View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 58 of 105 FirstFirst ... 848565758596068 ... LastLast
Results 571 to 580 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #571
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Do you not understand what a false dichotomy is? I stated the premise of your post was false so there is nothing to address. It asserts that people are "hurt" (whatever that means) when they don't speak English. It's about as nonsensical as saying that not speaking Arabic will hurt your chances of getting a job in the Middle East. It's spoken by somebody with a limited world view. Again Chris, how many languages do you speak and do you have any experience working outside of the US?
    There's nothing false about it. I provided links to OSHA investigations.

  2. #572
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by X Factor View Post
    Isn't it funny how people like to imply that the US is just such a racist horrible country for believing that speaking the common language is a good thing and yet those same people think we're so mean in not opening our borders? Why would they want to subject immigrants to this horrible, horrible place?
    It's utterly ridiculous. We do plenty to help them. We offer immigrants English classes for free too. They could also learn online. There is just absolutely no reason to accept this.

  3. #573
    Dungeon Master
    anti socialist

    X Factor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Texas Proud
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 04:24 PM
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    44,721

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    There's nothing false about it. I provided links to OSHA investigations.
    If you're expecting honest responses, you're barking up the wrong tree. I suspect you know that, though.

  4. #574
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 05:00 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,035

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    There's nothing false about it. I provided links to OSHA investigations.
    Lol, OSHA investigation. *smh* - You posted "information" on a study that shows that there as more immigrants come the US, there will be larger numbers of poor people not that not speaking English makes them poorer. Yes Chris, that's how it works. Immigrants come here? Their degrees are not accepted, they find jobs in other fields whether they like it or not. If they have the ability, they work through school maybe. If they have kids and other things to pay for they don't and end up like the overwhelming majority of immigrants.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  5. #575
    Sage
    Dragonfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East Coast - USA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:51 PM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    15,532

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by sawdust View Post
    The problem with the song wasn't the knowledge the women on the video had. You couldn't see that. The problem is that the song is uniquely American and each of the singers displayed their pride in their country of origin over the fact that they were American. Had they sung in English it would have reinforced the fact that we are a melting pot made up of people from all over the world. The message the video sent was that assimilating into our culture was secondary to their country of origin. That pissed a lot of people off.
    Then a lot of people are friggin stupid and reading way too much into a dumb coke commercial.

    There's no indication what-so-ever that the people singing in a non-Merikan language where showing any disrespect or animosity towards 'Merika.

    There's no inference or sub=plot to suggest they're putting their pride of country of origin OVER 'Merika.

    I don't know where people get this stuff from.

  6. #576
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by X Factor View Post
    If you're expecting honest responses, you're barking up the wrong tree. I suspect you know that, though.
    I do, but that's okay, I can just keep posting facts. They can deny them all day long, but hopefully the more intelligent people who have common sense can make the connections without having their opinions tarnished by political correctness.

    Construction Expert Claims Language Barrier is Detrimental to Safety in the Construction Industry - ForensisGroup.com

    Effective communication is important to safety in any work environment. In the construction industry, a lack of communication can cause property damage, injuries and even deaths. It’s no secret that there are many non-English speakers employed in the construction industry. According to construction expert Paul Gogulski, speaking English is necessary to avoiding hazards on construction sites.

    As an expert witness specializing in construction accidents, Paul Gogulski is well aware of the importance of communication on construction sites. In November of 2008, he published an ENR column entitled "Speaking English is Key to Safety." The column deals with the sensitive fact that there are many workers on construction sites that are unable to speak and understand the English language. The resulting lapse in communication can actually lead to hazards on construction sites.

  7. #577
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dragonfly View Post
    Then a lot of people are friggin stupid and reading way too much into a dumb coke commercial.

    There's no indication what-so-ever that the people singing in a non-Merikan language where showing any disrespect or animosity towards 'Merika.

    There's no inference or sub=plot to suggest they're putting their pride of country of origin OVER 'Merika.

    I don't know where people get this stuff from.
    You using the term "Merika" is QUITE disrespectful IMO.

  8. #578
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Lol, OSHA investigation. *smh* - You posted "information" on a study that shows that there as more immigrants come the US, there will be larger numbers of poor people not that not speaking English makes them poorer. Yes Chris, that's how it works. Immigrants come here? Their degrees are not accepted, they find jobs in other fields whether they like it or not. If they have the ability, they work through school maybe. If they have kids and other things to pay for they don't and end up like the overwhelming majority of immigrants.
    The fact is that non-English speaking workers put themselves and other workers at risk because they cannot communicate effectively, and everyone knows that effective communication is vital in maintaining a safe work environment.

  9. #579
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 05:00 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,035

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    I do, but that's okay, I can just keep posting facts. They can deny them all day long, but hopefully the more intelligent people who have common sense can make the connections without having their opinions tarnished by political correctness.

    Construction Expert Claims Language Barrier is Detrimental to Safety in the Construction Industry - ForensisGroup.com
    Easy solution, make the safety guidelines in Spanish. Wait! That's already done!
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  10. #580
    Sage
    Dragonfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East Coast - USA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:51 PM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    15,532

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    You using the term "Merika" is QUITE disrespectful IMO.
    I don't care what you think.

    The idiots who are "offended" over this coke commercial are the disrespectful and ignorant ones who deserve the term.

    Maybe that's you, maybe it's not. I haven't read all 58 pages of posts in this thread to know.

Page 58 of 105 FirstFirst ... 848565758596068 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •