View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 6 of 105 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #51
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    Exactly why not?
    The commercial was not making the suggestion that we abandon the core principles that this country promises to represent and serve. It's reminding us what those fundamental promises are. That people no matter what their faith or ethnicity are welcome here and will be provided equal opportunity and be judged by their deeds not their color or their faith or their language.

    It is also not making the suggestion that we abandon english as our primary language, it has nothing to do with the language we speak or teach. It is about the diversity that makes us strong and makes America unique.
    Funny thing for a progressive to say. ->UVM History Review vol. 6 Dec. 1994: Lund

  2. #52
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    That is my point, we are and always have been a land of many tribes. I think its better to have a land of many tribes where most people could care less about tribalism myself. That is my thing, I don't care how many cultures we have. I just get worried when people start getting tribal about it.
    I think we were much more unified in the past than we are today. At the very least, it can be said that the dominant culture was still strong enough not to face serious threat from any potential challengers.

    This seems to be changing. I anticipate that this reality will ultimately cause far more problems than it will bring benefits to our society as a whole.

  3. #53
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Republic Now! View Post
    No one is implying it.
    O yes people are, I quoted the former Congressman Allen West, I've linked another source with other folks who feel that way, and Apache right here feels that way as well. I guess they technically aren't implying it since they are shouting it from the rooftops so to speak.

  4. #54
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    The immigrants of the 19th Century faced far more discrimination and prejudice than any today. They assimilated just fine, precisely because they didn't really have any other choice.

    Today's culture, by way of contrast, encourages "multiculturalism" instead. As a consequence of that, many minority groups are opting not to assimilate, but rather remain distinct from the main body of our society.

    As I have already stated, this is problematic for a variety of reasons; most of which center around the fact that this philosophy leads individuals to identify more with their ethnicity than with their nation, or culture of their nation, as a whole.



    This is our tribe's land. Why on earth wouldn't we expect them to conform to our standards if they want to live here?

    Surely, you agree that a single, more or less unified, tribe is better than a loose confederation of different tribes jealously vying against one another for power and privilege?
    Good lord would you evolve already.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  5. #55
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    Problem is that you'd have a hell of a time writing any law that would define how much of a person's culture they could practice without first throwing out the Constitution first. And hell what if it isn't even their culture but just a culture they want to practice? For example I've spent a lot of time studying Chinese, studying abroad in China, I've got a lot of experience and appreciation for that culture and language. However I'm still white American who grew up as a military brat and have no family connection to Chinese culture whatsoever but what I wanted to practice that culture, move myself to Chinatown, eat, work, and live like the other folks living there?

    Why shouldn't I be allowed to?
    Beyond maybe setting English as our nation's "official language," I'm not proposing that any kind of legislation should be put in place.

    I was simply stating the reasons why the commercial's ideological lean made me uncomfortable. The idea that American culture "does not matter" is dangerous.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 02-04-14 at 01:13 AM.

  6. #56
    Irremovable Intelligence
    Removable Mind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:56 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    23,527

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I actually agree with this.
    OMG, Mr. Thomas...

    Thanks...

  7. #57
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    Good lord would you evolve already.
    They're sure as Hell not.

    Why should we?

  8. #58
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    Good lord would you evolve already.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    They're sure as Hell not.

    Why should we?
    Neanderthal!

  9. #59
    Educator Amandi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Delaware
    Last Seen
    06-19-15 @ 02:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    905
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I loved the commercial and strongly hope America never has one culture. We will be a very boring country if we do.

  10. #60
    Guru
    Republic Now!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Last Seen
    09-12-14 @ 11:40 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    2,671

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    Almost every country preserves its historical landmarks, there is nothing uniquely American about that.
    Who said anything about "uniquely?" No country has completely unique traits. When we look at societies that have existed, a lot did not care about preserving history. Just look at the bronze statues from ancient Greece. Well, actually, you can't, because societies melted them down.

    In a way, historical preservation of landmarks is impractical and irrational, but it's important to us.

    Certain parts of the country have a distinct culture, but unlike most countries we don't have a national culture.For example, culturally the upper midwest is so different than the deep south that they may as well be different countries. How much culture does Wyoming have in common with Massachusetts? The Pacific Northwest culturally has far more in common with Canada than it does with say, Arkansas or Tennessee.
    Most countries have regional variances. There is still an overall culture.


    That said, while we don't have a national culture, we do have something of a national character.
    I'm not sure why you are making a distinction but alright.

    For example, and this is subjective of course, but I think the most American in terms of character / persona president we have ever had is Teddy Roosevelt.
    Theodore Roosevelt? How sad for us.

    While he didn't embody a national culture, he did embody what I think most of the world sees as the American character more than any other president we have had.
    How other people see us is their business.

    I think what defines America more than anything else is our diversity and our land / wilderness more than anything else.
    Dirt with plants on it is definitely not uniquely American.
    One who makes himself a worm cannot complain when tread upon.

Page 6 of 105 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •