View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 60 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1050585960616270 ... LastLast
Results 591 to 600 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #591
    Dungeon Master
    anti socialist

    X Factor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Texas Proud
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:53 PM
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    44,726

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    Not at all, an easy example is Zyphlin him and me don't agree on everything but the man is one the smartest and level headed posters here. I wish I could be as calm as that guy, and I know if he chooses to disagree with me in a topic I'm either about to concede or have a run for my money.
    Is that the only example you can think of? Ok so having a level head is respectable. Does that mean that someone who is constantly angry at and name calling people for disagreeing with him is not someone to respect as a debater?

  2. #592
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    A Mexican gardener isn't putting anybody at risk by not speaking English.
    A Nigerian cab driver who knows street names in English and nothing else isn't putting anybody at risk.
    A Chinese guy who only understands "Number ...." at Chinese restaurants isn't putting you at risk.
    A Greek guy mopping floors at the mall after 10PM isn't putting you at risk.
    An Arab who fixes computers at a coffee shop isn't putting you at risk.

    These are the jobs that immigrants do. They're not doctors or even construction workers for the most part. The majority of them work menial jobs that Americans don't want to be paid $7.50 an hour to do.
    Look bud, the more you post, the more obvious it is that you're just pulling stuff out of your butt like usual.

    This study examines where construction workers come from by analyzing the most recent 2011 American Community Survey (ACS) from the Census Bureau and compares the findings with the results from the 2004 ACS, the last time the NAHB Economics conducted a similar analysis. The results show that immigrants have been an important source of new recruits to the construction industry—accounting for a large share of the overall labor force. The inflow of foreign born labor into construction is cyclical and coincides with the overall housing activity. Their share was rising rapidly during the housing boom years when labor shortages were widespread and serious. But even during the severe housing downturn and a period of high unemployment the construction labor force continued to recruit new immigrants to partially replace native and foreign born workers leaving the industry.

  3. #593
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by americanwoman View Post
    I'm not trying to trump facts, I'm just saying from personal knowledge there's never been a language problem if the people work together and get over it. It's when jackasses feel superior and don't want to help each other that's when accidents happen.
    No! When something happens on the job site, people need to be able to understand each other. It has NOTHING to do with feeling superior. It has EVERYTHING to do with not being able to understand one another.

  4. #594
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 03:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,433

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    No! When something happens on the job site, people need to be able to understand each other. It has NOTHING to do with feeling superior. It has EVERYTHING to do with not being able to understand one another.

    So what about accidents that happen to English speakers? What's their excuse for not understanding or communicating?
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

  5. #595
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    It's funny, I can post link after link after link to studies which prove what I'm saying to be the truth, but there are still those who have their mind shut so tightly that all they can think about is that it MUST be bigotry and hatred and not just the plain truth and common sense. Not being able to communicate effectively with one another has consequences, and sometimes those consequences result in a person's death!!! THAT is a FACT.

  6. #596
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by americanwoman View Post
    So what about accidents that happen to English speakers? What's their excuse for not understanding or communicating?
    That is a retarded question that I'm not even going to dignify with a response. Now you are just grasping desperately at straws. All of the things I have stated in this thread are true and I have backed them.

  7. #597
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:52 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,048

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Look bud, the more you post, the more obvious it is that you're just pulling stuff out of your butt like usual.
    You're either not reading your links or you are posting links to see what sticks. Immigrants in construction account for 2.2 million as per your link. Total number of immigrants in the US? 38 million. That means 5% of all immigrants work in construction. The rest? Menial jobs. So again I ask, what danger does the guy fixing computers at a computer store pose to you?
    Last edited by Hatuey; 02-05-14 at 10:42 AM.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  8. #598
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    okla-freakin-homa
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    12,620

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    They speak our language. They obey our laws. They make an effort to ingratiate themselves with the people living here before they arrived and contribute something to the collective whole of our society as a whole. They don't saunter in like they own the place, and demand that everyone else change to accommodate them. Such people are not behaving like potential citizens, with an interest in becoming a part of our greater culture, but arrogant tourists. They should be treated as such.
    So do you 'ingratiate' yourself as a 'real' American? Millions of Americans can trace their roots much farther back than I. Must I in some way cow-tow to anyone with a DAR button? So who demands that 'everyone else' changes to accommodate them? NO ONE has asked me to do a damn thing to accommodate anyone. But I am a good sort and quite willing to help most who ask for it- I seriously doubt anyone has sauntered up to you and demanded anything who couldn't speak da Engrish.

    Our 'greater culture' is such a mish mash of imported cultures that you are hard pressed to claim it is somehow now frozen as a dominate culture.

    I'll admit I am not a great judge of saunter, but to my untrained mind I've seen far more arrogant Americans saunter across the nation and overseas than ever a recent import.

  9. #599
    Finite and Precious
    Jredbaron96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    With you.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:19 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    7,876
    Blog Entries
    2

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I couldn't care less.
    "Human kindness has never weakened the stamina or softened the fiber of a free people. A nation does not have to be cruel to be tough."
    -FDR

  10. #600
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 03:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,433

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    That is a retarded question that I'm not even going to dignify with a response. Now you are just grasping desperately at straws. All of the things I have stated in this thread are true and I have backed them.
    Retarded huh? You like to throw that word around alot.

    Anyway let's look at some statistics

    https://www.osha.gov/oshstats/commonstats.html

    Construction's "Fatal Four"
    Out of 3,945* worker fatalities in private industry in calendar year 2012, 775 or 19.6% were in construction. The leading causes of worker deaths on construction sites were falls, followed by struck by object, electrocution, and caught-in/between. These "Fatal Four" were responsible for nearly three out of five (56%) construction worker deaths in 2012*, BLS reports. Eliminating the Fatal Four would save 435 workers' lives in America every year.

    ■Falls – 278 out of 775 total deaths in construction in CY 2012 (36%)
    ■Struck by Object – 78 (10%)
    ■Electrocutions – 66 (9%)
    ■Caught-in/between – 13 (2%)

    Back to OSHA Data & Statistics

    Commonly Used Statistics
    Federal OSHA coverage
    Federal OSHA is a small agency; with our state partners we have approximately 2,200 inspectors responsible for the health and safety of 130 million workers, employed at more than 8 million worksites around the nation—which translates to about one compliance officer for every 59,000 workers.

    Federal OSHA has 10 regional offices and 90 local area offices.

    OSHA budget
    FY 2011: $573,096,000
    FY 2012: $564,788,000
    FY 2013: $563,658,000 (Full Year CR)–with Sequestration: $535,246,000

    OSHA inspections
    FY 2012 Total Federal inspections: 40,961
    FY 2012 Total 18(b) State Plan inspections: 51,133

    Worker injuries, illnesses and fatalities
    4,383 workers were killed on the job in 2012 [BLS revised 2012 workplace fatality data*] (3.2 per 100,000 full-time equivalent workers) – on average, more than 84 a week or nearly 12 deaths every day. (This is the second lowest preliminary total since the fatal injury census was first conducted in 1992.)

    708 Hispanic or Latino workers were killed from work-related injuries in 2012–on average, more than 13 deaths a week or nearly two Latino workers killed every single day of the year, all year long.

    Fatal work injuries involving contractors accounted for 16 percent of all fatal work injuries in 2012.

    Construction's "Fatal Four"
    Out of 3,945* worker fatalities in private industry in calendar year 2012, 775 or 19.6% were in construction. The leading causes of worker deaths on construction sites were falls, followed by struck by object, electrocution, and caught-in/between. These "Fatal Four" were responsible for nearly three out of five (56%) construction worker deaths in 2012*, BLS reports. Eliminating the Fatal Four would save 435 workers' lives in America every year.

    ■Falls – 278 out of 775 total deaths in construction in CY 2012 (36%)
    ■Struck by Object – 78 (10%)
    ■Electrocutions – 66 (9%)
    ■Caught-in/between – 13 (2%)
    Top 10 most frequently cited OSHA standards violated in FY2013

    The following were the top 10 most frequently cited standards by Federal OSHA in fiscal year 2013 (October 1, 2012 through September 30, 2013):

    1.Fall protection, construction (29 CFR 1926.501) [related OSHA Safety and Health Topics page]
    2.Hazard communication standard, general industry (29 CFR 1910.1200) [related OSHA Safety and Health Topics page]
    3.Scaffolding, general requirements, construction (29 CFR 1926.451) [related OSHA Safety and Health Topics page]
    4.Respiratory protection, general industry (29 CFR 1910.134) [related OSHA Safety and Health Topics page]
    5.Electrical, wiring methods, components and equipment, general industry (29 CFR 1910.305) [related OSHA Safety and Health Topics page]
    6.Powered industrial trucks, general industry (29 CFR 1910.178) [related OSHA Safety and Health Topics page]
    7.Ladders, construction (29 CFR 1926.1053) [related OSHA Safety and Health Topics page]
    8.Control of hazardous energy (lockout/tagout), general industry (29 CFR 1910.147) [related OSHA Safety and Health Topics page]
    9.Electrical systems design, general requirements, general industry (29 CFR 1910.303) [related OSHA Safety and Health Topics page]
    10.Machinery and Machine Guarding, general requirements (29 CFR 1910.212) [related OSHA Safety and Health Topics page]



    Since 1970, workplace fatalities have been reduced by more than 65 percent and occupational injury and illness rates have declined by 67 percent. At the same time, U.S. employment has almost doubled.



    Wow more people were getting killed on the job sites before all these non speaking immigrants started invading that trade.

    And falling is the most common one. That guy probably wouldn't have lost his balance, had he known English.
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

Page 60 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1050585960616270 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •