View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 62 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1252606162636472 ... LastLast
Results 611 to 620 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #611
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by americanwoman View Post
    Your article does point out the accident rate is higher but it also points out that is due to employers not providing as much training, safety, and better workplace environments for the Hispanic workers as they do for American born workers. So if you hire 10 people and provide the necessary steps to do the job to half of them and not the other half, which do you think will prosper in their job?
    That is not true. All union construction workers have to take OSHA classes. If the worker is not informed, it is because he/she did not understand because they do not speak or understand English.

    Union construction workers cannot work unless they are OSHA certified.

  2. #612
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 03:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,433

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    I have no issue with this. I just think they should know English as well. I enjoy the diversity we have in America too. It makes life much more interesting.
    I agree with you, I do think speaking English is important but it's also important to understand that not everyone will learn it right away and while they do so, they need help and probably a job too.

    Do you want them to come here and just live off the government until they can speak Engilsh good enough or is it okay to start a job (even construction ) and learn the language as well? While they may not be able to communicate and understand at first which may cause accidents, if you want them to learn it's a process and not an overnight one.
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

  3. #613
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 03:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,433

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    That is not true. All union construction workers have to take OSHA classes. If the worker is not informed, it is because he/she did not understand because they do not speak or understand English.

    Union construction workers cannot work unless they are OSHA certified.
    Alot of construction workers, roofers and drywall for example, are not union.
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

  4. #614
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by americanwoman View Post
    I agree with you, I do think speaking English is important but it's also important to understand that not everyone will learn it right away and while they do so, they need help and probably a job too.

    Do you want them to come here and just live off the government until they can speak Engilsh good enough or is it okay to start a job (even construction ) and learn the language as well? While they may not be able to communicate and understand at first which may cause accidents, if you want them to learn it's a process and not an overnight one.
    I want them to follow proper procedure and have a basic understanding of English. That IS one of the requirement of citizenship after all, and it only makes good sense. It is not our job to cater to them. If they want to come here to work and earn money, that's fine. Do it properly and don't make yourself into a liability. That is just irresponsible and kind of ignorant too.

  5. #615
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by americanwoman View Post
    Alot of construction workers, roofers and drywall for example, are not union.
    And those companies are usually very small companies that could not afford to cater to immigrants. They have to be able to understand instruction in English period. No ifs, ands or buts about it.

  6. #616
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 03:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,433

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    And those companies are usually very small companies that could not afford to cater to immigrants. They have to be able to understand instruction in English period. No ifs, ands or buts about it.
    Cheap labor much?

    Yes, small companies are the ones mostly hiring immigrants, then subcontracting them to the other larger ones. It trickles down so they can all benefit from the cheap labor. They don't give a **** if the workers don't speak english or can't follow instructions. They want to reap all they can at a higher gain to them and a higher cost to all of us.
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

  7. #617
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by americanwoman View Post
    Cheap labor much?

    Yes, small companies are the ones mostly hiring immigrants, then subcontracting them to the other larger ones. It trickles down so they can all benefit from the cheap labor. They don't give a **** if the workers don't speak english or can't follow instructions. They want to reap all they can at a higher gain to them and a higher cost to all of us.
    Which is why it is in the best interest of the immigrant to not be ignorant. Being able to speak and understand the dominant language helps everyone.

  8. #618
    Sage

    ocean515's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Southern California
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    24,705

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by notquiteright View Post
    Ummm that in America, people who came from across the world have a common thread and love for the new homeland?

    Oh and have a Coke and a smile.....
    Indeed. And show that love by illustrating we don't want to communicate with each other. "E Pluribus, Separatum"

    Now that's Progress.

  9. #619
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by sawdust View Post
    Americans are different than Europeans. We have been on an island for centuries, separated from the rest of the world by oceans without the ability to drive for a few hours and be in countries where they don't speak our native tongue. The need to be bi lingual is not as great in America. That's not the issue here though. The issue for many is that some foreigners come here with the intention of making money to send home and then return to their homeland in many cases. Some tax our social safety nets or come here to have children who are granted citizenship. They are called anchor babies and their existence is to make immigration easier for the rest of their families.

    Some of us become a little sensitive about how our nation is used by people who don't assimilate. I'm not saying anything about the people in the video specifically but the video can be interpreted in many ways. Some see it as a sign of diversity, some see it as a sign of our nation being used in a manner which is unacceptable.
    This has been going on for decades, though. Kinda makes you wonder why nothing has been done to change it, other than to provide amnesty for millions every other decade. Why don't you change your lex solis laws? Why don't you make English the only official language throughout the nation? Why is it so easy to just show up and get a house, a job, a drivers license etc... when you have no valid immigration papers? Why not create a system that requires employers, landlords etc.. to verify iimigrations status? Every time these solutions have been proposed your politicians have invariably argued against them on some dodgy constitutional grounds. It's all well and good to complain, but it's not like this is a new problem. It's been decades in the making and the only solution that is ever implemented is amnesty.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  10. #620
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    This has been going on for decades, though. Kinda makes you wonder why nothing has been done to change it, other than to provide amnesty for millions every other decade. Why don't you change your lex solis laws? Why don't you make English the only official language throughout the nation? Why is it so easy to just show up and get a house, a job, a drivers license etc... when you have no valid immigration papers? Why not create a system that requires employers, landlords etc.. to verify iimigrations status? Every time these solutions have been proposed your politicians have invariably argued against them on some dodgy constitutional grounds. It's all well and good to complain, but it's not like this is a new problem. It's been decades in the making and the only solution that is ever implemented is amnesty.
    Because there are certain sectors of our population here in America that would call that bigotry, even if it is logical.

Page 62 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1252606162636472 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •