View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 63 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1353616263646573 ... LastLast
Results 621 to 630 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #621
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    okla-freakin-homa
    Last Seen
    Today @ 05:09 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    12,619

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ocean515 View Post
    Indeed. And show that love by illustrating we don't want to communicate with each other. "E Pluribus, Separatum" Now that's Progress.
    I don't think the average American can tilt their head to the right near enough to see the ad as promoting separation.

    But I do think it is funny to hear CONs go on and on about togetherness when their current political philosophy is 'every man for himself' and "the devil take the hindmost'.

  2. #622
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Because there are certain sectors of our population here in America that would call that bigotry, even if it is logical.
    But that's not why these proposals have been rejected in the past. It was always some sort of constitutional issue, especially in regards to lex solis and the official national language.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  3. #623
    Guru
    sawdust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Last Seen
    03-04-16 @ 09:47 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    3,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    This has been going on for decades, though. Kinda makes you wonder why nothing has been done to change it, other than to provide amnesty for millions every other decade. Why don't you change your lex solis laws? Why don't you make English the only official language throughout the nation? Why is it so easy to just show up and get a house, a job, a drivers license etc... when you have no valid immigration papers? Why not create a system that requires employers, landlords etc.. to verify iimigrations status? Every time these solutions have been proposed your politicians have invariably argued against them on some dodgy constitutional grounds. It's all well and good to complain, but it's not like this is a new problem. It's been decades in the making and the only solution that is ever implemented is amnesty.
    Amen Sister, immigration reform is stuck in congress. The problem is that big labor and big business want relaxed immigration laws. They want new union members and they want cheap labor. Many of the rest of us can't figure out why someone who snuck across the border should get special treatment from the government yet those who want to come here legally have to go through a long process. We don't know why we don't protect the border as our constitution instructs us to do. The situations you describe are a real problem. Now the Speaker of the House, a Republican, wants to push through immigration reform which by polling nobody considers the number one priority in a long list of work they could be doing. Our government is hopelessly lost and the only thing that will fix it is a clean sweep. All our congresscritters need to go, both Republican and Democrat, well, except the ones I like.
    "A democracy cannot exist as a permanent form of government. It can only exist until the majority discovers it can vote itself largess out of the public treasury." Attributed to Alexander Tytler

  4. #624
    Global Moderator
    Moderator
    Helix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    37,064

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful?
    it was an attempt at viral marketing that depends on popular public sentiment.

    much like :



    my opinion on immigration, independent of soft drinks, is that most of us are immigrants and sons / daughters of immigrants. it's part of what makes the country cool.

    that being said, i'm more of a diet rite man, but coke zero is decent. coke should go superhippy and switch back to glass bottles instead of plastic. i preferred the 16 oz glass to the plastic model. it was fun to return the bottles, and better for the environment.



  5. #625
    Question authority
    Grand Mal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    on an island off the left coast of Canada
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:48 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    16,440
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Because there are certain sectors of our population here in America that would call that bigotry, even if it is logical.
    And certain other sectors that will fight tooth and claw to keep the pool of cheap labour available.
    "I did not mean that Conservatives are generally stupid people. I meant that stupid people are generally Conservatives."
    -John Stuart Mill-

  6. #626
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    But that's not why these proposals have been rejected in the past. It was always some sort of constitutional issue, especially in regards to lex solis and the official national language.
    I would have to look into the reasons for that a little more. I'm not really familiar, but right now (unfortunately) I have to get to work and will try to address this later on. TTYL!

  7. #627
    Sage

    ocean515's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Southern California
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    24,705

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by notquiteright View Post
    I don't think the average American can tilt their head to the right near enough to see the ad as promoting separation.

    But I do think it is funny to hear CONs go on and on about togetherness when their current political philosophy is 'every man for himself' and "the devil take the hindmost'.
    I never tire of the radical left's conflation agenda. "Hysterical" can be applied across so many meanings.

    I mearly observed the commercial could have been more powerful had the people tried to sing America the Beautiful in English, with their various accents illustrating we are all one big melting pot.

    However, as illustrated, Proglets apparently can't even consider something as simple as an opinion without injecting some absurd venom.

  8. #628
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by sawdust View Post
    Amen Sister, immigration reform is stuck in congress. The problem is that big labor and big business want relaxed immigration laws. They want new union members and they want cheap labor. Many of the rest of us can't figure out why someone who snuck across the border should get special treatment from the government yet those who want to come here legally have to go through a long process. We don't know why we don't protect the border as our constitution instructs us to do. The situations you describe are a real problem. Now the Speaker of the House, a Republican, wants to push through immigration reform which by polling nobody considers the number one priority in a long list of work they could be doing. Our government is hopelessly lost and the only thing that will fix it is a clean sweep. All our congresscritters need to go, both Republican and Democrat, well, except the ones I like.
    No argument here. The problem is people keep reelecting the same people over and over, year after year.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  9. #629
    Mod Conspiracy Theorist
    rocket88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    A very blue state
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,125

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Because there are certain sectors of our population here in America that would call that bigotry, even if it is logical.
    There's an issue with making it official. There's Puerto Rico, and people who's families have been in New Mexico since it was part of "Old" Mexico. I don't think it's necessary for the government to legislate what language people speak.



    Quote Originally Posted by Jetboogieman View Post
    This issue has been plowed more times than Paris Hilton.
    Quote Originally Posted by Oborosen View Post
    Too bad we have to observe human rights.

  10. #630
    Sage
    Dragonfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East Coast - USA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 04:33 PM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    15,494

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    No they don't. They just see it differently than you do.
    And some people see their future in a deck of cards, or in the lines on their hands, or in their horoscope.

    All idiots and buffoons.

    It was a coke commercial. One that was done quite nicely, and very tastefully.

    There was NOTHING offensive about it.

    It was a celebration of the United States Of America and the people that make it what it is.

Page 63 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1353616263646573 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •