View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 57 of 105 FirstFirst ... 747555657585967 ... LastLast
Results 561 to 570 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #561
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Well I agree with your analysis of the commercial, but obviously this conversation has gone beyond just talking about the meaning of the commercial at this point.
    Fair'nuff.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  2. #562
    ThunderCougarFalconBird
    roughdraft274's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 06:32 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    11,080

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    My opinion on it is that I have a really hard time seeing how anyone can be offended by it or hate it. I can understand just not liking it or not having an opinion on it, but hating it because people spoke different languages? Good lord what have we become. If people want to sing the glory of our country then I could care less what language it's in. Immigrants learning to speak english is a completely different issue altogether from this commercial.
    Quote Originally Posted by TurtleDude View Post
    uh that is so small as to be stupid. Do you want registration? given less than 3% of criminals get their guns from private sales, its pretty much a waste of resources
    **Thirty Minutes Later**
    Quote Originally Posted by TurtleDude View Post
    you are confused. I never denied that many criminals get guns in private sales.

  3. #563
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:48 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,056

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by joko104 View Post
    Your view of what language and communications is nonsensical. Nor do I believe you know Spanish and French. You think it would be cool to know both so claim that you do.
    Cuando quieras hablamos en cualquiera de los dos por Skype.

    Mostly, you apparently have NO clue that languages are to communicate with other people. You WANT people put into ethic and racial categories and what them kept separate - "but equal - by language. How else could you goal of preserving bigotries succeed?

    You logic is the logic of why it was a criminal offense to teach slaves to read English. You do not want inferior people to you - meaning racially and ethnically - to be part of your society.
    Joko, there are no other languages remember? There is only English multilingualism. C'est dommage que tu sois si con que ça.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  4. #564
    Guru
    sawdust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Last Seen
    03-04-16 @ 09:47 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    3,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    “America The Beautiful” was sung by bilingual American young women.

    Well, there you go. Case closed. American and bilingual. Does anyone have a problem with this?
    The problem with the song wasn't the knowledge the women on the video had. You couldn't see that. The problem is that the song is uniquely American and each of the singers displayed their pride in their country of origin over the fact that they were American. Had they sung in English it would have reinforced the fact that we are a melting pot made up of people from all over the world. The message the video sent was that assimilating into our culture was secondary to their country of origin. That pissed a lot of people off.
    "A democracy cannot exist as a permanent form of government. It can only exist until the majority discovers it can vote itself largess out of the public treasury." Attributed to Alexander Tytler

  5. #565
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    My only issue with the commercial itself was that it was too corny for a Super Bowl (I felt that way about several commercials though). When I'm watching the Super Bowl, I don't want to be made to feel like I want to cry or all sentimental. I want to laugh and be entertained. So that's why the commercial sucked IMO.

  6. #566
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:48 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,056

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Address post #550 then. What is your solution?
    Solution to what? A false dichotomy that only exists in your mind? Immigrants are hurting themselves by not speaking English? Hm. Better run and tell the millions of them who survive without it on a daily basis. Again, your false white man's burden dichotomy is just that, false. People survive and make a living daily with or without English. They live in poverty for a first generation? That's not going to change because they speak English. That's going to change once their degrees are recognized, their cultures receive equal treatment as Euro-trash degrees or they are able to integrate society without us putting the boundary of tens of thousands of dollars. As those things don't change, English speaking African engineers who immigrate will still be driving cabs, Caribbean doctors will still be busing tables and Greek kids will be working at their mom & pop restaurants.

    If you think I'm wrong - I welcome you to understand how accreditation works. You could be the best English speaking Mexican in the world but if you graduated from a noname school in Mexico or anything other than the Tech of Monterrey or maybe UNAM, you're not going to be a doctor in the US or Europe. You can graduate top of your class in Kinshasa's school of engineering and speak English perfectly. Unless you've had some outstanding circumstance, it means jack **** to companies in the US. So again, English? Non-factor. People find work with or without English and do just fine without it. The Italians, Greeks, Polish, Germans, etc did it.
    Last edited by Hatuey; 02-05-14 at 10:00 AM.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  7. #567
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Solution to what? A false dichotomy that only exists in your mind? Immigrants are hurting themselves by not speaking English? Hm. Better run and tell the millions of them who survive without it on a daily basis. Again, your false white man's burden dichotomy is just that, false. People survive and make a living daily with or without English. They live in poverty for a first generation? That's not going to change because they speak English. That's going to change once their degrees are recognized, their cultures receive equal treatment as Euro-trash degrees or they are able to integrate society without us putting the boundary of tens of thousands of dollars. As those things don't change, English speaking African engineers who immigrate will still be driving cabs, Caribbean doctors will still be busing tables and Greek kids will be working at their mom & pop restaurants.
    Obviously you cannot address it. Funny! Lol!

  8. #568
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:48 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,056

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Obviously you cannot address it. Funny! Lol!
    Do you not understand what a false dichotomy is? I stated the premise of your post was false so there is nothing to address. It asserts that people are "hurt" (whatever that means) when they don't speak English. It's about as nonsensical as saying that not speaking Arabic will hurt your chances of getting a job in the Middle East. It's spoken by somebody with a limited world view. Again Chris, how many languages do you speak and do you have any experience working outside of the US?
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  9. #569
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by sawdust View Post
    The problem with the song wasn't the knowledge the women on the video had. You couldn't see that. The problem is that the song is uniquely American and each of the singers displayed their pride in their country of origin over the fact that they were American. Had they sung in English it would have reinforced the fact that we are a melting pot made up of people from all over the world. The message the video sent was that assimilating into our culture was secondary to their country of origin. That pissed a lot of people off.
    Yeah, I'm really not the best person to identify with these feelings. I speak 7 languages and am a citizen of Canada, Spain, Italy and Switzerland. I love all equally as they are all wonderful countries in their own unique way. I've never been in a situation where I had to chose which one I love more. Maybe if one goes to war with another I'll have to take a side, but other than that I don't foresee any other major issue.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  10. #570
    Dungeon Master
    anti socialist

    X Factor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Texas Proud
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    44,727

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Obviously you cannot address it. Funny! Lol!
    Isn't it funny how people like to imply that the US is just such a racist horrible country for believing that speaking the common language is a good thing and yet those same people think we're so mean in not opening our borders? Why would they want to subject immigrants to this horrible, horrible place?

Page 57 of 105 FirstFirst ... 747555657585967 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •