to work in the country, and I agree. That would be the smart idea.

  2. #752
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Well since you seem to be such an expert . . . is there a limit on the number of green cards issued? If so, how many? If a person can just keep renewing their green card, what is the point of even having a citizenship test? I didn't see in your link mentioned anywhere about special provisions, or do they just give them to anyone who wants one?
    I'm no expert LOL. I don't know how many green cards are given every year and I also don't know how the selection process goes. I do know it's costly and there is a HUGE waiting list which is one of the reasons people give up and just jump the fence.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  3. #753
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Marco Rubio suggested making it a provision that immigrants must speak at least some English before being able to work in the country, and I agree. That would be the smart idea.
    I'm good with that too. It's smart policy, for ANY country.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  4. #754
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    [QUOTE=Dr. Chuckles;1062886666]
    right, we just don't give anyone a green card. But that isn't the same as having a requirement for being proficient in English
    I never said any immigrants had to be proficient. As a matter of fact I have repeated stated that they should have a COMPULSORY understanding of written and spoken English. Now, you say we don't just give them to anyone, so what are the requirements?

    Well, they have been posted here multiple times, by you and in posts you responded to ....
    No, specific qualifications are not mentioned. It just mentions the reasons WHY you could apply for a green card, employment, family and asylum.


    work visa=/=green card
    I've never had to use a visa or a green card, so I know a minimal amount about them. Do you have to be vaccinated first, do you have to have a medical examination, are there any requirements at all? If so what are they?

  5. #755
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    I think there is a medical exam, yes. And no they don't just give them to anyone. Even the yearly green card lottery is not really a lottery at all and there's definitely some deliberate selection going on.
    Well, do they normally select non-English speakers? Or do they have preferences on the types of people and perhaps their education level and such other things before issuing them a card? And what about criminal background checks?

  6. #756
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    okla-freakin-homa
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    12,632

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Marco Rubio suggested making it a provision that immigrants must speak at least some English before being able to work in the country, and I agree. That would be the smart idea.
    One (of many) problems I have with Marco Rubio is his folks didn't need a pathway nor was there any requirement for citizenship past one dry foot. They were not required to speak English. being cuban all they needed to do was get to dry land.

    I'm curious what Rubio considers 'some' English. I'll wager a shiny TP button 99.9% of all immigrants speak 'some' English.

  7. #757
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Well, do they normally select non-English speakers? Or do they have preferences on the types of people and perhaps their education level and such other things before issuing them a card? And what about criminal background checks?
    Like I said my friends in Spain didn't know much English and they corresponded with the US gov in Spanish. The guy is a banker and was offered a job in NY. There were background checks, yes. This other couple I knew back in Zurich actually won the green card lottery for them and their two kids. Again, he was a banker, spoke decent English. She was a homemaker, atrocious English. He was Swiss and she was Russian. They spent a year in the US and decided to go back to Switzerland.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  8. #758
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by notquiteright View Post
    One (of many) problems I have with Marco Rubio is his folks didn't need a pathway nor was there any requirement for citizenship past one dry foot. They were not required to speak English. being cuban all they needed to do was get to dry land.

    I'm curious what Rubio considers 'some' English. I'll wager a shiny TP button 99.9% of all immigrants speak 'some' English.
    actually refugee status is treated differently in a number of ways to general immigration, and I really fail to see why such a distinction shouldn't be made. Secondly, I fail to see why the conditions Rubio's parents came over under should disqualify an idea that seems to pass the smell test on it's own merits.

  9. #759
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    Like I said my friends in Spain didn't know much English and they corresponded with the US gov in Spanish. The guy is a banker and was offered a job in NY. There were background checks, yes. This other couple I knew back in Zurich actually won the green card lottery for them and their two kids. Again, he was a banker, spoke decent English. She was a homemaker, atrocious English. He was Swiss and she was Russian. They spent a year in the US and decided to go back to Switzerland.

    Was she a swiss citizen at the time? Seems like Russians immigrate in enough numbers already that they wouldn't qualify for the lottery.

  10. #760
    free market communist
    Gardener's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Last Seen
    09-30-17 @ 12:27 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    26,661

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    He was Swiss and she was Russian. .
    Sounds like a household with lots of drinking....


    all measured out very precisely.
    "you're better off on Stormfront discussing how evil brown men are taking innocent white flowers." Infinite Chaos

Page 76 of 105 FirstFirst ... 2666747576777886 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •