View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 59 of 105 FirstFirst ... 949575859606169 ... LastLast
Results 581 to 590 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #581
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:54 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,089

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    The fact is that non-English speaking *construction* workers put themselves and other workers at risk because they cannot communicate effectively, and everyone knows that effective communication is vital in maintaining a safe work environment.
    A non English speaking waiter isn't putting anybody at risk by not knowing English.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  2. #582
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by X Factor View Post
    Do you only respect those who agree with you? Because that's how it appears.
    Not at all, an easy example is Zyphlin him and me don't agree on everything but the man is one the smartest and level headed posters here. I wish I could be as calm as that guy, and I know if he chooses to disagree with me in a topic I'm either about to concede or have a run for my money.

  3. #583
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    A non English speaking waiter isn't putting anybody at risk by not knowing English.
    Okay, so what? That's one occupation out of many. There are many other occupations where not being able to speak or understand English puts people's lives in danger, literally.

  4. #584
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Easy solution, make the safety guidelines in Spanish. Wait! That's already done!
    Oh wait! That's hasn't worked so well, according to my links. You still have to be able to communicate with one another on the job site.

  5. #585
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    12-16-17 @ 04:34 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,435

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    My husband is bilingual and works construction with both English and Spanish speakers and there are no problems he says other than the English speaking workers than live outside the city that have a problem with the workers speaking Spanish to each other on break. They've been crying to the boss because they think they are talking about them in Spanish.

    Other than that they all get the job done just fine.
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

  6. #586
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dragonfly View Post
    I don't care what you think.

    The idiots who are "offended" over this coke commercial are the disrespectful and ignorant ones who deserve the term.

    Maybe that's you, maybe it's not. I haven't read all 58 pages of posts in this thread to know.
    No they don't. They just see it differently than you do.

  7. #587
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by americanwoman View Post
    My husband is bilingual and works construction with both English and Spanish speakers and there are no problems he says other than the workers than live outside the city that have a problem with the workers speaking Spanish to each other on break. They've been crying to the boss because they think they are talking about them in Spanish.

    Other than that they all get the job done just fine.
    Sorry, but personal anecdotes don't trump facts that are well known and published by OSHA and other work site safety/health evaluations.

  8. #588
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:54 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,089

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Okay, so what? That's one occupation out of many. There are many other occupations where not being able to speak or understand English puts people's lives in danger, literally.
    A Mexican gardener isn't putting anybody at risk by not speaking English.
    A Nigerian cab driver who knows street names in English and nothing else isn't putting anybody at risk.
    A Chinese guy who only understands "Number ...." at Chinese restaurants isn't putting you at risk.
    A Greek guy mopping floors at the mall after 10PM isn't putting you at risk.
    An Arab who fixes computers at a coffee shop isn't putting you at risk.

    These are the jobs that immigrants do. They're not doctors or even construction workers for the most part. The majority of them work menial jobs that Americans don't want to be paid $7.50 an hour to do.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  9. #589
    Guru
    sawdust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Last Seen
    03-04-16 @ 09:47 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    3,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    Yeah, I'm really not the best person to identify with these feelings. I speak 7 languages and am a citizen of Canada, Spain, Italy and Switzerland. I love all equally as they are all wonderful countries in their own unique way. I've never been in a situation where I had to chose which one I love more. Maybe if one goes to war with another I'll have to take a side, but other than that I don't foresee any other major issue.
    Americans are different than Europeans. We have been on an island for centuries, separated from the rest of the world by oceans without the ability to drive for a few hours and be in countries where they don't speak our native tongue. The need to be bi lingual is not as great in America. That's not the issue here though. The issue for many is that some foreigners come here with the intention of making money to send home and then return to their homeland in many cases. Some tax our social safety nets or come here to have children who are granted citizenship. They are called anchor babies and their existence is to make immigration easier for the rest of their families.

    Some of us become a little sensitive about how our nation is used by people who don't assimilate. I'm not saying anything about the people in the video specifically but the video can be interpreted in many ways. Some see it as a sign of diversity, some see it as a sign of our nation being used in a manner which is unacceptable.
    "A democracy cannot exist as a permanent form of government. It can only exist until the majority discovers it can vote itself largess out of the public treasury." Attributed to Alexander Tytler

  10. #590
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    12-16-17 @ 04:34 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,435

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Sorry, but personal anecdotes don't trump facts that are well known and published by OSHA and other work site safety/health evaluations.
    I'm not trying to trump facts, I'm just saying from personal knowledge there's never been a language problem if the people work together and get over it. It's when jackasses feel superior and don't want to help each other that's when accidents happen.
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

Page 59 of 105 FirstFirst ... 949575859606169 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •